If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cities you'd never return to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Liverpool. Must be the biggest kip in the world and such annoying locals. Taxi driver asked us if we were blues or reds when we got in before even asking where we were going. We werent there for a match. Every bar we drank in had lads coming in selling fake t shirts, dvds etc. Late night bars had metal detectors going in to them. Dump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

The Gardaí do not want to know. Maybe they don't have the prisons to cope but something needs to be done.

Maybe, just maybe, prison isn't the solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

RahenyD5 wrote: »
    The drug clinics and council housing should be moved outside to somewhere like Tallaght & Clondalkin, making Dublin 1 possibly almost crime-free and more attractive for tourism. This suggestion may be controversial, but what is the best way to clean up Dublin 1?

Also forcibly shut down Dr Quirkeys and relocate burger bars to Talbot St & Parnell St to deter troublesome youths from O'Connell St.

No, not even remotely. Just old, and boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

mohawk wrote: »
    LA it is literally just a concrete sprawl. There is no centre to it and is surprisingly rundown and ugly.

When I went on my J1 we went to San Fran the first couple of days you are shocked by all the homeless people after that you don't even see them anymore choose to continue ignoring them.

fyp

I'm not a big fan of Belfast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

bmwguy wrote: »
    Liverpool. Must be the biggest kip in the world and such annoying locals. Taxi driver asked us if we were blues or reds when we got in before even asking where we were going. We werent there for a match. Every bar we drank in had lads coming in selling fake t shirts, dvds etc. Late night bars had metal detectors going in to them. Dump.

Jesus that can't be a good sign. That's a bit like some of the schools they have in America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭unichick

Malta - unfriendly people & not much to do
    Manchester - felt a bit unsafe & not a pretty city
    Belfast - unfriendly people. People seemed to be amazed we were visiting from the South. A riot occurred during our visit, not caused by us! I was surprised how run down a city it was.

unichick wrote: »
    Belfast - unfriendly people. People seemed to be amazed we were visiting from the South. A riot occurred during our visit, not caused by us! I was surprised how run down a city it was.

The second dreariest kip ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

Yeah I have visited Belfast many times with work over the past 20 years and I never liked it. It has improved but there is still something menacing about the place/people. I would like to see the Titanic museum though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Birroc wrote: »
    Yeah I have visited Belfast many times with work over the past 20 years and I never liked it. It has improved but there is still something menacing about the place/people. I would like to see the Titanic museum though.

There is nothing to do in Belfast. Only one of two shopping centres in the city centre, there wasn't even a Mac donalds, there was a burger king though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Joe Doe

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Brisbane - ugly and soulless. Could not get out of it fast enough!
    The bridge is an eyesore!!

Agree brissy and cairns are both fairly boring, entire downtown shuts at 5, lots of red necks, freaks, and weirdos.

Sydney however is probably the best urban area on the planet with x17 or so beaches, not bad! Melbo is fairly fine, but tires quickly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Melbourne is overrated - There a quasi snobbery about Melbourne vs Sydney where "those in the know" slate the latter.

Sydney is a great spot...a reallly beautiful city.

Some harsh comments re Dubai too...yes it's glitzy but it's tough to beat for some guaranteed winter sun and not too bad a flight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

Awww, I love Belfast! Apart from everywhere being closed by 1.30am. :mad:

unichick wrote: »

Malta - probably the friendliest most helpful people ever, also rated the world's happiest people in recent surveys, sun, sea, surf, cheap, some more sunshine. x30+ bars/clubs all in one lively place in St Juls'.

Belfast - The outsides are run down, the center/south is fine. One thing you notice compared to Dublin is that its cleaner, cheaper, the public services/transport much better and the public toilets are never occupied with streams of junkies. There is a theory though that the further away from the sun you go the more 'edgier or short-tempered' people become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

Joe Doe wrote: »
    There is a theory though that the further away from the sun you go the more 'edgier or short-tempered' people become.

Can you explain what this means?

