Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 Mod Warning Post #6378

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Dickerty wrote: »
    You would have to say, the way we have been playing at home, coupled with their recent form and our usual record against them - it's the perfect final game.
    But we have work to do first...

It's true that of all the 38 possible fixtures to have, there are few I'd rather than Newcastle (who have had nothing to play for these past few months) at home.

I just hope Pardew isn't sacked before then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

gafferino wrote: »
    image.jpg

If Brendan Rodgers can win the Premier League title with Liverpool this season, some of his fellow managers will not be happy.
    While José Mourinho and Manuel Pellegrini have been bickering over whose club is more like a little horse and Arsène Wenger has been complaining about the way his rivals spend their money, Rodgers has been accelerating past them with a team that is paid less money but wins more matches and scores more goals.
    Liverpool pay their players handsomely – on average €4.1 million per man per year – but those figures are some way short of the annual salaries paid by Arsenal (€4.72 million), Chelsea (€4.83 million), Manchester United (€5.21 million) and Manchester City (€6.4 million).

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/liverpool-players-cheap-to-employ-at-just-over-4m-each-1.1763277

Wonder where Atleti would be on that list?

What Rodgers/Liverpool are doing is highly impressive (even just getting into the CL would be an overachievment in many ways), but what Atleti/Simeone are doing (when you look at how high Barca and Madrid are there) is almost unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Morzadec wrote: »
    Wonder where Atleti would be on that list?

What Rodgers/Liverpool are doing is highly impressive (even just getting into the CL would be an overachievment in many ways), but what Atleti/Simeone are doing (when you look at how high Barca and Madrid are there) is almost unbelievable.

I think Liverpool's is almost more so.

Atletico were 3rd and 5th the last two seasons.
    Liverpool were 7th and 8th.

Barcelona/Real are stronger than City/Chelsea/Arsenal/United, but there is more depth at the top end of the Premier League.

Both would be outrageous achievements though. Hopefully both can hold on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,071 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Wow, No American Football, Baseball pays so much when it's less international than the other two american sports.

In baseball each team has 81 home games in the regular season (162 total)

In American Football, each team has 8 home games in regular season (16 total)

Imagine the gameday income of each over the year, must be quite a difference! Can use that to pay players with no salary cap.

What's interesting is that the graphic showed Yankees above Dodgers, I thought this season was the first in 15 years that Yankees haven't had the highest payroll. Dodgers are meant to have eclipsed them - http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/id/10673297/los-angeles-dodgers-top-spender-end-new-york-yankees-15-year-run

In any case to bring it back to Liverpool, you'll notice that Boston Red Sox aren't the highest spenders by any means either....same owners....and they're currently World Series Champions..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

It's only really hit me since the City game that this really is it. In the 20 or so years I've been following Liverpool we've never mustered up a title challenge as genuine as this one. I don't remember it ever being in our own hands nearly so late in the season. In 08/09 we were always playing catchup, and I did think that if we were to challenge this season, it would be a late charge, overtaking Chelsea or Man City in the last couple of weeks.

The mentality and spirit of the players has been first class. But the tests are only going to get harder.
    Norwich, Chelsea and Palace will all be tough games. Come through them and Newcastle looks like a banker. But if there is a Premier League title on the line there is no such thing.

Think I posted about 2 months ago that if we were close to City it was on, but I never figured we'd win 10 in a row, Fulham, Southampton and United were all impressive in their own way. I knew our away form would improve but not to this extent. All huge wins.

Unbeaten this year but if we go back to the Hull loss, W15 D2 L2 since, 94 points over a full season! :eek:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,622 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Jaysus lads, we're in the wrong professions....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Dickerty wrote: »
    It was notable that Suarez looked less effective in the last game without Sturridge on the pitch (or when on the pitch, not 100% himself.

But I think Sterling and Coutinho can support him just as well, as long as it's just Norwich. We will need every trick to score against Chelsea, they are very stingy...

I think Suarez just didn't look himself from the start.

He seemed to have gone back to his shouting at refs, exaggerating contact etc. rather than focusing on football as he had been doing recently.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

I think in all the hubbub about diving etc. people didn't really look at what he did right, he played Sterling in for the opener, he was also somewhat shafted by Sturridge on at least 1 occasion and I think he should have had a penalty, even the yellow he got was soft.

Basically I don't think he was that poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Seamu$

djPSB wrote: »

He seemed to have gone back to his shouting at refs, exaggerating contact etc. rather than focusing on football as he had been doing recently.

The early booking seemed to have an effect on him, although he setup the first goal shortly after. Seemed a little off form in the West Ham match before this too. Hopefully the sight of his old friends Norwich will trigger him getting back to his usual unplayable self!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭radharc

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Looking at our last four game i still think we'll finish 3rd tbh. Really worried about the Palace and Chelsea games and if Sturridge is out we are in deep sh1te. Still be very very happy with 3rd given where we where at the start of the season.

