Magician Keith Barry demands to be put on Cork's REDFM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Keith Barry wanted to go on Cork's Red FM to publicise his upcoming show - he has achieved that in every way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Prendeville reminds me of Kent Brockman.

When did Brockman have a racist rant or joined the mile high club by himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Keith Barry wanted to go on Cork's Red FM to publicise his upcoming show - he has achieved that in every way.
    Prendeville was looking for a way to publicize his own show - he found it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭That_Girl_ Is_ A_Cowboy

**** on a plane is a perverted thing to do. There's a link between pervertness and psychopathy. Keith Barry probably only did a little bit of a huff due to being cancelled at the last minute for a reason that was completely unsatisfactory which showed a complete disregard for him and his time. Neil P probably blew Keith Barry's response out of proportion looking for sympathy and attention and to stir trouble for sh1ts and giggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Keith Barry is being a diva but I'd believe Prendeville acted the way he did - the producer might have the final say on Morning Ireland or something, but not the phone-in show on RedFM.

Neither man comes out of this fiasco looking well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

**** on a plane is a perverted thing to do. .

You can't say for certain that he was ****.
    Hotelier and Cork Convention Bureau official Seamus Heaney was in an aisle seat to the left of Neil Prendeville.

Niamh Hennessy, who is a reporter with the Irish Examiner was sitting in the window seat. Seamus Heaney was sitting in the aisle seat. The alleged perpetrator of the alleged incident was sitting in the centre seat. The Air Hostesses were sitting opposite, in the bulkhead seats.

Seamus Heany made the following statement when questioned about the alleged incident:

"I personally saw nothing, so I cannot comment."

Sitting immediately next to him, and in his company, having attended the function with him, and saw nothing.

The Air Hostess, Rose Cox is the one who confronted the alleged perpetrator about the alleged incident.

No action was taken on board, or when the plane landed, or the next day or on subsequent days.

The reporter spoke to her editor, and filed a story about the incident which was published two weeks later.

She then went to the Gardai and made a statement, which led to the investigation.

The whole thing stinks.

Nothing would have happened, If there wasn't a junior reporter with The Irish Examiner sitting next to you that is.
    She reported it all over the front page of her employer's newspaper, The Irish Examiner.

Almost two weeks later.

Then she drew her salary, and then she decided to report it to the Gardai.

And by the way, where did I say "he didn't do it?"

What is "it" he is alleged to have done?

This whole thing reeks of hypocrisy, where a junior journalist recounts an experience of something that she allegedly witnessed on a flight. So she decides to tell her employer. They publish it, almost two weeks later and then, and only then, does she go to report it to the relevant authorities who investigate it, with the result that no charges are pressed against the individual for the alleged incident.

Then, the newspaper publishes a further allegation from Niamh Hennessy which is not a report, but rather an opinion.

The whole witch hunt is beneath contempt and Niamh Hennessy has come out of this looking very shabby.

None of her allegations have been substantiated: the person sitting on the other seat didn't see anything, Aer Lingus staff didn't make any complaints, and the only reason anything happened was because Niamh Hennessy presented a story, (which the DPP now agrees was that: a story) to her employers who decided to run with it and put one over on a rival media organisation.

That in itself is shabby enough. But to then go and call a local media lawyer an "expert in aviation law" in a vain attempt to justify it's behaviour really scrapes the bottom of the barrel of what any responsible newspaper should do.

This whole thing is a non event: the DPP reviewed all of the evidence and decided no prosecution should follow. TCH's solicitors wheeled out a litigation lawyer which TCH referred to as an "expert in aviation law" to talk about jurisdiction, and whether or not the aircraft was in flight or not.

They are rapidly retreating, and have now finally, begun to use the word "allegedly" in respect to this whole incident.

Meanwhile a man's life is in ruins, over something he has absolutely no recollection of ever doing. The man seated immediately to his left didn't see anything, the two air hostesses sitting directly opposite him didn't report anything when the aircraft landed at Cork airport, and when the journalist Niamh Hennessy eventually reported it almost three weeks later the Gardai investigated the alleged incident and the relevant authorities decided no further action needed to be taken.

Enter Niamh Hennessy and her employers again, trying to insinuate that the DPP didn't prosecute because of a "jurisdictional technicality."

