Scam Text - Anyone else get them?

• 21-04-2014 07:58PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭

Just got a text from a number I didn't recognise saying "Call me please it's urgent". Was about to call the sender, thinking it was a friend who'd lost their mobile or something when I thought to double check the number - 00247101123. Turns out the code 247 is for Ascension Island. Reckon it's one of those scams where if you call you're connected to a premium line & they make a few euro off you. Has anyone else received a similar text?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Maybe your friend is trapped on Ascension Island?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Email the Ascension Island police and ask them what's up. There's only about 12 people living on it so I'm sure they'll know.

Apparently a set of earphones have been handed in. Maybe it's Teddy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Maybe your friend is trapped on Ascension Island?

Lassie will be feck all use so. Bit far for Skippy too. "What's that Skip, Peter's trapped down a well on Ascension Island? Well tough cheese on Peter, eh."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Seriously though lads the likelihood of one of my friends being there & not mentioning it is pretty much zero so reckon this looks like one of those mass texting scams. Unwary people, particularly the elderly might call the number back without thinking & end up getting fleeced so no harm to give folk a heads up about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Custardpi wrote: »
    Just got a text from a number I didn't recognise saying "Call me please it's urgent". Was about to call the sender, thinking it was a friend who'd lost their mobile or something when I thought to double check the number - 00247101123. Turns out the code 247 is for Ascension Island. Reckon it's one of those scams where if you call you're connected to a premium line & they make a few euro off you. Has anyone else received a similar text?
    Yes, I received it, and know of others who did.
    It is a scam. I didn't even notice the message for hours the time I got it, but wouldn't have been calling the number anyway.

Seriously though lads the likelihood of one of my friends being there & not mentioning it is pretty much zero so reckon this looks like one of those mass texting scams. Unwary people, particularly the elderly might call the number back without thinking & end up getting fleeced so no harm to give folk a heads up about it.
    I drum it into everybody I know not to ring back numbers they don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Never had a wrong number or text since I went to Three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

I drum it into everybody I know not to ring back numbers they don't know.

Sadly you're only one man. Not everyone will have the opportunity to avail of your wisdom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Turns out the code 247 is for Ascension Island.?

You could complain to the British Embassy, and I'm not joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

kneemos wrote: »
    Never had a wrong number or text since I went to Three.

Why, no coverage? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Chr15

Yep... just got it on my work phone.

Chr15 wrote: »
    Yep... just got it on my work phone.

Work phone?

Sure ring it there and tell us what they say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 runner44

Just got this message on my phone about 5 minutes ago! My first thought was why didn't they ring me if it was that urgent!

I have €20 of 3credit that expires on Thursday, half tempted to ring it for the craic.

Why, no coverage? :pac:

Partly I suspect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Just got the message as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I have €20 of 3credit that expires on Thursday, half tempted to ring it for the craic.

Dont be a fool.

'half tempted for the craic' is Donegalese for 'I will in me hole'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Yep i hl got one this mornin saying someone has left u an urgent voice message to hear ot phone + 21 070101
    Feck that if they wanted me urgent enuf they could have phoned me !!!

Delete delete delete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

kneemos wrote: »
    Partly I suspect.

I jest , I jest. I'm with 3 myself. Constantly defending them to the folk loudly proclaiming they 'are crap'

Haven't had a bother with them since joining them 4 years ago. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Yep i hl got one this mornin saying someone has left u an urgent voice message to hear ot phone + 21 070101
    Feck that if they wanted me urgent enuf they could have phoned me !!!

Delete delete delete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Credit expires? :confused:

I jest , I jest. I'm with 3 myself. Constantly defending them to the folk loudly proclaiming they 'are crap'

Haven't had a bother with them since joining them 4 years ago. :)

It has improved here lately but there's a thread about their 3g service constantly going down presumably from different parts of the country.Great value though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭manta356

Just got it there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

Thanks OP, I'll let me dad know about this, he is a worrier and would think it was from one of the family. Cheers.

Credit expires? :confused:
    If you don't use it within six months you lose it. I only use the three SIM for free internet on UK network so I always lose €20 credit every month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Comreg have in the past blocked calls from Cook Islands, Tokelau, and Diego Garcia. It's a pretty common scam.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/calls-may-be-banned-to-combat-credit-scam-189720.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Herself just got the same message from +247101123.

Googled the number and this thread came up. Good work, After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 aoifelp

My mam just got the text too, she panicked and was going to call it.. I Googled the number and found this thank god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,195 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Herself just got the same message from +247101123.

Googled the number and this thread came up. Good work, After Hours.

Same, I'm bill pay on 3 and got it earlier... Google brought me here. :D