Magician Keith Barry demands to be put on Cork's REDFM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

Am, yeah, that's grand. Any proof for your claims?

What claims? Are you accusing me of making the whole thing up? Are the people on the www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com who are discussing it making it up as well?

What a bizarre thing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Temaz wrote: »
    He does. I don't know why you are harping on about it being "small time" and "provinical"

Because that's exactly what any station that leads with nonsense tabloid, fluff story like that on their news bulletins is.

"Our, breaking headline news today - a nobody DJ and David Blaine wannabe are having a bit of a spat. Elsewhere, something about Ukraine and Russia.....I dunno..... did we tell you about our DJ? He said someone gave a false name, we'll have more at 11."

Because that's exactly what any station that leads with nonsense tabloid, fluff story like that on their news bulletins is.

I'd agree it should not have led the headlines but your choice of words like provincal is interesting. Where abouts are you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

have we esablished that keith said "i'm gonna tell all my celebrity friends and destroy you on twitter"? Coz if he did he's gas...

"Our, breaking headline news today - a nobody DJ and David Blaine wannabe are having a bit of a spat."

He's hardly a nobody with his listening figures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

What claims? Are you accusing me of making the whole thing up? Are the people on the www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com who are discussing it making it up as well?

What a bizarre thing to say.

I don't think people are suggesting you made it up, or that something didn't happen.

What people are rightly questioning is your belief that a one-sided publicity grabbing news item (on the station itself!) tells the whole story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

What's the OP's connection to RedFM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

I clicked on the link and now know two things.

Neil Prendeville has a new show on RED FM.
    Keith Barry has a run of shows at the Olympia.

Stunt.

have we esablished that keith said "i'm gonna tell all my celebrity friends and destroy you on twitter"? Coz if he did he's gas...
    Barry went on to say that he was texting his friends in showbiz to warn them off appearing on Neil Prendville's show and that he'd never "met such unprofessionalism" in his career.

http://entertainment.ie/celebrity-gossip/Keith-Barry-rants-on-Facebook-after-RedFM-cancels-appearance-at-last-minute/252762.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

snaphook wrote: »
    I clicked on the link and now know two things.

Neil Prendeville has a new show on RED FM.
    Keith Barry has a run of shows at the Olympia.

Stunt.

Not sure about that. This would turn me off going to Keith Barry.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    What's the OP's connection to RedFM?

As I stated earlier I have no connection. I tune out once Neil's show is over as redfm plays crap music.

zetalambda wrote: »
    Not sure about that. This would turn me off going to Keith Barry.

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I'd agree it should not have led the headlines but your choice of words like provincal is interesting. Where abouts are you from?

Our nation's glorious capital city of course.

Not sure why you're taking issue with the word provincial, it's an entirely accurate description.

Our nation's glorious capital city of course.

Not sure why you're taking issue with the word provincial, it's an entirely accurate description.

http://www.instructables.com/community/test/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Not how Barry tells the story

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/books-arts/magician-keith-barry-slates-irish-radio-station-which-cancelled-his-appearance-lastminute-30178718.html

I'm more inclined to believe the guy who wasn't caught "self completing" on an aer lingus flight a while back

Of course Keith Barry wasn't caught! He's a magician!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Sleephead

Saw this posted somewhere else.

This

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Lets remember that Mr. Self Love also had a bit of a racist rant last year. The guy is only popular in Cork and doesn't hold a candle to real radio hosts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Looking at both versions of the story, neither are mutually exclusive. RedFM could easily have treated Keith Barry abominably. He could easily have lost the head in those circumstances - and hasn't denied doing so in the Indo article linked.

Smacks of two big egos butting up against each other, with the added catalyst of tiredness and a long drive for Barry.

Jester252 wrote: »
    Lets remember that Mr. Self Love also had a bit of a racist rant last year. The guy is only popular in Cork and doesn't hold a candle to real radio hosts.

Tubbs would beat him in a fair fight any day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

This whole story is a nonsense. Nobody cares about either of those useless idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭SoapMcTavish

The witnesses were all the staff members who were in the reception area at the time.

The "snakes on a plane joke" was not very funny either.

Yes it was .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

geeky wrote: »
    Looking at both versions of the story, neither are mutually exclusive. RedFM could easily have treated Keith Barry abominably. He could easily have lost the head in those circumstances - and hasn't denied doing so in the Indo article linked.

Smacks of two big egos butting up against each other, with the added catalyst of tiredness and a long drive for Barry.

This. He may have decided to kill two birds with one stone whilst in Cork too.

Tubbs would beat him in a fair fight any day of the week.

Nobody in Cork listens to the that West Brit ponce. :D Himself and John Duffy only appeal to a Dublin audience and would flop as presenters on any other Irish or UK station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Nobody in Cork listens to the that West Brit ponce. :D Himself and John Duffy only appeal to a Dublin audience and would flop as presenters on any other Irish or UK station.

Lucky for them that Dublin has probably more than a quarter of the country's population...

He may have decided to kill two birds with one stone whilst in Cork too.

Of course he did. The same way most professionals would have.

Red FM and Neil were just kicking-themselves that they didn't do the simple, professional, common-sense thing and say (weeks earlier when discussing it), "Heh, Keith, are you planning on doing any other media work while you're in Cork?"

Becasue they didn't, they felt embarresed (although I don't see why they wouldn't have just gone ahead). They then acted far more unprofessionally by cancelling Barry's gig at a few minutes notice.

Barry doesn't seem to have covered himself in glory either.

If you remove the "celeb/media" rubbish from this story, it is akin to me inviting a business client or supplier to Cork for a meeting. I then find out he's stopped in Fermoy on the way here to talk with my competitor, so I lock the doors of my office and send him packing.

RIDICULOUS STUFF.

John Duffy is the future of Irish radio!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

A "magician" versus a DJ, its like that ultimate warrior series except they're pitting the biggest bell end professions against each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

He blows all other presenters on local radio out of the water. The only shows with a higher listener ship would the national broadcasters on RTE radio, the likes of John Duffy, etc.
    JOHHHNNNN DUFFFFFYYYY!

Birneybau wrote: »
    Lucky for them that Dublin has probably more than a quarter of the country's population...

Yeah, but it's one of the smallest capital cities in Europe and pretty much an insignificant world city as it's something like number 480 in a list of the world's largest cities. Dublin is just a culchie outpost on the western fringes of Europe. I had relatives over from London a few years ago for my brothers wedding and the exact word they used to describe Dublin was "rural". :)

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

As I stated earlier I have no connection. I tune out once Neil's show is over as redfm plays crap music.

Do you have any connection with anyone on this radio show / the presenter? You seem to be investing an inordinate amount of time on this for a casual observer.