The DPP did not say this, he didn't give any reason as to why charges weren't brought. "The female witnesses were told that it was because of a jurisdictional technality."

Who told them?

An "expert in aviation law?"

Or a "leading media lawyer?"

Don't make me laugh.

These posts from another site are on the money if you do your research on the incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,391 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

**** on a plane is a perverted thing to do. There's a link between pervertness and psychopathy. Keith Barry probably only did a little bit of a huff due to being cancelled at the last minute for a reason that was completely unsatisfactory which showed a complete disregard for him and his time. Neil P probably blew Keith Barry's response out of proportion looking for sympathy and attention and to stir trouble for sh1ts and giggles.
    that's an awful thing to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Temaz wrote: »
    You can't say for certain that he was ****.

A female passenger complained that he exposed himself.

I hope that this is not going to turn into a whitewash of offensive behaviour compounded by an excuse of mixing alcohol with headache tablets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,391 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

A female passenger complained that he exposed himself.

I hope that this is not going to turn into a whitewash of offensive behaviour compounded by an unlikely excuse of mixing alcohol with headache tablets.
    i dunno...funny things can happen in the half asleep zone and i really doubt he took it out to offend ...for example i punch people who wake me up ...i'm neither violent or angry, but disturb me in the half sleep zone and i'll knock you out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

I defended Keith Barry at the beginning of the thread, but the "celebrity friends" thing IS cringeworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Temez do you work for neil or are you in love with him?

FTA69 wrote: »
    Why are you so determined to defend a disgusting sexual deviant?
    are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

are you for real?

He took his dick out on a plane and was tearing one off. He then blamed Neurofen. Now call me cynical, but I've often taken an over-the-counter painkiller and lo and behold, I managed not to brandish my langer at fellow commuters.

The man is a creep. And people kissing his arse because "he's our Neil and he's from Cork like" are eejits to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hang on, are people trying to claim now that he's not a member (heh member) of the mile-high self-loving club?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Hang on, are people trying to claim now that he's not a member (heh member) of the mile-high self-loving club?
    This has been discussed on a similar thread some time back, and the same people defended Prenderville, and will always defend him no matter what. The obsession/fanaticism is bizarre in my eyes.

As I stated on that thread, that's how politicians have no issue with such scandals, there are always those deluded enough to back them.

This has been discussed on a similar thread some time back, and the same people defended Prenderville, and will always defend him no matter what. The obsession/fanaticism is bizarre in my eyes.

As I stated on that thread, that's how politicians have no issue with such scandals, there are always those deluded enough to back them.
    it's not that at all....i just remember hearing about it but there was no conviction.

Red Nissan wrote: »
    On the KC show this morning the banter when something like this "Hey! didn't you appear on one of his shows? Yes I was a student going to college and one morning with a ferocious head from drink study I was walking past and this guy shouts, YOU, you there with the napsak.

Me you effin talking to me, who the ell you thin you are. Think of a colour he said, I thought of yellow. YELLOW? No ya eejet I said. Think of a relative, I though of my uncle Joe. You're thinking of Joe> No I'm not ya bolx, you're not very good at this stuff are ye and I walked away."

More or less like. :)

What :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

it's not that at all....i just remember hearing about it but there was no conviction.

If he didn't do than why apologise for it?

Jester252 wrote: »
    If he didn't do than why apologise for it?
    i'm just saying there is a huge difference between taking the oul chap out for one off the wrist on a packed plane, and falling asleep and waking up to find you have done something similar....

one would make you a perv the other meaning your life is ruined over something you had no control over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

i'm just saying there is a huge difference between taking the oul chap out for one off the wrist on a packed plane, and falling asleep and waking up to find you have done something similar....

one would make you a perv the other meaning your life is ruined over something you had no control over.

Are you saying that drugs and alcohol are acceptable excuse to negate responsibility?

Pretty sure you are still held accountable if you do something after drink even if you cant remember. Also the sleep walking defence doesnt work if alcohol and substance abuse is involved

Deco99 wrote: »
    Are you saying that drugs and alcohol are acceptable excuse to negate responsibility?

