Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

deise08 wrote: »
    Being put in a really awkward position by someone.. no lads I don't mean anything rude. ;)
    I know a lad that comes into our shop every day who is over 18 and today he was buying alcohol and got asked for i.d., he didn't have it so got refused. He then came to my til because he recognised me from I.ding him before, and I after seeing this must also refuse the sale. So I of course now must ask him for I.d with the other girl eyeballing me and the security man staring at me.

I was asked for ID at Christmas, when I showed my licence I got WOOW

Complement to be asked, the wow was the knock back (I'm not that ****ing old! though I amn't that young haha)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It's a nice mild evening and I'd really like to sit in my front garden and have a coffee, but I won't because I know that there'll be another election candidate around the area canvassing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

It's a nice mild evening and I'd really like to sit in my front garden and have a coffee, but I won't because I know that there'll be another election candidate around the area canvassing again.

ag caint faoi gealige gan doubt ;)

You sit out with a hose and as the come around hose them down and shout, "It's my water, I pissed in the ****ing tank" That should rid them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭shroom007

Street Performers who take ages to get to the performance and then its sh*t

The Gobsheens who write on the pavement and think its busking, being able to write is the least we should expect after 10-13yrs education

and last but not least "Statues" the human ones on the street that move when you pass and then stick a hand out or try give you a poxy lolly WTF

dont know what its like in the rest of the Country but its an epidemic in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Mother fing housemates hoarding all the cutlery etc in their rooms. The dirty pr**ks. I nearly hit the roof when I sat down to my dinner and realised I had no utensils.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

shroom007 wrote: »
    Street Performers who take ages to get to the performance and then its sh*t

The Gobsheens who write on the pavement and think its busking, being able to write is the least we should expect after 10-13yrs education

and last but not least "Statues" the human ones on the street that move when you pass and then stick a hand out or try give you a poxy lolly WTF

dont know what its like in the rest of the Country but its an epidemic in Dublin

Oh good god yes. The street performers who spend 10 minutes beforehand asking people to give them money if they like it because god love them, it's all they have in this life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Fast food packaged in a way that makes it edible yet inedible.

Wrapped in a plasticy thing wrapped in another papery thing wrapped in a paper bag.

Then when you get to it its too hot to eat and covered in 5 litres of sauce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Having to poo in the dark because the bulb in the toilet is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

mauzo! wrote: »
    Having to poo in the dark because the bulb in the toilet is gone.

And trying to guess when you don't have to wipe anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭fussyonion

And trying to guess when you don't have to wipe anymore.

And that feeling when your fingers go straight through the paper and you can't even see the damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭bronn

Elmo wrote: »
    ag caint faoi gealige gan doubt ;)

You sit out with a hose and as the come around hose them down and shout, "It's my water, I pissed in the ****ing tank" That should rid them.
    'Twould be more effective as gaeilge, though. ;) You'd think having done the ol' honours Irish to Leaving Cert, I could do better than, "Is é m'uisce... umm... er... FÚCK ÓFF, YA PÓX MÓR!" <---that counts, right? Fadas count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Being put in a really awkward position by someone.. no lads I don't mean anything rude. ;)
    I know a lad that comes into our shop every day who is over 18 and today he was buying alcohol and got asked for i.d., he didn't have it so got refused. He then came to my til because he recognised me from I.ding him before, and I after seeing this must also refuse the sale. So I of course now must ask him for I.d with the other girl eyeballing me and the security man staring at me.
    I don't get how that was awkward? If you knew he was over 18 and had ID'd him before, could you not have said this? Sounds like he has more of a case to be annoyed than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Sieveheads in the workplace - People that constantly forget things and forget to remind you that people were looking for you...Is it that hard to write it down??!!!

major bill wrote: »
    Sieveheads in the workplace - People that constantly forget things and forget to remind you that people were looking for you...Is it that hard to write it down??!!!

Ground control to Major Bill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I don't get how that was awkward? If you knew he was over 18 and had ID'd him before, could you not have said this? Sounds like he has more of a case to be annoyed than you.

I had said. it could be the pope, but once asked for Id on a sale it must be shown. No id,no sale! I can't over ride another cashier. Instead of sayin to the lad go get your Id, they left him queue at my til. I asked them to tel the lad that, but no they said ask him for Id.
    I'm probably not explaining myself properly, but it was my colleagues put me in the awkward position.

I had said. it could be the pope, but once asked for Id on a sale it must be shown. No id,no sale! I can't over ride another cashier. Instead of sayin to the lad go get your Id, they left him queue at my til. I asked them to tel the lad that, but no they said ask him for Id.
    I'm probably not explaining myself properly, but it was my colleagues put me in the awkward position.

