Magician Keith Barry demands to be put on Cork's REDFM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

If you remove the "celeb/media" rubbish from this story, it is akin to me inviting a business client or supplier to Cork for a meeting. I then find out he's stopped in Fermoy on the way here to talk with my competitor, so I lock the doors of my office and send him packing.

RIDICULOUS STUFF.

it would be more like Barry and his rival magician both performing on the same show, with his rival going first, would Keith then go on stage afterwards and do the same trick that his rival just did? no he would do something different,

its clear red fm were trying to not copy the topics 96fm are doing (i listen to D'arcy so don't quote me on that) which is fair enough considering they are in competition with one another....and Keith should have known that if him and Neil were as good buddies as both sides are claiming they were before this happened.

if you ask me it sounds like Keith chanced his arm and got burned, and Red fm are as bad for dragging a saturday non-story up today again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

zetalambda wrote: »
    Yeah, but it's one of the smallest capital cities in Europe and pretty much an insignificant world city as it's something like number 480 in a list of the world's largest cities. Dublin is just a culchie outpost on the western fringes of Europe. I had relatives over from London a few years ago for my brothers wedding and the exact word they used to describe Dublin was "rural". :)

What does that make Cork then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

After reading the posts above, Ive no idea who Prenderville is and Im not a fan of Barry too much

But Temaz, Im more convinced you're working for either :

(a) working for / actually Mr Prenderville. You've defended him in such a ridiculously one sided manner, that the more you post the more I believe Barrys side of this arguement.

or

(b) An obsessed "leave Britney alone" type fan of Mr Prenderville

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Nobody in Cork listens to the that West Brit ponce. :D Himself and John Duffy only appeal to a Dublin audience and would flop as presenters on any other Irish or UK station.

Good thing they're working for a national radio station. Much better than some backwater local station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

And we get that you are a fan of his.
    Temaz wrote: »
    I am but I am also discussing the topic at hand.

Yeah, but you'll defend Neil no matter what.
    You've previously tried to claim that it's only alleged that he had the incident on the plane, when even the man himself doesn't deny it.
    Fanaticism towards Neil makes it hard to take you seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

hoodwinked wrote: »
    it would be more like Barry and his rival magician both performing on the same show, with his rival going first, would Keith then go on stage afterwards and do the same trick that his rival just did? no he would do something different, .

It's an entirely different show though, different stage, different radio station.

its clear red fm were trying to not copy the topics 96fm are doing (i listen to D'arcy so don't quote me on that) which is fair enough considering they are in competition with one another.

Yeah, that is totally fair enough. But if you've booked a guy and he's come all the way from Dublin, let him on with it. Learn for the next time and ask more questions the next time, but don't be unprofessional and tell him he's not wanted.

....and Keith should have known that if him and Neil were as good buddies as both sides are claiming they were before this happened..

It's entirely up to Red FM to ask the question - are you going on any other shows? Sure, Keith Barry would (rightly) love to appear on every radio show in Ireland if he could, selling tickets.
    if you ask me it sounds like Keith chanced his arm and got burned, and Red fm are as bad for dragging a saturday non-story up today again.

Nothing wrong with Keith wanting to be on two radio shows in one morning. It's Red FM's apparent uncoolness with that (and their failure to check in advance) that sparked this all off.

The few things I know are this

1) this is a non story, most likely sensationalised by Prenderville and RedFm, with controversy creates listeners mentality.

2) Even if there are "witnesses" they arent reliable ones.

3) Both sides can be viewed as wrong, depending where you stand on the side of the arguement

4) I would feel sorry bad for either sad if they were wronged ( the receptionist who got roared at or Barry if he was unfairly dropped from his slot after traveling so much). Fact is, either side could be right and no one on here can prove otherwise. Its gonna be the Prenderville fans v The Prednerville haters back and fourth on here. Just meet up and arrange a West Side Story esque fight (with Barry and Prendervilel as leaders) and end this once and for all.

It's an entirely different show though, different stage, different radio station.

I am guessing you have not listened to either, :D (they are the exact same show the only difference is pj is ****e on all topics (lovely guy though i haven't a bad word to say about him personally), and Neil is ok on certain topics and unbearable on others(never met him personally so cannot comment on him personally)

Yeah, that is totally fair enough. But if you've booked a guy and he's come all the way from Dublin, let him on with it. Learn for the next time and ask more questions the next time, but don't be unprofessional and tell him he's not wanted.

but if you cancel that booking and the performer turns up anyway thats a problem between Keith and his management, nothing to do with the person who made/cancelled the booking.
    It's entirely up to Red FM to ask the question - are you going on any other shows? Sure, Keith Barry would (rightly) love to appear on every radio show in Ireland if he could, selling tickets.

yes they should have asked for exclusivity, they messed up and cancelled as soon as they realised their mistake it happens, i was making the point both sides are claiming to be best buddies before all this happened which makes me dubious and think it was all a silly publicity stunt, as surely if they were buddies Keith would have been aware of the split and hassle between 96fm and Neil!

Nothing wrong with Keith wanting to be on two radio shows in one morning. It's Red FM's apparent uncoolness with that (and their failure to check in advance) that sparked this all off.

there is if he knew of the animosity between them and tried to play it to his advantage, i think nether party is innocent in this, (well maybe (if it is true) the poor girl who had to deal with the fallout of this without knowing what the hell was going on) and i think we'll be seeing a very public kiss and make up betwen the two soon :rolleyes:

i am a skeptic though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

If Keith Barry was worth his salt and actually was able to carry out the feats he says he can carry out, then he should have known he wasn't going to go on Red FM and stayed in bed instead of zombie driving for 3 hours putting other road users in danger. Brain hacker me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I am guessing you have not listened to either, :D (they are the exact same show the only difference is pj is ****e on all topics (lovely guy though i haven't a bad word to say about him personally), and Neil is ok on certain topics and unbearable on others(never met him personally so cannot comment on him personally)

Different show, different radio station. Your comparison of the content is beside the point.
    but if you cancel that booking and the performer turns up anyway thats a problem between Keith and his management, nothing to do with the person who made/cancelled the booking.