Pretty sure you are still held accountable if you do something after drink even if you cant remember. Also the sleep walking defence doesnt work if alcohol and substance abuse is involved
    but does it make you a perv?

actually the exact same thing happened to a girl in my town, and she was made a laughing stock.....but the cops were not involved...(she fell asleep in public and played with herself)

There was no conviction, which doesn't mean it didn't happen.
    Some on here, and the previous thread, go by the logic that no conviction = incident didn't happen.
    By such logic is how some politicians will always have their backers.

Personally, I think something weird happened to him which caused him to do what he did.
    It certainly appears to have been an incident which was out of character for the guy, as far as I know there's been no other such occasions where it's happened.
    The nurofen and alcohol excuse was a lame attempt to explain his actions though.

Even though I'm not a fan of the guy, or his show, I didn't enjoy him having to go through what he had to experience.
    It had to be tough on his family due to the shame of the incident.
    The lady in question also should be remembered, she was the person who was wronged.

I do think that people would have moved on from the issue had he stayed away from the limelight. But as long as he's in the spotlight, it's not going to be forgotten.
    The current refusal to have Keith Barry on his show, because he was already on 96FM, displays that Neil hasn't changed his style and continues to be a bit of a pr1ck at times.
    That's always going to result in a rehashing of the incident.

but does it make you a perv?

actually the exact same thing happened to a girl in my town, and she was made a laughing stock.....but the cops were not involved...(she fell asleep in public and played with herself)

it doesnt help

There was no conviction, which doesn't mean it didn't happen.
    Some on here, and the previous thread, go by the logic that no conviction = incident didn't happen.
    By such logic is how some politicians will always have their backers.

Personally, I think something weird happened to him which caused him to do what he did.
    It certainly appears to have been an incident which was out of character for the guy, as far as I know there's been no other such occasions where it's happened.
    The nurofen and alcohol excuse was a lame attempt to explain his actions though.

Even though I'm not a fan of the guy, or his show, I didn't enjoy him having to go through what he had to experience.
    It had to be tough on his family due to the shame of the incident.
    The lady in question also should be remembered, she was the person who was wronged.

I do think that people would have moved on from the issue had he stayed away from the limelight. But as long as he's in the spotlight, it's not going to be forgotten.
    The current refusal to have Keith Barry on his show, because he was already on 96FM, displays that Neil hasn't changed his style and continues to be a bit of a pr1ck at times.
    That's always going to result in a rehashing of the incident.

i'm sure he could well be a pr1ck.....all i'm saying is that some of the comments made so far here are as bad as what he did...the plane incident is irrelevant to the keith barry thing...and to bring it up every time is plain lazy...
    Neil apologized for what he did on the plane, and I'm sure he'd wish that he could be forgiven and people would move on.
    But when he then acts the pr1ck, it's going to results in some flak. Surely he could have set aside some of the forgiveness for Keith and have him on the show?

I don't think any of the comments on here are as bad as what he did. Some of the comments are harsh, but there's nobody pushing their willy through the screen at you.

Not lazy at all, if you go on the radio everyday and pontificate and judge people, you are fair game to be judged as well. If you try blacken someone else's reputation, your own reputation is fair game also.

Character witnesses in court cases have nothing to do with actual incidents but they are used frequently. Likewise here. Its his character thats being debated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Some of the comments are harsh, but there's nobody pushing their willy through the screen at you.

Congrats, you've made me read a sentence I never thought I'd ever see...ever. Brilliant

i'm sure he could well be a pr1ck.....all i'm saying is that some of the comments made so far here are as bad as what he did...

Right, so me criticising a DJ's actions (something that he alone is responsible for) is actually akin in the morality stakes to masturbating in front of a woman on a plane?

Seriously?

FTA69 wrote: »
    Right, so me criticising a DJ's actions (something that he alone is responsible for) is actually akin in the morality stakes to masturbating in front of a woman on a plane?

Seriously?
    i'm saying it looked like a non malicious act....and repeating over and over again that an innocent person is a pervert is as bad as sleep **** on a plane.

1) Person A **** on a plane. Concocts dubious story that it was the Neurofen to blame.
    2) Person B points out the fact that A engages in perverted actions.
    3) Person B is as bad as Person A

That doesn't make a blind bit of sense.