Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 Mod Warning Post #6378

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

"I think that's the best we've played all season," said the No.8. "For the first 30-35 minutes, I thought we blew the so-called best team in the league away. And it could have been three or four.

"I don't think 2-0 is ever enough against the top sides in this league. But it's all about getting the job done, no matter how you do it, and thankfully we got it done in the end.

"I'm enjoying it, it's great to play with so many top players. The journey I've had all the way through the years, there have been ups and downs. At the moment, I'm loving every minute of it.

"I feel 21 again, playing with all these top players. It's probably going to be the biggest month of my career coming up now. I'll give it everything I've got".

http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/latest-news/161142-sg-i-ll-give-this-month-all-i-ve-got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

rarnes1 wrote: »
    What a fcuking great morning.

The weather is cracking too.

Yep even the bus journey was somewhat tolerable.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Yep even the bus journey was somewhat tolerable.

Bus w*nker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

This team has me looking forward to Monday mornings now.

This season is dominating my life.

I have an internal job interview tomorrow for a promotion and I need to prepare for it and I also need to some work for a course I am doing but all I can bloody do is watch repeats of games, read articles and look at you tube interviews and I have done no prep work at all

Most of my waking thoughts are visions of Stevie G, who showed what a captain he was in that end of match huddle yesterday, lifting that Premiership trophy next month.

Feels so real it just has to happen now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Wow yesterday was amazing in that first half they were doing what they did to Arsenal, Everton and Tottenham but the quality of the opposition was so much better. Impressive stuff.

Two goals we gave away were awful just comical defending I wouldn't mind but the warning signs were there, the first goal was a carbon copy of the goal they just had disallowed. At 2-2 I thought to myself this cant be how it ends not like this.

I have hammered Coutinho all season for taking shots instead of playing the ball, what a peach of a strike he didn't think twice about it.

We rode our luck but I felt we were good value for the win in the end.
    Game of the season that was absolutely lived up to the hype.

The nerves got to Henderson in the end and he made a silly mistake, hes certainly not that type of player so I feel very bad for him. He will be a big loss, time for Allen to step up.

Sterling...what can I say, a superstar in the making. Reminds me of Robben just absolutely devastating on his dad. If he can work on his finishing he could be the best wide forward in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,622 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I was worried that Hendo being out would be a bit of a downer, but then I remembered that we have Lucas sitting there waiting to be used :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Vicxas wrote: »
    I was worried that Hendo being out would be a bit of a downer, but then I remembered that we have Lucas sitting there waiting to be used :)

I have faith Allen can fill the void too. Hope sturridge is out too long, he loves a game against Chelsea

murpho999 wrote: »
    This team has me looking forward to Monday mornings now.

This season is dominating my life.

I have an internal job interview tomorrow for a promotion and I need to prepare for it and I also need to some work for a course I am doing but all I can bloody do is watch repeats of games, read articles and look at you tube interviews but I have done nothing at all

Most of my waking thoughts are visions of Stevie G, who showed what a captain he was in that end of match huddle yesterday, lifting that Premiership trophy next month.

Feels so real it just has to happen now.

Stevie G would say "Murpho999 get ready for the interview- go and get that f*cking job".

steven-gerrard-xbox-one.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Bus w*nker!

Where's a mod when you need one.

I am blaming Viktor "I'll Score 20 goals this season" Moses for Henderson's sending off.

His woeful touch under no pressure led to loss of possession that forced Henderson into that tackle.

rob316 wrote: »
    Wow yesterday was amazing in that first half they were doing what they did to Arsenal, Everton and Tottenham but the quality of the opposition was so much better. Impressive stuff.

Two goals we gave away were awful just comical defending I wouldn't mind but the warning signs were there, the first goal was a carbon copy of the goal they just had disallowed. At 2-2 I thought to myself this cant be how it ends not like this.

I have hammered Coutinho all season for taking shots instead of playing the ball, what a peach of a strike he didn't think twice about it.