When was it cancelled?

yes they should have asked for exclusivity, they messed up and cancelled as soon as they realised their mistake it happens, i was making the point both sides are claiming to be best buddies before all this happened which makes me dubious and think it was all a silly publicity stunt, as surely if they were buddies Keith would have been aware of the split and hassle between 96fm and Neil!

I wouldn't rule out the idea that it was a joint publicity stunt alright.
    there is if he knew of the animosity between them and tried to play it to his advantage, i think nether party is innocent in this, (well maybe (if it is true) the poor girl who had to deal with the fallout of this without knowing what the hell was going on) and i think we'll be seeing a very public kiss and make up betwen the two soon :rolleyes:

i am a skeptic though! :D

A skeptic? Yet you believed that Neil and Keith's showbiz "friedship" was a real and genuine one....mmmmm.

i never believed that, that would be why i used the word "if". :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

beakerjoe wrote: »
    After reading the posts above, Ive no idea who Prenderville is and Im not a fan of Barry too much

But Temaz, Im more convinced you're working for either :

(a) working for / actually Mr Prenderville. You've defended him in such a ridiculously one sided manner, that the more you post the more I believe Barrys side of this arguement.

or

(b) An obsessed "leave Britney alone" type fan of Mr Prenderville

Too harsh Joe, he/she's a pharmacist in Bishopstown who stocked up on Nurofen when Prendeville moved to Red FM and needs to ship them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Yeah, but it's one of the smallest capital cities in Europe and pretty much an insignificant world city as it's something like number 480 in a list of the world's largest cities. Dublin is just a culchie outpost on the western fringes of Europe. I had relatives over from London a few years ago for my brothers wedding and the exact word they used to describe Dublin was "rural". :)

JOHHHHHHHHNNNNN DUFFFFFFYYYYYY!

Typical Cork, chip on the shoulder stuff there.

Birneybau wrote: »
    JOHHHHHHHHNNNNN DUFFFFFFYYYYYY!

Typical Cork, chip on the shoulder stuff there.

I'm a well balanced individual. I have a chip on both shoulders. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jaysus you must be great craic at parties.

Oh god, I thought we'd gotten rid of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

I personally can't imagine a performer of the statue of Mr Barry behaving in this manner.

I too suspect a PR stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

That is the single most cringe-inducing piece of radio I have ever heard in my long life.

Jesus wept... he sounds like a ten year old whinging about getting a wedgie from the school bully at breaktime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

My reaction to the while thing is best summed up by one word : 'meh'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Red Nissan wrote: »
    I personally can't imagine a performer of the statue of Mr Barry behaving in this manner.

I too suspect a PR stunt.

Is that like a mime or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm a well balanced individual. I have a chip on both shoulders. :D

That makes Cork around number 2,000 in the list of the worlds largest cities!
    I especially like telling Dubliners to their faces that it's a small city. They look at you like you've just farted.

Us dubs accept what our glorious capital city is and is'nt.

Other than the amount of culchie TDs we have making laws up here we're happy with this wee city of ours as is.

Unlike the occupants of certain towns down south :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

I especially like telling Dubliners to their faces that it's a small city. They look at you like you've just farted.

It's not really. Bern, the capital of Switzerland has a population of 127,000. Zurich: 380,000. Vienna: 1.9 million so only slightly bigger than Dublin.
    Dublin also feels like a city, it just does, it's not even all about population.

And BTW, I doubt anyone is disputing that provincial radio stations also exist in Dublin. Any station that exists solely for the Dublin hinterland is a provincial station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I think anyone who feels the need to say Cork is better then Dublin or vice versa (or substitute any other city or town) is a little bit on the sad side and needs to get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭podmu80

Many a thread has gone down the Dublin/Cork/size/population route. When I started reading this one, I couldn't see how it would be possible for it to go this route. Alas, I was wrong:-) It will never end!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Balmed Out wrote: »
    I think anyone who feels the need to say Cork is better then Dublin or vice versa (or substitute any other city or town) is a little bit on the sad side and needs to get a life.

if you have to say then you probably don't believe it be true :)

Bambi wrote: »
    Us dubs accept what our glorious capital city is and is'nt.

Other than the amount of culchie TDs we have making laws up here we're happy with this wee city of ours as is.

Unlike the occupants of certain towns down south :)

I just realized that recently. The only Dub I can think of off the top of my head is Leo Varadkar. But to be honest, if it were the other way around with mainly Dubs in Leinster house, this country would be an absolute mess. Must be the only country in the EU though where you have complete clowns like Luke "Ming" Flanagan and Mick Wallace seemingly going out of their way to be contrary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,368 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Town. Cork is a town.

Balmed Out wrote: »

Hawaii is defo better than Cork :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Getting back on topic but what is the big problem with the same guest appearing on rival shows?.From memory,I have heard the same guests on,I think,Today FM and 2fm on the same day,in the past.

I have also seen guests appear on BBC breakfast and ITV on the same day.

It was probably a fcuk up from RedFM because they should have insisted that he appear on their show only on that day.If they did not make that clause,I can see why Barry was mad.But all was not lost as he was on 96fm.