Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 Mod Warning Post #6378

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I'm just home from the match.

I am still to exhausted mentally and physically to write much about it. I am still trying to let the last 24 hours of my life sink in. I don't think I have shouted or cried so much at the same time in my life.

I have been to Anfield a few times over the last 30 years and to plenty of other football grounds and matches in that time.

I have never in my life felt such emotion before during and after a match. The highs and lows of being a football fan were all in this match for me going from the highest of highs going 2-0 up to the lowest of low when City scored their second and every bit of engery drained from me.

Then that 3rd goal no words can't express the feelings that you go through we all know them we all feel them being fans and trying to explain those feelings is impossible. The last 15/20 mintues after that goal were so long. Then the final whistle.

Magic.

I need sleep but I am still still still dreaming that were going to win the league and I'm afriad to go to bed and in case this really is a dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

mayordenis wrote: »
    Not sure that's really true, In all honesty Dzeko should have had a penalty from Sakho, Nasri and Silva passed them in circles.

Like how long was Aguero on for?

You surely know your points are extremely selective.

Would agree that Dzeko had a pen, but the general feeling at OT a few weeeks ago was that the pen that Sturridge got shouldnt have been given. For me they were both the same.....defender slid in and didnt get the ball, hence obstruction, and a pen in my eyes.

I wouldnt say Nasri and Silva passed them in circles....they dominated for 20-25 mins in the game and we dominated the rest. Anyone could see that Man City were going to have a purple patch. Nobody dominates a game at that level for 90 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

It was a privilege to be at the game yesterday. The wait for the bus coming up the anfield road, the crazy scenes when we finally seen it and followed it to the ground like an army ready for war, the tributes to the 96 before kick off, the minutes silence(impeccably observed by the city fans), the best version of YNWA ever, the unbelievable first half hour, the comeback by City which stunned the ground, the winner by Couthino, Hendo off which nobody really complained about, 5 fcuking mins injury time???????????, the relief off the final whistle. People leaving the ground were delighted but nobody was getting carried away, we knew we have 4 more massive games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

asdfgh86 wrote: »

Thats the one I was hoping to see. When I originally saw it in real time I thought it was a dead cert for a yellow. Its only when it was replayed I appreciated what a thing of beauty it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Not really LFC but it could affect our season
    The Anfield Insider™ ‏@Anfieldlnsider 8s
    Multiple media outlets now reporting that #Man #City heavyweight #Yaya #Toure is injured for the rest of the season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

brevity wrote: »
    Think I saw them at Electric Picnic a few years ago :pac:
    Think they changed their name back to Daft Punk though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Its always a pity to see a player any player get injured, especially one of Yaya's quality, but that is a big boost to Liverpool and Chelsea, undoubtedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,732 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Knex. wrote: »
    Its always a pity to see a player any player get injured, especially one of Yaya's quality, but that is a big boost to Liverpool and Chelsea, undoubtedly.

And Everton too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Lets be honest here, we are ALL getting carried away, in fact we've been carried off past the horizon in the past few weeks! ;). I love this, and yes, i am so bloody carried away the fall could kill me if it were to go down in flames - BUT - this is what football is all about. We are the fans, we SHOULD be enjoying this, the rollercoster of emotions, the slagging of other fans, the banter, the unbelievable 2-0 up and inching ourselves, 2-2 unbelievable scenes and the 3-2 OMG i am going to explode!!! All this 1 game at a time is for the Manager and Players ... they cannot afford to dwell on a fixture that is 2 weeks away.

Enjoying the journey. Gets better every week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,612 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I can see Man City dropping points in one of their six remaining games, so in that case a draw against Chelsea would see over the line, assuming we win the others. The run we've been on has been incredible, but I just can't see it last for the rest of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭SM01

Not really LFC but it could affect our season

While I'd never wish injury on a player and very I'm fond of Yaya as a player, put in stark terms, his absence weakens a very strong City team. He's the type of player who can easily turn 1 point into 3 so with him out here's hoping City are a bit more vulnerable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭viper006

Knex. wrote: »

Beyond a doubt, huge huge loss. lets just hope Sturridge isn't joining him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Toure missing, if true, is a massive blow for City. To be honest have enjoyed watching him play this season, he's been immense. I have no doubt that if he had stayed on the pitch yesterday eventually we would have been beaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Yaya is a big loss for city no doubt, but I thought Fernandinho was excellent yesterday for City when he moved into Yaya's position. Himself and Silva were at the heart of everything. Hopefully they drop points against the likes of Everton etc but, with aguero back, they're still going to be formidable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭flanzer

Andre Marriner has been appointed ref for the Norwich match. I hope Rodgers plays Cissokho and Sahko for the LOLs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭dubdamo

Quality

Any pubs like this in the Dublin or South Meath area to go to watch a match. Any pubs were supporters clubs meet, the atmosphere in my local is brutal, a few of us watching the match and everyone else far more interested in stuffing their faces .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Is there any update on when Hazard will be fit? Would be very happy not to play him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Not defending Henderson's touch, but he had more of a right to take a crap touch, he was probably wrecked!

Feel sorry for him, but really he can blame no one but himself.

