Ryanair....we're nice now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

Do you mean Beauvais?

Its 1/2 an hour from CdG to Gare du Nord by train.
    Its 1 hours plus 15 minutes on a metro to Paris city centre from Beauvais.

+45 minutes > +€570

In my eyes anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Fair play for Davis Cameron the UK prime minister taking his family to the canaries at Easter with RYANAIR. If its good enough for him (rather than fly first class on B. Airways somewhere ) its good enough for the rest of us.

I could not see Ryanair ever being good enough for our Taoiseach or Presidents to fly with though on 4 hour journeys. Anyone ever meet Bertie or Brian or Mary in the queue with their sambos for a nice long 4 hour Ryanair flight, no first class section , no in flight movies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

On the routes I fly the prices are same/similar. Aer Lingus has more comfy seats and in general their airports are better located when time is an issue.

I've flown Ryanair before and will again but Aer Lingus is a far superior carrier.

I've flown both all over Europe and if anything Ryanair have more comfortable planes and far, far, far less delays.

I avoid Aer Lingus whenever possible because I've had more delays with Aer Lingus than I have with all the other airlines I've flown with in Europe combined.
    Aer Lingus are more expensive, have a similar level of service, similar legroom, older planes and have more delays. Anyone who chooses Aer Lingus over Ryanair is deluded.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ryanair have changed their tune because it was costing them. If it no longer costs them to be ignorant aggressive and treat their customers like shyte then normal service will resume.

I never had a problem with Ryan Air staff because I always made sure to follow their rules, which I agreed to when booking my flight, it's not rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I often hear that Aer Lingus is pretty much the same price, but any time I've checked they're way more expensive.
    I just did a random check, both fly to the same airport in Barcelona. For this day next month, coming back the next day, Aer Lingus works out at €130.38, Ryanair works out at €59.98.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Ryanair have changed their tune because it was costing them.

And yet there is no evidence of that whatsoever.

Seaneh wrote: »
    I never had a problem with Ryan Air staff because I always made sure to follow their rules, which I agreed to when booking my flight, it's not rocket science.

Over the last five years I have flown with them literally a couple of dozen times. Never had a moment's problem. Not one. Simple rules. Fantastic price. And I always found the flight staff great. People will whinge about anything.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Until people start reporting that they have actually become nicer I'll treat this as yet another completely meaningless PR attempt.

Short haul flight is like getting a bus. Imagine someone telling you they're going from Dublin to Portlaoise by bus, but they're willing to pay €40 extra for a certain bus company because they get an extra inch legroom and the driver says "thank you" when he checks your ticket?
    Madness. Cheapest wins for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭daRobot

The only reason that they're attempting an image makeover, is due to Stelios and the Easyjet operation taking a lot of business from them.

There comes a time and point where another company will capitalise on the weakness of another's operation. And in this case it's the poor customer service, and general level of derision shown to their paying customers, and now they've realised they need to change, and fast.

Mr.S wrote: »
    This. I don't understand why people expect top quality service when they are paying piss cheap flights.

Ryanair can get me to London for €40 return in the regular sales, i expect my seat and thats about it, I don't care/want/expect them to do anything more!

Never had a problem with Ryanair tbh, if you stick to their (clear) rules, your grand.

People forget so fast and turn to abuse. Before Ryanair we were paying >£200 punts on OLD MONEY just to get to London ! and you had to stay two nights there if I recall correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I live in the UK (midlands) and fly back and forth nearly once a month with Ryanair - Throughout the year, the average cost of my flights one way is 20euro. I then get to Dublin airport and get on a Bus Eireann bus and they charge me 22euro single to my home town.. bah!

The first flight I took with the allocated seating actually delayed our take-off.. but the last few flights were grand. Better than everybody running across the tarmac to get on the plane first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Piliger wrote: »

LOL

Seaneh wrote: »

I've never had a problem either because I followed their mad rules and put up with their idiotic destinations. I regret every euro I gave them; their treatment of their staff was a national embarrassment.

People forget so fast and turn to abuse. Before Ryanair we were paying >£200 punts on OLD MONEY just to get to London ! and you had to stay two nights there if I recall correctly.

People don't owe Ryanair the time of day. They're a profit making operation who were paid for their service. They can f*ck right off expecting gratitude.

I've never had a problem either because I followed their mad rules and put up with their idiotic destinations. I regret every euro I gave them; their treatment of their staff was a national embarrassment.

Hold on. You "put up with their idiotic destinations"? You're the one who chose to fly there. Just because you choose to fly to an airport miles away from where you want to go, its Ryanairs fault?

Cienciano wrote: »
    Hold on. You "put up with their idiotic destinations"? You're the one who chose to fly there. Just because you choose to fly to an airport miles away from where you want to go, its Ryanairs fault?

Why do you think I said put up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭grimm2005

I often hear that Aer Lingus is pretty much the same price, but any time I've checked they're way more expensive.
    I just did a random check, both fly to the same airport in Barcelona. For this day next month, coming back the next day, Aer Lingus works out at €130.38, Ryanair works out at €59.98.

