Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 Mod Warning Post #6378

Suarez for poty and Hazard for young player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,734 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Gerrard, Suarez and Sturridge on PFA POTY shortlist with Llanna Hazard and YaYa

3 :)

While Suarez has been a banker for the whole season to get it, I would not be surprised if Gerrard won it. They gave it to Giggs in 08/09 when Gerrard was the outstanding player that season.

Suarez will definitely win the FWA, but you have to remember the players vote and there is a huge amount of respect for Gerrard out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I post in the match thread, I know it's not an acceptable way to watch a match but I am a sap, and I believe it's responsible for our season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Suarez has it all tied up, Gerrard close second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

When are the awards given out does anyone know?

rob316 wrote: »
    While Suarez has been a banker for the whole season to get it, I would not be surprised if Gerrard won it. They gave it to Giggs in 08/09 when Gerrard was the outstanding player that season.

Suarez will definitely win the FWA, but you have to remember the players vote and there is a huge amount of respect for Gerrard out there.

Yeah good point.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Turtyturd wrote: »
    I post in the match thread, I know it's not an acceptable way to watch a match but I am a sap, and I believe it's responsible for our season.

A tsunami of saps if you will.

riding on the backs of Pandas into the match thread singing 'We are Liverpool tra la la la"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Watch escape to victory. They had to break Stallone's arm so Pele could play. Looks pretty easy.
    You'll have a statue built and schools named after you!

They had to break the first goalkeeper's arm so Stallone could play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,734 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Last week of April usually I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

5 out of the 12 yearly player awards are Liverpool players. Nice.

Rodgers in with a decent shout for Manager of The Year, too. Martinez if he gets 4th, and Tony Pulis would be my other shouts.

I know if City of Chelsea win the league, tradition would nearly give Mourinho or Pellegrini the award, but I believe the above three have a better claim for it, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Next week I think. It's usually the 2nd/3rd week of April we find out who ended up winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Suarez for poty and Hazard for young player?

Hazard's had a stunning year, but it should be Dan's award going on goals alone. 20 goals in the league this year. They have the same assists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

A2LUE42 wrote: »
    They had to break the first goalkeeper's arm so Stallone could play.

That's right....he made a couple of half decent stops iirc. Not sure if the new rules would suit him though...could be a bit clumsy with the ball at his feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,998 ✭✭✭garra

In my house.. Mrs is banished when we're on. Eldest has to wear her Mignolet shirt Suarez shorts and can't leave the room until game is over. I haven't worn my shirt since the Southampton game.

Family think I've cracked

:pac::pac::pac: Your family have a case

In my house.. Mrs is banished when we're on. Eldest has to wear her Mignolet shirt Suarez shorts and can't leave the room until game is over. I haven't worn my shirt since the Southampton game.

Family think I've cracked
    garra wrote: »

Jaysus. If that's not true love, I don't know what is.

Not even sure if I'm referring to your love for Liverpool, or your family for putting up with you! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Tomorrow's Sunday's game against Norwich is more important from a momentum point of view rather than actual points imo.

If Norwich nick a win or even a draw tomorrow, the doubts will start to enter the players and fans mindset. It'll make us all very uneasy and more nervy than we already are. Mourinho would exploit this doubt even further and will load the pressure on Liverpool in the week leading up to the game.

If we can beat Norwich tomorrow, confidence will be sky high going into the Chelsea game and our momentum and streak of wins will be still in tact. That confidence coupled with the atmosphere in Anfield on match day will make things very hard for Chelsea. Liverpool will fear nobody.

This Norwich result is critical to how we approach the Chelsea game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/27076251

Liverpool trio named on PFA player of the year shortlist

Liverpool trio Steven Gerrard, Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge have received nominations for the Professional Footballers' Association's player of the year title.

djPSB wrote: »
    Tomorrow's game against Norwich is more important from a momentum point of view rather than actual points imo.

If Norwich nick a win or even a draw tomorrow, the doubts will start to enter the players and fans mindset. It'll make us all very uneasy and more nervy than we already are. Mourinho would exploit this doubt even further and will load the pressure on Liverpool in the week leading up to the game.

If we can beat Norwich tomorrow, confidence will be sky high going into the Chelsea game and our momentum and streak of wins will be still in tact. That confidence coupled with the atmosphere in Anfield on match day will make things very hard for Chelsea. Liverpool will fear nobody.

This Norwich result is critical to how we approach the Chelsea game.

Don't do that to us! Its not till Sunday :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Knex. wrote: »
    Don't do that to us! Its not till Sunday :(

Apologies, this bank holiday craic has me all over the shop! Was certain today was Saturday :P

The Norwich game is like the West Ham game, a tricky match before a match against one of the big guns.

Avoid defeat first and foremost. A win would be fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Just finished 30 for 30 there.

I have no words.

djPSB wrote: »
    Apologies, this bank holiday craic has me all over the shop! Was certain today was Saturday :P

Lucky for some. I'm here in work. Well, physically at least. Mentally is a whole different story.

A butterfly went past my window a minute ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Benzino

Banner at Melwood:

10013077_695889847135348_5863063582217419970_n.png

The grin on Stevie is gas :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,636 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

It's Liverpools foot now so do the decent thing and injure it again .

Alternatively, I could do a Die Hard and walk barefoot across a floor of upturned lego bits. That should see us through for a few leagues and maybe a couple of Champions Leagues as well, for the laugh like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

485459253-brendan-rodgers-manager-of-liverpool-walks-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=X7WJLa88Cweo9HktRLaNXsPDz1sLjblcpOAEev%2bPYiUflILIPu23QMkv5TBX4YQP3ZD1X0MU%2fTWU3TAB6RsZbA%3d%3d

485459659-luis-suarez-of-liverpool-looks-on-in-front-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=X7WJLa88Cweo9HktRLaNXprTE7jDMSkDs82qyCohTrUo3WNofT76nEw85lx2xKMIHxRJYPqML4IgAMIxHlYFIQ%3d%3d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

garra wrote: »

I suppose when ye force a kid to be a full kit w*nker out of superstition then I have issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Benzino

485459659-luis-suarez-of-liverpool-looks-on-in-front-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=X7WJLa88Cweo9HktRLaNXprTE7jDMSkDs82qyCohTrUo3WNofT76nEw85lx2xKMIHxRJYPqML4IgAMIxHlYFIQ%3d%3d[/QUOTE]

No pressure lads! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Soooooooo.........

Who is up next for match thread duties?

Most important match of the season etc etc etc...