Jaysus I'd love a ride now.
    A long hard ride.
    Pity I don't have a bike though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Elmo wrote: »
    I don't real understand closing old threads that are resurrected, why not reply to something that's 10 years old?

I've always wondered that. You get a bollockin if you start a new thread that's already been started before, and a bollockin if you resurrect an old thread. That's too much bollockin.

The sounds my OH makes when she is eating a Twister ice pop. She sounded like a thoroughly satisfied lover yesterday walking down the street.

I hate people who make any sort of noise when they are eating.

I also hate people who stare at the food they're eating while they're eating it.

I also hate people who look at me while we're eating together in silence. Especially when they look at me and smile, for some reason.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Niall Boylan is on Classic Hits 4fm way too much. Sometimes I enjoy his show but twice a day, five days a week is over kill. He'll become the new Joe Duffy.

I don't like him. He is way too opinionated for a radio phone-in show presenter and his opinions are usually absolute bollocks.

That I don't know what the aardvark thread is for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

People who stare at you, for no (apparent) reason.
    I was doing some grocery shopping on Tuesday, as I turned away from a shelf, I saw a woman across the way staring at me. She only stopped when I glanced at her.
    Now I did get my hair cut the previous day, so maybe my hairdresser cut a shape into the back that I don't know about, a funny face or a streak of pink :D.
    I also dislike when eating out, people coming into the restaurant who almost put their head onto your plate. I don't mean someone glancing as they pass but a full-on gawp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

LynnGrace wrote: »
    People who stare at you, for no (apparent) reason.
    I was doing some grocery shopping on Tuesday, as I turned away from a shelf, I saw a woman across the way staring at me. She only stopped when I glanced at her.
    Now I did get my hair cut the previous day, so maybe my hairdresser cut a shape into the back that I don't know about, a funny face or a streak of pink :D.
    I also dislike when eating out, people coming into the restaurant who almost put their head onto your plate. I don't mean someone glancing as they pass but a full-on gawp.

Some people love a good gape. I find it very rude if someone is gawking at you or something that is yours unashamedly. They seem totally oblivious and just stand there, slackjawed, taking it all in. On a couple of occasions I've asked if everything was ok and on one in particular I asked if they would like to take a photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

reading the last few pages all at once...many of your issues solved if you stopped smoking and stopped watching tv....easy!

mine, many of thm re packaging on food, will be solved when the cast comes off my wrist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

gramar wrote: »
    Some people love a good gape. I find it very rude if someone is gawking at you or something that is yours unashamedly. They seem totally oblivious and just stand there, slackjawed, taking it all in. On a couple of occasions I've asked if everything was ok and on one in particular I asked if they would like to take a photo.

I completely read that the wrong way...Even for AH I was shocked...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I completely read that the wrong way...Even for AH I was shocked...:(

Least I wasn't the only one then :o

Graces7 wrote: »
    reading the last few pages all at once...many of your issues solved if you stopped smoking and stopped watching tv....easy!

mine, many of thm re packaging on food, will be solved when the cast comes off my wrist.

Sounds like something my mother would say.......

Nahh, far as I know both her wrists are in working order :pac:

:eek: Pass the sick bucket! Mental images :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Sorry Deise08, that drive me nuts, left instead of let:D

Also people saying something like "I left it inside in my car", its IN or INSIDE, not both

I stand to be corrected on this, of course

People sucking the bejaysus out of those new cigarettey things, you know, just steps away from the exit of a building.........suck, sucketty SUCK.......aaaaah

Surely you can wait three more seconds;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

There's a woman in front of me right now trying to sing to her toddler, but she cant sing, she doesnt know the words, and she just keeps repeating the first line.

Itsy bitsy spider

Its incy wincy!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Let him climb up the fuucking spout!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

Honestly! the only thing that is itsy is Itsy weeny yellow polka dot bikini.

Sorry eisenberg. ;)
    That must be the Waterfordian in me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Aggressive greeters. I had to bring 1 of our cats to the vet this morning, he's got an injured paw and is so sore the vet has to sedate him. So I'm waiting for a call from the vet to see how he is and when I can collect him.

I was just walking home, lost in my own thoughts, and some old fella in his 60's, said 'good morning' to me. I've never seen him before and I just smiled and said 'good morning' back to him.

I'd only gone about 2 steps when he shouts back aggressively 'I said good morning':mad: So I stopped and turned around, he'd stopped in the street and was waiting for a response. So I said 'so did I' and off he went. I'm really sorry I didn't tell him to fcuk off and die:mad::mad: