Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Giant Kinder egg easter egg!

I bought one for my nephew last week, but I couldn't leave the shop without one for myself too.

I have 3 for myself already :pac: and my mother loves making the toys in them haha win win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Anyone watch Knight rider. Before my time really! Car seems cool enough. Sold for over €150,000, thought it would be more though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Anyone watch Knight rider. Before my time really! Car seems cool enough. Sold for over €150,000, thought it would be more though.

Would have thought more myself. Poor piece of tv, he didn't even take it for a rip :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Noticed today one of the wheel caps feel of the golf well the vw badge anyway. I can't even look at the passenger side of the car now. Need to get a new one ASAP. It's amazing how big an impact a simple missing wheel cap makes to a car. I need to decide whether to get one online or go to main dealer. A few reviews seem to say the one of the internet don't fit match correctly. Main dealer may be safer bet. I know huge car problems compared to the focus :)

Bpmull wrote: »
    Noticed today one of the wheel caps feel of the golf well the vw badge anyway. I can't even look at the passenger side of the car now. Need to get a new one ASAP. It's amazing how big an impact a simple missing wheel cap makes to a car. I need to decide whether to get one online or go to main dealer. A few reviews seem to say the one of the internet don't fit match correctly. Main dealer may be safer bet. I know huge car problems compared to the focus :)

Or y'know....a scrapyard? Where you won't have to sell the car and your house to get said cap

Vw main dealers are hit and miss with their pricing. I'd guess that cap will cost you anywhere between 4 and 20 euro.

Interslice wrote: »
    Vw main dealers are hit and miss with their pricing. I'd guess that cap will cost you anywhere between 4 and 20 euro.

Knowing my local vw garage it'll be 20 quid at best as there hard to deal with at the best of times. I'd expect to pay 10-15 quid for it anymore than that is a bit of a rob. But I'll go in and see. Need a new rear wiper and they weren't to bad for that so I'll get that it was a good but cheaper than halfords. I need to just get the time to go in. Between moving house and trying to study for exams I'm hard put to know what day it is. I have the golf 3 weeks there's 2.5k km on it and its filthy haven't got a chance to wash it and it could be a few weeks before it gets a proper clean too. Still though I absolutely love it couldn't fault it now :)

Or y'know....a scrapyard? Where you won't have to sell the car and your house to get said cap

Mcbrides is near me there a big scrap yard. Although I remember them saying that the minute a golf mk5 or focus mk2 comes in There is a que out the gate to strip them down. There is just so many on the roads and very few in the scrap yards. Where as with older stuff that's rarer on the road you can get loads of good parts in the scrap yard which we have done previous. Worth a ring either way thanks.

I always check scrapyards first, Not too fond of paying main dealers, although half the stuff I've gotten for my car, sensors and the like which you can't get in a factors I've had to get at a dealers, I've gone in there that much that I'm getting a few deals and all off the parts lads, good times! Still expensive as hell though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I always check scrapyards first, Not too fond of paying main dealers, although half the stuff I've gotten for my car, sensors and the like which you can't get in a factors I've had to get at a dealers, I've gone in there that much that I'm getting a few deals and all off the parts lads, good times! Still expensive as hell though :(

My dad got a trade discount from Murphy and Gunn for the second lot of coolant...it was a welcome surprise!

Tell me about it. The worst are ford I won't miss paying them prices. 90 euro for a fuel filter and then not been able to start the car when you change the filter because ford thought it best not to put a fuel lift pump or simple primer bulb on the car absolute joke. I seen on a vw receipt that came with the golf there less than 20 euro for fuel filter.

Jaysus Bpmull, you've really had it with ford, haven't you! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Measure the size and buy online. Worth paying a few quid for the better ones with a reseller who is known to be reputable. The wheel nut covers and centre caps I always buy in bulk. As soon as you replace one another disappears...

Jaysus Bpmull, you've really had it with ford, haven't you! :pac:

Never going back that focus scared me for life :pac: a no I don't know about the mondeo but my focus was a constant source of problems and it wasn't all down to the engine infairness. I have a neighbour who had a 06 new model 1.8 diesel galaxy with small enough mileage and it was costing them 2-3k euro a year to keep it on the road much the same as what the focus cost me to keep on the road and that was doing 90% of the work myself.

My dad got a trade discount from Murphy and Gunn for the second lot of coolant...it was a welcome surprise!

Nice! when i went in for my cps sensor, yer man was like "here look it's 120 +vat which is about another 30 odd quid, so I'll give it to you for 112 or there abouts"

Graaand!

Measure the size and buy online. Worth paying a few quid for the better ones with a reseller who is known to be reputable. The wheel nut covers and centre caps I always buy in bulk. As soon as you replace one another disappears...

There standard 65 mm ones with the black vw symbol. The problem online non of them are genuine or I can't find genuine ones and the other ones being some some reviews say there great others say they discoloured in 6 months, slightly to small don't fully match etc etc. I know they are cheaper but no point in wasting money on ones that aren't upto scratch.

Never going back that focus scared me for life :pac: a no I don't know about the mondeo but my focus was a constant source of problems and it wasn't all down to the engine infairness. I have a neighbour who had a 06 new model 1.8 diesel galaxy with small enough mileage and it was costing them 2-3k euro a year to keep it on the road much the same as what the focus cost me to keep on the road and that was doing 90% of the work myself.

Thankfully now ours has cost very very little since we got it, the only thing really was the timing belt. Services covered everything else. Maybe we're lucky though :P Here's to hoping the Golf will have a better story to tell for you!! :)

3B7601171
    Was looking for a german main dealer price for them but it's not listed just a part number. might help your search :).

Thankfully now ours has cost very very little since we got it, the only thing really was the timing belt. Services covered everything else. Maybe we're lucky though :P Here's to hoping the Golf will have a better story to tell for you!! :)

Ah that's not to bad so. I suppose the timming belt is a servicable part and has to be changed at set intervals anyway still costs money though I know. I suppose cars are like anything else you get good ones and bad ones. You can't always get the good ones. Tbh there was next to nothing wrong with the focus when I sold it but it had kind of just sucked the life out of me with all the repairs and I had no enjoyment out of it. I was to busy being paranoid about what could go wrong. When you get to that stage with a car you need to move it on life's too short.

Interslice wrote: »
    3B7601171
    Was looking for a german main dealer price for them but it's not listed just a part number. might help your search :).

Nice one thanks I'll have a look tomorrow. I have to be up at 7 too help finish wiring our new house. We have to be in next Friday and it's still semi building site. This is what happens when you set a 2 month deadline to gut a house back to 4 walls and a roof and then put it all back together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

There standard 65 mm ones with the black vw symbol. The problem online non of them are genuine or I can't find genuine ones and the other ones being some some reviews say there great others say they discoloured in 6 months, slightly to small don't fully match etc etc. I know they are cheaper but no point in wasting money on ones that aren't upto scratch.

What you need to look for is a main dealer on eBay. That's where you can usually buy the small bits at a good price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

6,327 words compiled into my thesis today, now for a treat I'll go and flute about with this Primera again.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

i dont know if anyone remembers a while back a guy had for sale on donedeal a full sized coach that he converted into a camper with space in the back for a car !

is it still for sale or can anyone link it ?

would be interesting to have it as a gaf ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

i dont know if anyone remembers a while back a guy had for sale on donedeal a full sized coach that he converted into a camper with space in the back for a car !

is it still for sale or can anyone link it ?

would be interesting to have it as a gaf ! :pac:

I didn't see this but I would love to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Two days off, waiting on replacement Visa card nothing to do but browse cars (No point making a DD ad etc for current car until i get some work done on it so thats out).

I think im gonna go mental i wish i was working :p

Anyone recommend a movie for me to watch ? Wanted to watch 300: Rise of an empire last night but had to settle for The Raid: Redemption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

its very like this one but was different , was on irish plates etc.

had double bed room in it too.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/daf/other-daf/race-transporter/3505922

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Two days off, waiting on replacement Visa card nothing to do but browse cars (No point making a DD ad etc for current car until i get some work done on it so thats out).

Anyone recommend a movie for me to watch ? Wanted to watch 300: Rise of an empire last night but had to settle for The Raid: Redemption

If you have Netflix and you're looking to kill lots of time, series 1 and 2 of Sherlock, each episode is 1 and a half hours long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Jackass 2. Havn't seen the film but I saw this clip from it recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

its very like this one but was different , was on irish plates etc.

had double bed room in it too.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/daf/other-daf/race-transporter/3505922

That's brilliant. For years I've wanted a bus and I will own one at some stage to convert into a camper :cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

If you like your Rock tune in to Sky Arts. ;)