We rode our luck but I felt we were good value for the win in the end.
    Game of the season that was absolutely lived up to the hype.

The nerves got to Henderson in the end and he made a silly mistake, hes certainly not that type of player so I feel very bad for him. He will be a big loss, time for Allen to step up.

Sterling...what can I say, a superstar in the making. Reminds me of Robben just absolutely devastating on his dad. If he can work on his finishing he could be the best wide forward in the world.

The finish was unreal. I cant find a gif of the other angle of this goal i.e. facing the goal. They showed it on MOTD last night and it really shows the quality of the strike. With a bit more confidence he can bang in a good few more goals for us.

This will have to do.

Coutinho-1-1.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

I am blaming Viktor "I'll Score 20 goals this season" Moses for Henderson's sending off.

His woeful touch under no pressure led to loss of possession that forced Henderson into that tackle.

Moses to get the winner against NUFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Knex. wrote: »
    Who would have thought, that with four games to go, Liverpool are the only team with their destiny in their own hands?

We don't need other teams to slip up. Look after ourselves, we look after the title. Simple as that.

I can't wrap my head around it. Unprecedented for me. Unprecedented and completely unexpected.

Now think back to where we were two years ago at this stage

8 Liverpool 33 12 10 11 40 36 +4 46

and last season

7 Liverpool 33 13 11 9 59 40 +19 50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Henderson's touch was every bit as bad, both of them had the touch of a rapist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

there once was a forum called boards
    with reds fans assembled in hoards
    they loved bitching and moaning
    and meltdown monday groaning
    until the rodgers gave them their rewards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

I really didnt think he would hit it. I couldnt believe it was him when it went in. Im of the opinion that Coutinho shouldnt be allowed shoot... its like Lucas. When the ball is rolling out to Lucas i say to myself "not Lucas...dont hit it", i have started to do the same with Coutinho. I just expect the ball to dribble past the post.

He really had a wonderful game and a spectacular finish, hes my MOTM all day.

kfallon wrote: »
    Henderson's touch was every bit as bad, both of them had the touch of a rapist!

Not my point. If Moses had just kept calm and held onto the ball then Henderson would not have been in that situation.

Giving away easy possession is always criminal in my book.

Johnson did it yesterday. Late free kick we had and instead of playing a simple ball to keep possession and run down the clock, he tried to play a fancy pass to put Suarez through that City intercepted and launched a counter attack.

We got away with it but we should not do stuff like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Colemania

Sickened for him that he'll miss the next 3 games but luckily as you say we have Lucas waiting in the wings and I'd have no problems with Allen being thrown in also. Could we see a slight change in formation/tactics now due to Henderson missing? Perhaps Lucas sitting alongside Gerrard with Coutinho operating a free attacking role or will he just stick Coutinho left wing in place of Sturridge (assuming he's injured) and play Allen and Lucas in midfield with Gerrard?

I personally don't think Coutinho is suited to left wing, and yes I know he scored yesterday coming in from the left :pac:

If we were really stuck (but it'll never happen and rightly so as he hasn't been involved in the run in) we could bring back Ibe to play on the wing but I don't think Sturridge will be out for long, at least I hope so!

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Where's a mod when you need one.

Probably banned the way things have been going!

Not my point. If Moses had just kept calm and held onto the ball then Henderson would not have been in that situation.

Giving away easy possession is always criminal in my book.