Henderson's first touch was actually fine. It was his second touch that knocked the ball too far ahead of him. In retrospect he probably should have passed it out to Allen on the wing with his second touch.

I'm sure though that he was both knackered and pumped full of adrenaline at that point and was desperate not to give the ball away so ended up lunging in for it. Pity as it put a small bit of dampner on the win right at the end.

dubdamo wrote: »
    Any pubs like this in the Dublin or South Meath area to go to watch a match. Any pubs were supporters clubs meet, the atmosphere in my local is brutal, a few of us watching the match and everyone else far more interested in stuffing their faces .

I think a couple of the lads went to Sinnots ? Said the atmosphere was amazing.
    I have gone to the pub for a match ( haven't drank ) all season. My mates keep asking me to meet for the games. Can't jinx it now.

Also don't there be LFC heads in The Woolshed ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

gafferino wrote: »
    Is there any update on when Hazard will be fit? Would be very happy not to play him.

Latest word is that he is expected back sooner rather than later...I'm guessing he will be rested until CL and Liverpool matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Vanolder wrote: »
    Latest word is that he is expected back sooner rather than later...I'm guessing he will be rested until CL and Liverpool matches.

Great :(

gafferino wrote: »

I'd say he'll be fit for our game :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The mad thing about City going 2 all and Silva just being class was my reaction to my brother in law (a United fan), "we'll score another one anyway, it's just a matter of keeping City out". Contrast that to last season and previously, if a team equalised, that was it.

I think Henderson out will galvanise the team! Seriously, this team seems to thrive on adversity, and Allen has impressed me since he came back. He doesn't shoot much but then we've Coutinho to keep trying over and over again until it goes in.

Norwich would be a typical game for us to draw, guaranteed Suarez hat trick normally but we feck it up somehow. This teams makes me believe they aren't going to let anything get in the way of the title, but my default Liverpool fan mindset is still there in my subconscious.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

K-9 wrote: »
    but my default Liverpool fan mindset is still there in my subconscious.

this is exactly how I have been feeling this last Month.
    it's bloody hard not to be fearing the worst after the last 24yrs!

i think Allen should be ok to fill in against Norwich.
    As they need to win they have to attack and that leaves the space for the 3 Amigo's to exploit on the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

This team aren't going to let Norwich, f$%king Norwich get in the way of a league title.

I expect Pool to win, f$%k jinxing things.

Liverpool will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

seen the vid of silva tossing his black armband on the ground with the score at 2 nil, it wasnt there when he scored either, also when nasri was hit by hendo he wasnt wearing his.. silva one was odd to say the least.. definite removed and tossed to the ground

edit . vid here. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152326754886950

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

This is probably going to seem weird, as I have an extremely photographic memory, especially when it comes to my childhood. I remember stuff from before I was even out of my cot, for example.

Anyway, I was three years old when I first realised that I was a Liverpool fan. I mean that sentence exactly how I put it.

It was the summer of 94, and Ireland had just played in a World Cup match. I, of course, had watched this with my old man, while waving one of those massive blow up green and white mallets around the living room, and giving the auld fella the occasional whack for good luck.

Anyway, afterwards, I went outside for a kick about in the back garden, and when I came back in, there was another game on the tv. Rome 84, European Cup Final. I plonk myself down in front of the tv, right as Bruce Grobbelaar is going full throttle with his goal antics for a Roma penalty. Funniest thing three year old Knex had ever seen.

Quickly get brought up to speed by the auld fella, a life long Liverpool fan, and that was that. So, my first experience of Liverpool was to see them win the European Cup, albeit, 10 years after the date.

It was a long time after that before I saw any success, as was the same for any Pool fan (I don't remember the League Cup win in 95). 2001 was fantastic, and unprecedented for me. 05 was one of the greatest nights I have ever had as a Sport fan, not just a Liverpool fan. 06 was chaos, exciting, and amazing, yet it didn't even come close. 08/09 was exciting, but ultimately fruitless. What came next were the worst years I personally have had to endure as a fan of this Club.

This year; Wow. Just out of the blue. Unexpected, unprecedented, thrilling. Best football I have ever seen us play, and we've added results on top of that. The passion shown. The most talented player I have seen in a Liverpool shirt, Suarez, and the biggest symbol and legend this club has had since Dalglish, coming to the fore - Gerrard. The progress made with the Justice campaign and the 25th anniversary of Hillsborough cannot be taking lightly either. Monumental in its own right.

Anyway, point of my rambling post is, this year has made me especially happy that my three year old self ventured in at just the right time to see Grobbelaar's wobbling legs, and took a liking to the team wearing red. That Everton fan who asked us were we proud of our club. A resounding yes. And enjoying every minute of it, so come what may come end of May (:p), I hope I remember this.

*Ends cheesy post and apologises profusely*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

barone wrote: »
    seen the vid of silva tossing his black armband on the ground with the score at 2 nil, it wasnt there when he scored either, also when nasri was hit by hendo he wasnt wearing his.. silva one was odd to say the least.. definite removed and tossed to the ground

edit . vid here. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152326754886950

Seriously what does it matter maybe it was broken or something.

People can get too uptight about these sort of things.