I completely agree, I'm going to Barcelona at the end of the month and it cost me €60 return on Ryanair versus €140 that Aer Lingus were offering. Sure there are occasions where you can get a cheaper or close in price flight on Aer Lingus but it's very rare in my experience. I'll mix and match if I can get a more convenient departure time for my return flight for example but only if the price is similar.

Have flown about 90% of my flights in the last couple of years with Ryanair and pretty much never had a problem. Today was my first Aer Lingus flight this year (just return leg, outbound with Ryanair, same airport) because it was a slightly later flight and only €10 more expensive. Had to queue about half an hour for check in (no kiosks and wasn't going to check in online on the last night of my trip), then my flight was delayed 40mins.

It's just way less hassle on Ryanair. Yes, their cabins are tacky and seats slightly less comfortable but I could have spent that €10 for an exit row seat on Ryanair (€15 per flight on Aer Lingus btw) and had a much more comfortable flight (being 6ft6' doesn't make for comfortable flights!) and avoided those annoyances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Ryanair's emergence as a low cost carrier certainly helped the downward direction of fares but most of the credit/fault for the previously higher fares falls at the feet of the government. Someone may correct me on the details but essentially the EU was gradually opened up to all carriers and most of the protectionist laws helping national carriers do whatever they wanted were abolished.

People don't owe Ryanair the time of day. They're a profit making operation who were paid for their service. They can f*ck right off expecting gratitude.

Well I am very grateful to them. They enabled me to fly to many many places I would never ever have been able to fly over the years, and continue to this day. They do it efficiently and safely and CHEAPLY. It has enriched my life and my friends lives.

Clearlier wrote: »
    Ryanair's emergence as a low cost carrier certainly helped the downward direction of fares but most of the credit/fault for the previously higher fares falls at the feet of the government. Someone may correct me on the details but essentially the EU was gradually opened up to all carriers and most of the protectionist laws helping national carriers do whatever they wanted were abolished.

They didn't make a move in that direction until low price airlines like Freddy Laker and Ryanair pressured them. But I think we can share out the kudos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭peewee_44

I really don't know what people's problem with Ryanair is. They are a no frills airline. Follow the rules and you should have a good flight.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Also, other than Paris, Frankfurt, Munich, Brussels and Scandinavia, they pretty much do fly into the main airports or one that's equally as close (Rome for example).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

peewee_44 wrote: »
    I really don't know what people's problem with Ryanair is. They are a no frills airline. Follow the rules and you should have a good flight.

I flew with them a lot but two occasions put me off , One where our flight was cancelled from Manchester, had to spend the night sleeping on the floor of manchester airport ground staff refused to talk just gave us a telephone number that no-one answered.
    The second where a rather rude member of ground staff put me through the put your bag into the sizing cage - I was at the back of the queue and some ahead of me were being charged quite a lot after failing ( by not much).
    There was a look of disappointment in the ground staff when I got through but found the whole "trial" process quite disturbing.

So now if the differential is less than 40-50 euro I will pay the extra not to fly Ryanair.

I think they have done us a great service, I remember paying hundreds of pounds in the 80's to fly to London. But now they are not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Am doing this trip next month. As someone said earlier, theyre getting me to Barcelona for the same price as a return taxi to the airport, or double the price of the bus to the airport. Not even a crap distant airport in Barcelona either, the main one closest to the city. Instead of hatred I actually have a deep deep love for them :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Am doing this trip next month. As someone said earlier, theyre getting me to Barcelona for the same price as a return taxi to the airport, or double the price of the bus to the airport. Not even a crap distant airport in Barcelona either, the main one closest to the city. Instead of hatred I actually have a deep deep love for them :)

I only flew home from El Prat the other day. It's so much easier (and cheaper) than Girona or Reus.

Just saw the new ryanair website, it's so much less offensive looking!
    Much better

I've disliked the times I flew with them in the past. No extra charges but it was generally an unpleasant experience. For the flights i've taken in the last couple years either ryanair didn't go there or they were the same price as AL so I choose AL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

I only flew home from El Prat the other day

Is that what they call Michael O'Leary in Spain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭thisonetaken

I booked a return ticket for 2 adults from Dublin to Nice for the grand total of 180 euro with Ryanair. They are unbelievable. The same flight with Aer Lingus was going to be more than double that. Its so incredible in this day and age to have a fantastic service for such a low price. I can't believe O'Leary is listening to a tiny minority of idiots who expect to pay such prices and yet receive a 5 star service including lie flat bed, champagne on take off, endless amounts of backage so they can take the kitchen sink with them, free newspaper etc. These people deserve to be laughed at and mocked. If Ryanair start rising prices because of changes caused by these idiots then I will no longer fly with them, I'll choose whatever other low cost airliner flies from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭markpb

Ryanair have changed their tune because it was costing them. If it no longer costs them to be ignorant aggressive and treat their customers like shyte then normal service will resume.
    LOL

What evidence is there that it was costing them? Actual evidence, not pointless online whinging. In 2013, their operating revenue was 13%, net profit was up 2%, earnings per share were up 16%, passengers up 5% and they became the largest carrier in Europe at 8m per month. They returned €2bn to their shareholders and grew their fleet a little more. The only major safety related incident that they experienced (the pan pan incident at Madrid) was quashed by an IAA investigation.

I'd say they're doing okay.