Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 Mod Warning Post #6378

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭comewatmay

Just watched the whole of 30 for 30.

Tough viewing and so sad.

Never forget the 96

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

comewatmay wrote: »
    Just watched the whole of 30 for 30.

Tough viewing and so sad.

Never forget the 96

Same as that, J496 is very close.

I love your username..

BELIEVE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,733 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Some people are giving out about the pervading air of negativity, the fear, the pessimism.

There are reasons for that. 24 years worth of reasons when all we had to sustain us was cup runs. Yes, Liverpool have won trophies in that time. The treble in 2001. Winning ol' Big Ears and getting to keep him in 2005.

The team have come close. But we haven't been in this position in 24 years, where their fate is in their own hands.

Everyone is all about the 25 year anniversary.

This year also marks the 25th anniversary of another Liverpool loss. Arsenal came to Anfield, Liverpool needed to LOSE by 2 goals, something that hadn't happened in Anfield in over 3 years. I remember that night. My Arsenal supporting brother remembers that night too.

Don't get me wrong, I am optimistic, but lets do as Gerrard has said, as Rodgers has said... lets take it one game at a time and go out to win.

Norwich next, and go for the three points. No more of this "oh well we can lose here, or draw there, and maybe sunderland will give us a hand on Sunday".... FCUK that SH1T..... This Is Liverpool... We go to win.. We don't need any favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

sneakyST wrote: »
    This season will be a big fail if we can't win the league now.

Do not understand this, I presume you are not being serious. This season in which I've experienced so much joy, so much emotion and so much pride watching my team play could never be described as a "big fail". Even if we finish fourth it's the best season I've had as a fan since 09.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

I want to head to Norwich
    Marry a girl name Chelsea
    Then Sit in my Crystal Palace
    And Call it My NewCastle

along with the premiership in my trophy cabinet of course :cool:

cringe.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

This season will be a big fail if we can't win the league now. Having said that I think we will demolish Norwich.

I think the team spent their nerves against City. The build up to that game, on that weekend, the atmosphere, the title up for grabs and the pace of the first 35 mins took its toll. The team looked jaded in the first part of the second half... Gerrard could hardly run. I'm not surprised city walked in two goals. It was a massive performance to win that game. Huge. Dare I say it bigger than CL 2005 from an energy sapping point of view. They got through that and should now have enough metal to get the title.

C'mon!

Whatever happens now this season has been anything but "a big fail". From 7th to possible champions with 4 games left is not fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

This season will be a big fail if we can't win the league now. Having said that I think we will demolish Norwich.

I think the team spent their nerves against City. The build up to that game, on that weekend, the atmosphere, the title up for grabs and the pace of the first 35 mins took its toll. The team looked jaded in the first part of the second half... Gerrard could hardly run. I'm not surprised city walked in two goals. It was a massive performance to win that game. Huge. Dare I say it bigger than CL 2005 from an energy sapping point of view. They got through that and should now have enough metal to get the title.

C'mon!

Honestly, I don't know how anyone can think this...lets look at the facts as they were back in August, we had finished 4 seasons in 6th/7th/6th/8th by all measurements we have been a mid-table team since 2010. Our aim when Rodgers took over was to qualify for the Champions League in 3 seasons, this season was to challenge for a top 4 place (as set out by FSG) not GET it...but CHALLENGE for it (like Everton are) ...and yet here we are in April 4 games from the finish looking down on everyone, to not win it that's not a failure by any stretch of the imagination...to win would be massive overachievement.

There is no logical reason why we are where we are, look at the tables produced yesterday, City , Chelsea, Arsenal, Utd...they spend more per player on average in wages than we do, hell even Stoke have outspent us in transfers over the last 5 years! STOKE...take that in..Tony Pulis and Mark Hughes have been backed better than Brendan Rodgers!!

Chelsea and Man City have the resources, squads , backing that mean they realistically are still the ones to look at winning it.

Failure...not a chance, just enjoy the ride, CL is sorted for next year, enjoy the last few games

4 to go!

How anyone can say the season would be a fail if we don't win the league is beyond me. It would be a big disappointment yes, massive really.

But then you realise we are in the Champions league next year and don't even have to play a qualifier(hopefully) to get in.

I don't think we'll get a better chance than this season for a while tbh.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    How anyone can say the season would be a fail if we don't win the league is beyond me. It would be a big disappointment yes, massive really.

But then you realise we are in the Champions league next year and don't even have to play a qualifier(hopefully) to get in.

I don't think we'll get a better chance than this season for a while tbh.

Iv'e heard this a bit now but tbh if we Keep Suarez and Rodgers and invest (which i have no doubt after this season we will) i think we'll get better and thus challenge for the title again next season. Yes we'll have champions league to contend with but i strongly believe we are going to see three quality signings to boost the squad this summer. Can also see Gerrard having a good two years at least left in the position he plays which is a huge bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

djPSB wrote: »
    I just want the season to be over.

I don't want this season to ever end!

Or end it today would be grand too.

SantryRed wrote: »
    Not sure how long this will last on Youtube but the ESPN 30 for 30 documentary on Hillsborough is now available:

Part 1 is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnzxknqWR1k

The documentary is put together unbelievably well like all 30 for 30 docs. This is by far the best Hillsborough documentary that I have ever seen, and my god it makes me angry.

I have no idea how any Liverpool fan who was there that day, especially in the Leppings Lane end, could live with the pure lies and deceit by the South Yorkshire Police. The cover ups, the blatant lies, the assumptions of fans being drunk causing the crush, the lack of co-ordination by Duckingfield in the control tower, the 3:15pm cut off point.