Not scientific fact per say, but a lack of sunshine (inc nutrients derived from it) and heat == Genetically slightly grumpier people with higher tendencies towards focus on a base primal survival mode, rather than say (towards Maslow's mid/higher pyramid elevation) focus on social interactions and self-actualisation.

e.g.
    Land at an airport in St.Johns (NF), Moscow or Glasgow.
    Then land in one anywhere in the Caribbean, Fiji or Hawai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

I'd imagine salaries are a lot lower in Belfast to match the lower cost of living. Transport is about the same in both cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭unichick

Two examples of unfriendliness in Valetta, Malta

Bought an umbrella & it was faulty. Brought it back, shopkeeper refused to give a refund. It was literally falling apart. Had to change it for another one. She had a face on her & was not nice to any tourists when I was in the shop.

My husband bought the wrong bus ticket type. Innocent mistake. We tried to explain this to ticket inspector. She threatened to throw us off the bus. No allowance for being tourists at all.

I imagined Belfast to be as nice as Dublin but was sorely disappointed. Even the city centre seemed run down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Dublin because it's a festering hive of inbred scum and villainy. It's a mediocre capital city and basically just a culchie outpost on the western fringes of Europe that nobody other than Dubliners gives a shite about. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Toronto and Boston, both so soulless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

I loved Toronto but wouldn't return for the simple reason of it being way too expensive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,045 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I'd imagine salaries are a lot lower in Belfast to match the lower cost of living. Transport is about the same in both cities.

Never got the comparison between Dublin and Belfast. Belfast has the look and feel of a small provincial city. Dublin for all it's flaws feels like a big city with all the problems and opportunities to match. There's just so much more to Dublin. The likes of Googles etc that flock to Dublin, don't seem to want to touch Belfast with a bargepole...apart from a bit of tourism, government admin (paid for by the Brits of course), and remnants of industry, there's not much going on. If the Uk ever pulls the plug the place is fcuked....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Joe Doe wrote: »
    Not scientific fact per say, but a lack of sunshine (inc nutrients derived from it) and heat == Genetically slightly grumpier people with higher tendencies towards focus on a base primal survival mode, rather than say (towards Maslow's mid/higher pyramid elevation) focus on social interactions and self-actualisation.

e.g.
    Land at an airport in St.Johns (NF), Moscow or Glasgow.
    Then land in one anywhere in the Caribbean, Fiji or Hawai.

Yes, I get you. There was more chance of the vikings raiders coming from Scandinavia than from the Med.

zetalambda wrote: »
    Dublin because it's a festering hive of inbred scum and villainy. It's a mediocre capital city and basically just a culchie outpost on the western fringes of Europe that nobody other than Dubliners gives a shite about. :pac:

The Dubliners have stopped giving a ****e about their own city many years ago given the sorry state it has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

You know, I loved Boston as a city,the way it blends the new and old Worlds,the architecture and it's wonderful setting-the people however were the most unfriendly and unhelpful Americans I have ever met.Surly lot-I would go back though:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Kilkenny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭RahenyD5

Dublin needs someone in charge to put the city first and sort out the poor state of Dublin 1. There is talk about a directly elected mayor for Dublin, is this happening and are Dubliners getting a vote on this?

RahenyD5 wrote: »
    Dublin needs someone in charge to put the city first and sort out the poor state of Dublin 1. There is talk about a directly elected mayor for Dublin, is this happening and are Dubliners getting a vote on this?

Nope, one of the councils essentially vetoed the vote. There should have been uproar.

road_high wrote: »
    Never got the comparison between Dublin and Belfast. Belfast has the look and feel of a small provincial city. Dublin for all it's flaws feels like a big city with all the problems and opportunities to match. There's just so much more to Dublin. The likes of Googles etc that flock to Dublin, don't seem to want to touch Belfast with a bargepole...apart from a bit of tourism, government admin (paid for by the Brits of course), and remnants of industry, there's not much going on. If the Uk ever pulls the plug the place is fcuked....

True it's not a real international city by any means, but believe me if the North was ever zoned to 12.5% corp tax the 'Googles' would be on the 1st bus to avail of a workforce all at 50% discount. They might even re-open the shipyards or re-build DeLoreans again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 DrAngry

Surprised with all the Budapest hate. There and Baku would be my favourite places.

Wouldn't go back to Madrid in a hurry. It's like a normal dirty smelly city but hotter in a bad way.