How could you be very very happy with third given where we are now though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Vicxas wrote: »
    Jaysus lads, we're in the wrong professions....

Last time I tried to be a footballer, they told me to fuck off. :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

cson wrote: »
    Anyways; interesting question for you all; I doubt very much at the start of the season, with the Suarez transfer debacle, the unhappiness with the lack of new signings and indeed missing Suarez until the end of Sept, that any of you thought you had a chance at the league - what was the point where you said to yourself "you know what we actually have a decent chance here"? The 5-1 shoeing of Arsenal? The 3-0 shoeing of United?

The point where I considered Liverpool to have a chance was the 4-3 win at home to Swansea and particularly the 4th goal. The ball falling to Henderson, twice, at the right time and right place.

mayordenis wrote: »
    I think in all the hubbub about diving etc. people didn't really look at what he did right, he played Sterling in for the opener, he was also somewhat shafted by Sturridge on at least 1 occasion and I think he should have had a penalty, even the yellow he got was soft.

Basically I don't think he was that poor.

Don't think he was poor.

But on Luis Suarez levels of performance, he was probably operating at about 6/10.

Which is still good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

To me that's what the media and Suarez haters are saying.

Don't forget he had the assist for the first goal.

Just because he didn't score does not mean that he had a bad game.

I'm fully expecting his normal Norwich hat-trick on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Don't think he was poor.

But on Luis Suarez levels of performance, he was probably operating at about 6/10.

Which is still good.

I think the occasion and build up got to Suarez, he gave too much , tried too hard which is understandable.

My worry is if we get a result on Sunday that the same will happen again against Chelsea, time for cool heads now and Steve Peters to keep working his magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Final league Table :)

league_table.jpg

url-17.gif

Would also like to point out..if Chelsea have 2 home matches against Norwich what happens to Sunderland ;)

I think the occasion and build up got to Suarez, he gave too much , tried too hard which is understandable.

My worry is if we get a result on Sunday that the same will happen again against Chelsea, time for cool heads now and Steve Peters to keep working his magic

Actually reading Steve Peters Chimp Paradox book at the moment.

Can really see how the whole model relates to Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

For some reason I'm very anxious about the Norwich game. Their home record isn't bad and they have only conceded more than 1 goal in 3 of the 17 games. They also drew with City.

I can see City dropping points but Chelsea will win their other 3 games so we just cannot afford to lose to them. Pity Swansea didn't get a point, the wiggle room would be nice!!

No team losing?

I'd be surprised if there's not at least one loss in there

league_table.jpg

Has it ever gone down to 3 teams in it on the last day of the season? I can't remember it anyway, remember relegation battles going down to 3/4 teams all right.

We couldn't ask for a better last 2 games tbh.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    No team losing?

I'd be surprised if there's not at least one loss in there

Agree, and I think Crystal Palace will upset either City or Liverpool.

K-9 wrote: »

Wouldn't go that far. We haven't won at Palace in our last 4 visits, they have been in fantastic form at home since Pulis took over, and Pulis manages to get results against us.

massive banana skin there

K-9 wrote: »
    Has it ever gone down to 3 teams in it on the last day of the season? I can't remember it anyway, remember relegation battles going down to 3/4 teams all right.

Palace Away at Selhurst Park on a Monday evening will be far from easy.

Palace certainly won't be easy.

See Fulham and Sunderland games recently. Just got over the line in both.

Getting over the line is all that matters.

Norwich are fighting for their lives and could well get a result v us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,612 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Palace will be safe and hopefully on the beach when we play them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It's only really hit me since the City game that this really is it. In the 20 or so years I've been following Liverpool we've never mustered up a title challenge as genuine as this one.

We were very much in the title hunt in season 96/97 but we somehow managed to finish 4th in the end and miss out even on CL football.

It all fell apart after the 3-1 defeat at home to Utd (tho prob the biggest blow was Coventry coming from behind to beat us 2-1 at Anfield) and the final nail in the coffin was a 2-1 defeat at Selhurst Park to Wimbledon, it was the night Owen scored on his debut.

The Utd game was particularly sad as it sparked the beginning of the end of John Barnes Liverpool career (even tho he scored in that game)

Palace Away at Selhurst Park on a Monday evening will be far from easy.

City play them as well though. It certainly wont be easy but I was hoping they'd be safe, I'm also hoping Newcastle get a win or 2 before they play us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,634 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Palace will be safe and hopefully on the beach when we play them.

2151244_FULL-LND.jpg

Is that what the FA were on about when they wanted the teams to play a game abroad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,894 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Hopefully Borini has a stormer of 2 games this week :)