That documentary made me very, very angry and I hope for the sake of all the family members of the 96 who lost their lives, that they get true justice in the form of the new inquest, they truly deserve it.

Thank you for the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭sneakyST

Honestly, I don't know how anyone can think this...l!

I'm talking about not winning it from this current position, not the start of the season. I'd class it as a big failure. Probably the worst disappointment for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

Had a dream lads..was watchin us get applauded out at anfield by newcastle..high 5s everywhere..luis taken off at 80 mins for his ovation..mental... skirts taken off 85 mins...mental.. sterling takin off 90 mins..mental...

Full time whistle..camera pans to stevie..on his knees in centre circle..tears..players sprint towards him..carra goes beserk in the gantry and eventually cant contain himself,hopping down the rows..pushing neville outa the way on route..makes it to the pitch...

STEVIEEEEEEE ...YA ****IN BEAUTYYYYY

Mass of bodies..tears..crowd breaks out championesssss... rodgers given freedom of the city there and then at pitchside...

Woke up ..face drenched..wrecked..

Believe..

That was this mornin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

No doubt everyone at the club will be labelled bottlers if they don't win it from here.

There are no easy games and we may need 10 points from 4 games to win this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

gafferino wrote: »
    Just delivered :D

WP_000913.jpg

Great minds think alike. Picked up 4 myself. Got the chance to explain what had happened to my nephew(8) (he couldnt never whether hes a chelsea fan or a LFC fan....i know i know, i should have trained him better). Once I told him about Hillsborough, he asked "is that why people say LFC have so much history", got into a mad conversation about LFC and the history, he has confirmed that he is now fully behind LFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Over on the Man City thread they think it's all over. Some suggesting that it's Chelsea's.
    NukaCola wrote: »
    Massive favourites now surely

According to bookies we are , but I can't help but think that Chelsea @ 3/1 is huge price with the title decider next week. I think we will do it but you cant right off Jose putting a spanner in the works :(. One game changes everything week by week

D9dMxZa.jpg

gafferino wrote: »
    Just delivered :D

WP_000913.jpg

Where you get them Gafferino :). Also those 96 badges are cool as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

So we should all back Chelsea to win the league because Liverpool definitely won't win the league.

I think I'm doing this right

According to bookies we are , but I can't help but think that Chelsea @ 3/1 is huge price with the title decider next week. I think we will do it but you cant right off Jose putting a spanner in the works :(. One game changes everything week by week

Biggest game for us and Chelsea now is the next one. Not the game at Anfield, both of us need to win this weekend. A slip up for them and a win for us ..we're 5 points clear. A win for them and defeat for us...we're 2nd.

Absolutely massive weekend coming up.

tok9 wrote: »
    So we should all back Chelsea to win the league because Liverpool definitely won't win the league.

I think I'm doing this right

Mad to think they were 8/1 before last weekends games

Great article by Kristian Walsh

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/how-liverpool-fc-manager-brendan-6992164
    wrote:

In terms of an interview, it was more impressive than any other. When Brendan Rodgers met with Liverpool's owners, he presented a document, 180 pages long, which blueprinted the future of the club.

The plan was enough to nix the idea of a sporting director, with total control given to the Northern Irishman. The document's impressiveness was matched by its detail – he started writing it 15 years previous – and included his vision for the club.

Upon joining Liverpool, Rodgers said: “I presented to them a document on the culture, philosophy and game plan going forward.

“It’s a model, a short cut to how I work, the kind of players I want tactically and the personality traits of players. Also my thoughts on the Academy and how we move forward.

“The vision is simple. Firstly, to win the most trophies we can. That’s the bigger picture........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

IF we don't happen to win the league this season. I'll be avoiding the humour thread for a while ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

The man is a genius!
    “The vision is simple. Firstly, to win the most trophies we can. That’s the bigger picture........

I hate when this stuff comes out. It reminds me of the fears I had a year or so ago.

Now, if this came out subsequent to winning the league, I couldn't give a damn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

I was afraid to log on here after last night's results to see the comments posted because it would mean I am not dreaming, it really is happening, we have one hand on the trophy..... My stomach just did a backflip....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,341 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

murpho999 wrote: »
    I did, it was over 4 months ago and it has no relevance on the game that's coming.
    Didn't Arsenal beat us at The Emirates and then we hammered them in Anfield?

Form has been turned on it's head.

Our confidence is sky high
    We're the home team. The ground will be rocking.

The momentum is with Liverpool.

I can't wait but looking forward to the Norwich game first.

So its not in Chelsea to go at us like rabid dogs despite having seen them do exactly that the last time we played them.
    I know that day a couple of decisions going another way could have knicked us a point but conversly a striker performing that day and they could have had 5.
    The Chelsea midfield overwhelmed us that day , they could well do it again.

Now this is what you want when following a team ,the chance to have big games against big sides with it all on the line.
    I am looking forward to it (will be a nervous wreck that week ) but you can also be realistic in examining our chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Where you get them Gafferino :). Also those 96 badges are cool as well

Got them on the official store:

http://store.liverpoolfc.tv/Hillsborough-Patch/pid-40908

There iron on patches. The lads had them on their chests V Man City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

I suppose now would be a good time for Moses to start hacking into his 20 PL goals target.

Vanolder wrote: »
    I was afraid to log on here after last night's results to see the comments posted because it would mean I am not dreaming, it really is happening, we have one hand on the trophy..... My stomach just did a backflip....

Nothing is won yet..no hands on any trophy. I will only start believing if I see Gerrard lift that trophy over his head and even then I'll be afraid that I will wake up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Every Liverpool fan the last few weeks.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Big blow Moses not being eligible to play against Chelsea.