Eh Henderson gave away easy possession too :confused: If Henderson had a decent second touch he would not have put himself in the situation either. Plus he made it worse by giving away a free kick which enabled City to load our penalty area rather than just staying on his feet and harrying Nasri

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

And if Henderson had kept calm and not let the ball run away from him AND not go studs up shin high with an over the top tackle then yeah, he wouldnt have been in that situation either. :rolleyes:

Think we were lucky sturridge went off yesterday when he did, i imagine if it was him the ball fell to instead of coutinho that he'd take it down and try to get it onto his left foot. Peach of a strike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

kfallon wrote: »
    Eh Henderson gave away easy possession too :confused: If Henderson had a decent second touch he would not have put himself in the situation either. Plus he made it worse by giving away a free kick which enabled City to load our penalty area rather than just staying on his feet and harrying Nasri

Henderson was after busting his balls for 90 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Another remarkable feat was Gerrards ability to avoid a yellow over the last 4 games, considering he had accrued so many over the previous weeks. To think many were actually hoping Rodgers would instruct a tactical yellow at one point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Fizman wrote: »
    Another remarkable feat was Gerrards ability to avoid a yellow over the last 4 games. To think many were actually hoping Rodgers would instruct a tactical yellow at one point!

If Gerrard had picked up a yellow yesterday, we'd be goosed with Henderson and Sturridge missing too.

Serious discipline from Stevie G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

Anyone got a link to motd2 highlights, it might ease my hangover a small bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

explaining the permutations of how the table might look if Chelsea beat us reminds me of this:

bottom line: SOCCER!!!

djPSB wrote: »
    Henderson was after busting his balls for 90 mins.

Still doesn't excuse his second touch. It's like everyone wants to berate Moses for the poor touch cos we don't like him or rate him but it's ok for Henderson to do the same. It has to be a level playing field, both were very heavy touches that conceded possession that could have been costly.

Anyway the most disgraceful passage of play near the end was from Skrtel, what he was doing putting his hand in the air is beyond me! Imagine if Clattenburg had been well placed to see it, was as bad as Glenn Hysen at Old Trafford in 1991!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

IK09 wrote: »
    I really didnt think he would hit it. I couldnt believe it was him when it went in. Im of the opinion that Coutinho shouldnt be allowed shoot... its like Lucas. When the ball is rolling out to Lucas i say to myself "not Lucas...dont hit it", i have started to do the same with Coutinho. I just expect the ball to dribble past the post.

He really had a wonderful game and a spectacular finish, hes my MOTM all day.
    He had a brilliant first half. He constantly harassed the city players with the ball and never left them settle.

Its rare enough to see a player as good on the ball to be just as committed off the ball.

I still have concerns about Skrtel, especially out on the wings. He was skinned twice yesterday leading to dangerous attacks on goal. He can't seem to hold back and let the forward make the mistake while delaying the attack to allow support to come back to help the rest of the defenders.

It seems hard to criticize any of the team after that performance.

One thing i noticed yesterday was the CBs now moving out to the wings after their man has the ball and Gerrard stepping in to cover at center half or one of the fullbacks also. They seemed reluctant to do so earlier in the season. Its nice to see the change over of covering players happen so smoothly too.

This team is evolving and its a pleasure watching it happen before our eyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Fúckin hell lads, shows how far Henderson has come that posters are looking to blame Moses for him taking a shít touch and then putting in a poor tackle. He's human, he made a mistake, tried to make up for it and in his eagerness, made a very rash challenge. He can only look at himself for that one. Not Moses. Not anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

Felt like a child watching that game yesterday. Jumped for joy in my room scaring the **** out of herself when Sterling scored(I opted to stay in as we've won every game this season when I've watched it at home, the last time in the pub we lost to Arsenal in the cup so **** that). On the way back down I fell backwards on my chair to the sound of laughter, not one **** given! Giddy as **** 2 nil up and when they started to come back in to it when Silva turned it on I felt like it was 2nd class again and my ma was taking my communion money again to "keep safe". Sadness, fear & anxiety crept in...... but they starting to stand off us again after 2-2 for some reason. I thought it was going to be more heartbreak as a LFC fan and then that magic from Coutinho, ****ing brilliant and I was up in the air again. This time the chair stayed stationary. **** you ma, my communion money is being spent on a Mega Drive & we'll hear no more about it.

4 more games to greatness although I really feel City will drop points against Everton anyway. Haven't felt as good as a LFC fan since 2005.