Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Iv a karcher. Diesel and elec Swopped it for sumtin lomg time ago and it never worked. Tried to give it away and couldnt. Sent it to a lad, it was choked with lime. He filled it wit caustic, and blew it out. Didnt use it yet but meant to b a flyer. Hope so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

munkus wrote: »
    Need to get one, what do most of ye have? Is it a petrol or PTO and what would be the min power for cleaning out sheds?

Small petrol one here. Washes everything from cars, house, machinery to sheds. Can draw water from a barrel which is a must imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Reggie. wrote: »
    Small petrol one here. Washes everything from cars, house, machinery to sheds. Can draw water from a barrel which is a must imo

Second lad was in the mil yesterday. Said he saw two APCs tooling down a back road about 3 miles from Waterford. Couple of lads out of the hatches the whole bit. Not a usual sight around here. Would it be unusual for ye to have gear like that so far from the bigger barracks? Most we ever usually see is the lads on secure transit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Second lad was in the mil yesterday. Said he saw two APCs tooling down a back road about 3 miles from Waterford. Couple of lads out of the hatches the whole bit. Not a usual sight around here. Would it be unusual for ye to have gear like that so far from the bigger barracks? Most we ever usually see is the lads on secure transit.

They do checkpoints around here with one Garda in balaclava and all, holding a powerful looking gun. Don't know whi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

They do checkpoints around here with one Garda in balaclava and all, holding a powerful looking gun. Don't know whi.

We get that every so often. Suppose we're close enough to the border.

Or maybe they're still looking for Shergar. I don't mind, men in uniforms, grand stuff! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,685 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

.Kovu. wrote: »

Or maybe they're still looking for Shergar. I don't mind, men in uniforms, grand stuff! :D

Could they be looking for bob,no one here has seen him in a while!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭Charliebull

mahoney_j wrote: »

im bob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Not many bangarda down here unfortunately, ha this is in Laois,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Not many bangarda down here unfortunately, ha this is in Laois,

We've a few of them here. One of them was giving me quare looks when getting my garda cert sent off. You'd want to go to Coppers to see most of them!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

im bob

I'd well believe it, and Charlie bird's first cousin, and whelan's toyboy:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

That's the mowags. Could be on a course or exercise. We have a few variants of them so hard to tell exactly what they were upto. Normal troop carriers have small guns in the turret, the recce ones have remote controlled guns on top with no turret and also have ones with a 30mm cannon with an extra large turret

Calm down woman :D

mahoney_j wrote: »

I think there's a shoot on sight order out on that fella

Waiting here for the doe to be done on the van. Gone a bit pricey at €110 compared to €85 last year. Ya wouldn't want to be failing the Damn thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

None of that GI Joe craic around here. Closest we get is the Naval service anchoring a vessel in the bay from time to time. Would be nice if they and the aircorps or whoever flies the fisheries air patrols would spend a little more time harassing the foreign fishermen than local inshore ones.

That's the aer Corp with the casa aircraft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

That's the aer Corp with the casa aircraft

Almost got run over by one of them out joyflying one day. Could have shot him down if I had a catapult.

That's the mowags. Could be on a course or exercise. We have a few variants of them so hard to tell exactly what they were upto. Normal troop carriers have small guns in the turret, the recce ones have remote controlled guns on top with no turret and also have ones with a 30mm cannon with an extra large turret

He says the guns were manned so probably troop carriers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Alls good. She still works.
    Not good for a small pump like that to get that hot

Brilliant! Next time the sister asks to use it give her €8 and point towards town. Will be cheaper in the long run!! :D

Almost got run over by one of them out joyflying one day. Could have shot him down if I had a catapult.

Sure a good gust of wind would bring them down :D

I would have put in the window of the tool hire shop with the powerwasher

No sense of humour! :)

He says the guns were manned so probably troop carriers.

Yeah so it would have to be an exercise or a driving course I'd say. He wouldn't mistake the 30mm mowag anyways

Muckit wrote: »
    No sense of humour! :)

More like cheeky ******

Would she run again do ya think

A good friend of mine did part of his work experience in the brecon beacons in the UK. One of the coolest experiences of his life was looking down on two attack jets flying past in the valley below him on a training run.

Tornados I'd say or harriers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Tornados I'd say or harriers

Euro fighters?
    See them all the time when shooting in the Peak District.
    Met a pilot in the pub one night over there and he was telling me that he was up North of Scotland and was sent by train down South to collect one. Took 5 hours by train and flew back in minutes.

sheebadog wrote: »
    Euro fighters?
    See them all the time when shooting in the Peak District.
    Met a pilot in the pub one night over there and he was telling me that he was up North of Scotland and was sent by train down South to collect one. Took 5 hours by train and flew back in minutes.
    They are a recent aircraft and they replaced the harrier and tornado so I'd say it was one or the other

Can draw water from a barrel which is a must imo

I always did it that way putting hose into a barrel.

Then a lad that sells and services them told me that by doing it that way you are asking the pump to do two jobs., ie suck and force water down the lance. The pump has to pump the water straight up the hose and over the edge of the barrel. Not very efficient.

By using the barrel or a small tank as a header tank you reduce down the workload on the pump. Tap in the inlet hose into the bottom of the barrel, about 2" up so any grit sits in bottom of barrel. If your power washer has no internal inline filter, you still need to use filter on end of hose or fit an inline filter.

Now the head pressure of the water in the barrel will be more than enough to force the water into the pump. A ball cock fitted to the top edge of tank and a nozellock fitting to garden Hose will ensure the tank isn't pissing water all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Would she run again do ya think

Run again no bother! if the bottle was put on the exhaust in time.
    A good battery and a sup of fresh diesel and them old BMC diesels shouldn't take more than a turn or two to fire. Whether you have brakes or not is another matter!