Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

moy83 wrote: »
    WTF else would I be at this hour like !

Sure you could be at anything! ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

What kind of dairy farmer uses an alarm clock ! The old lad woke me every morning at quarter to six with a shout outside the window and I still wake at that time now .
    Its funny now when he rings in the early hours if there's a cow calfing or something wrong "are you at home " is the first thing he says . WTF else would I be at this hour like !

My boss was the same early riser and we all are as a result, even my own kids are early out if bed. We are known locally for being an early house and I'd say we could sleep till dinnertime now and no one would think any different

Even when I'd left home on my own he'd ring at 5.45 to ask was I up, on the odd Sunday I'd have a milker it used to drive OH mad. Funny thing is I miss it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Sure you could be at anything! ;):D

Oh I'd say you've stayed out past curfew yourself once or twice :-)

My boss was the same early riser and we all are as a result, even my own kids are early out if bed. We are known locally for being an early house and I'd say we could sleep till dinnertime now and no one would think any different

Even when I'd left home on my own he'd ring at 5.45 to ask was I up, on the odd Sunday I'd have a milker it used to drive OH mad. Funny thing is I miss it now

Ah the womenfolk . If I don't go up to the home house 2 nights in a row he will ring to see whats wrong , do I here all about being tied to the apron strings/farm then from herself !

:eek: I'm a good catholic cailin, never ever stayed out past curfew.

Then again, I never got a curfew.

:eek: I'm a good catholic cailin, never ever stayed out past curfew.

Then again, I never got a curfew.

Mass every sunday and no meat on fridays ?

Sorry moy, what was that? I was concentrating too hard on looking holy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Busy day today, some day for it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Or at the moment :D

simx wrote: »
    Busy day today, some day for it :D

Ah the willie waving is gonna start now :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    Or at the moment :D

Hey now. I'm at home eating a very very late dinner. Was kayaking most of the day so my arms are goosed. :(

Ah simx, what I would give for good land that I could do that with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭knockmulliner

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Friggin' Google maps and Google Earth, you could plot you way out any man's land/pass/yard.
    Plus all those "boyos" calling about gates/pressure washing/painting, save your location on the sat-nav. and anyone can go straight to your yard.

PS Who on here has read the Forum Rules, and removes any sat nav. co-ordinates encoded in photos before up loading?
    put up cc TV cameras and a sign saying" 24 hour security monitoring" couple of"boyos" afterwards then stopped not seen for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,721 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

put up cc TV cameras and a sign saying" 24 hour security monitoring" couple of"boyos" afterwards then stopped not seen for a long time.
    there was also a bmw jeep taken from a house the next night beside the quadmans house, they broke the patio door and took the keys and away with them, motorway is close by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Friggin' Google maps and Google Earth, you could plot you way out any man's land/pass/yard.
    Plus all those "boyos" calling about gates/pressure washing/painting, save your location on the sat-nav. and anyone can go straight to your yard

Select 'home' on my sat-nav and it brings you to local Garda station!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Plus all those "boyos" calling about gates/pressure washing/painting, save your location on the sat-nav. and anyone can go straight to your yard

Select 'home' on my sat-nav and it brings you to local Garda station!!!!!

Moy sat nav brings him to the black door in galway

That's if he ever leaves

how long after 18-6-12 application would people spread CAN, silage ground

whelan2 wrote: »
    there was also a bmw jeep taken from a house the next night beside the quadmans house, they broke the patio door and took the keys and away with them, motorway is close by

Too easy of an escape route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Hey now. I'm at home eating a very very late dinner. Was kayaking most of the day so my arms are goosed. :(

Ah simx, what I would give for good land that I could do that with!

Have heavy enough land kovu, it was closed off early enough last year and a bit too strong to graze now so mowing it off for bales to have a nice clean butt for silage, I wouldn't rule out having to feed them before the winter, in 2012 I made 120 odd bales in May and didn't have any left by October, a lot of drying in the last 10 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

how long after 18-6-12 application would people spread CAN, silage ground

5 minutes :-)

ellewood wrote: »
    5 minutes :-)

good girl elle, what were you at last night to have you in such good form;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Was kayaking most of the day so my arms are goosed. :(

I got out yesterday too for a couple of hours on the water. Perfect conditions, still a sup of water in the river and wind at our back. We flew down it!

My sat nav isnt on the dash of the jeep !

I got out yesterday too for a couple of hours on the water. Perfect conditions, still a sup of water in the river and wind at our back. We flew down it!

I was going fairly easy until I disturbed a swan. Booted it fairly quickly for a while after that because the cob went after me:o

Was nearly in tears laughing this morning. Went to check the mink trap and the fcuker had buried under the trap and took the bait that was staked into the ground from below.

I was going fairly easy until I disturbed a swan. Booted it fairly quickly for a while after that because the cob went after me:o

Was nearly in tears laughing this morning. Went to check the mink trap and the fcuker had buried under the trap and took the bait that was staked into the ground from below.
    Mmmm clever *****

Reggie. wrote: »
    Mmmm clever *****

He snapped the larsen trap as well! Now it's a personal vendetta against him.

Cuckoo is here this morning, wahey, summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Cuckoo is here this morning, wahey, summer!

Great stuff!

Observed Kingfishers, Dippers, and House Martins yesterday on our run. No swans though!

Great stuff!

Observed Kingfishers, Dippers, and House Martins yesterday on our run. No swans though!

Ya weren't running you were floating :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Quick question lads, what mix ratio do ye use in a licker with Gallup 360 doing strongish rushes travelling slow. Never used one before so haven't a clue. Going to do a bit for the evening and the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Quick question lads, what mix ratio do ye use in a licker with Gallup 360 doing strongish rushes travelling slow. Never used one before so haven't a clue. Going to do a bit for the evening and the next few days.

Snap! Was thinking of headiing out to do a bit myself overthe next few days. Only got the licker this year so first time here aswell. Guy I bought it from said to use Roundup at a 10:1 ratio. My tank holds 60 litres so 50l water to 1l roundup. Still not sure if Roundup is best thing to use though!!