Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 Mod Warning Post #6378

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

This is magnificent leadership and had me jumping and fist pumping like a mad man. I could and might watch it all night on repeat. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Dumb question I imagine somebody will have the answer for off top of head - Stevie's yellow card hasn't come yet obviously, but is there some kind of amnesty if he does get it at this stage? Seem to recall people saying that at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Dumb question I imagine somebody will have the answer for off top of head - Stevie's yellow card hasn't come yet obviously, but is there some kind of amnesty if he does get it at this stage? Seem to recall people saying that at the time.

Today was the last game he had to avoid one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

He needs fifteen bookings now before a ban, very disciplined performance the last four games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Doc ‏@ManhattanDoc 1m
    It's practically the same ****ing squad as last year, but with an absolute hunger for goals right from the off. A ridiculous desire.

Doc ‏@ManhattanDoc 1m
    Can one man instill that inside two seasons? I suppose it must be possible, because I really have no other explanation for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Killinator

That was a serious game today lads, well in!

It goes without saying that I hope we beat ye and city for the league,

BUT if we have to lose out then I'd want it to be yourselves for your turnaround from last season, that and I could not begrudge Stevie G a league winners medal.

We'll just settle for a UCL trophy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,998 ✭✭✭garra

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Forget about the Chelsea game for now, seriously. Norwich. That's the sole focus.

So I'm in the team? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

This is magnificent leadership and had me jumping and fist pumping like a mad man. I could and might watch it all night on repeat. :)

2 game ban for cursing in front of a camera please :D

I have accepted that Liverpool are going to win the league, pretty remarkable it happens the season after Fergie retires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Sat through the last 10 mins of that game watching through my fingers....unbearable. My 8yo daughter beside me "Daddy why aren't ye watching...it's ok Dad, WE are winning, WE are GOING to win"

Says something when the coolest, calmest, most sensible head in the house today was an 8 yo.....

4 to go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

so, i'm sitting here with the Masters in the background, emotionally drained, so i thought i'd throw up a few thoughts on today...

i watched the game in Sinnotts, Dublin. a great place to watch a match actually, always packed for the big games. i've learned over the years that you need to get there well in time to get a good vantage point, so met my mate at 1215; at which point, we both find out the place only opens at 1230. anyway, the doors open then, and 50/60 football fans funnel in at once. mental. if you were an onlooker not knowing there was a football match on, i assume you'd have thought we're all just desperate for an early pint, so you'd have thought the stereotype of Irish "loving a bit of drink" was being proven unequivocally true, en masse.

anyway, the hour before the game was torture. enough said.

the minute's silence before the game was awe-inspiring. i've never seen a pub quiet like that. nobody said a word. floor staff stopped. punters stopped. barmen didn't pour pints. they didn't open tills. absolutely incredible, and one of the most poignant things i've experienced watching sport on a stool. it just added to the whole day.

what a game of football. just brilliant. City were caught on the hop, thinking they could stroll through the first half. have they not watched us this season? all guns blazing from the start, that's kind of all we know. Suarez was wound up something fierce. Sterling was insanely good, even from the very start.

the goal was genius. Suarez strong, showing vision, then Sterling. my Christ, what composure. a superstar is being born in front of us.

after the goal, it was more of the same. wide open space in the centre, where Sterling was taking full advantage. he seems unable to dispossess these days. too strong, but can also turn on a sixpence with the ball stuck to his foot. awesome. he was even popping up on the wing, putting in a cross that Sturridge should've buried. why Danny smiled, i don't know. i wanted to punch him.

i'd have loved Gerrard to score that header. Skrtel getting one will do.

before the second half, i thought Aguero would be brought on. i was thankful he wasn't, as i thought that meant that Pellegrini was quite happy. i thought if we just stepped it back up at the start of the half, we might regain momentum, maybe even get a third if we played at a high enough tempo. my mate said to me, "it will all depend how we start the half, as to whether we throw this away or not". we started slowly, and too deep. and it cost us. Milner coming on was a good move, though why he didn't start i've no idea. Silva was just mesmerising for the entire second half. we could not get near the man, and that's not even talking about the goal and assist. he's just magical, and only Sterling came near him in terms of performance. the two absolute standouts on the day for me, with Coutinho in the next tier.

City's first goal was brilliant. not much could be done, although i was worried about how deep we were. the second was just comedic, as we just weren't getting at all close enough by that point. i thought we were done at 2-2. i thought a loss was inevitable. i would almost have been happy with a draw.

the 3rd goal took the whole pub by surprise. the 2 City fans in the place were still gloating, with their fingers over their lips, when Kompany made a bollocks of what should've been a routine clearance, and Coutinho proved he can actually shoot.

the entire place lost their shít.

i've never been in a pub atmosphere like it, 2005 included.

the last 15 minutes were utterly unbearable. Kim Jong Un should take note; a very effective form of torture all things considered. we showed some amount of balls to get through it. i feel sorry for Henderson. it wasn't malicious, he was just desperate not to let the team down, and after he mis-controlled, he just wanted to redeem himself and lost his senses. he'll be missed, and Lucas now has a huge role to play in the run-in. no better man as he showed against West Ham.

i couldn't believe it when the final whistle had gone. i let out a ridiculous roar. my throat is still in bits from it. people were jumping, hugging, kissing, dancing, spilling pints, singing.

then Stevie. good God Almighty Stevie. I'm not sure I've ever seen a sportsman want something more than he wants this trophy. he believes. he has done since at least the Fulham game. he's intent on dragging us there. yes, the huddle can be seen as slight cringey by some. i don't agree. i think that sort of shít is important. re-focus. don't expend too much energy thinking anything's achieved, because nothing's been won. the role Stevie has taken on the last couple of years as the true leader of the team is astounding to see. those men, i think, will walk through fire for him right now. Rodgers may be setting us out well tactically, but Gerrard is dragging us along emotionally. what a man and captain. the interview with Shreeves was just the icing on the cake.

just a couple of things on a couple of other players...

i thought Sakho was great. some people seem to get worried about him on the ball, but i think he just looks awkward. he's actually a good footballer.

Skrtel had one of his dominant days.

Coutinho was tenacious, and again, that strike. brilliant. he's had a super second half of the season.

Sterling has the world at his feet. Silva had one of his best days, and Sterling was as good. says something.

Suarez was very lucky to be on the field for the 90. still box-office though, and made the first goal with a moment of genius. still irreplaceable.

Sturridge hasn't been right for a couple of games. should've had a couple, and the Danny of a few weeks ago would have. we'll still miss him if the injury is bad.

anyway, i'm absolutely wrecked. what a day. as I said in here this morning, today we really were back in the big time, and even with all the emotions we all went through today - many of which not at all healthy to be experiencing on a regular basis - i think you'll all agree we wouldn't swap it for anything.

4 more finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Don't know if anyone mentioned it but Neville is obsessed with the way Suarez acts lately. He pulls him on every little thing.

Just an unbelievable day overall, from You'll Never Walk Alone, the Hillsborough Tribute and the game itself. Words cannot describe it.

BlINAW7CEAANDCg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

RasTa wrote: »
    pretty remarkable it happens the season after Fergie retires.

This is more irrelevant and off topic than dancing panda gifs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,361 ✭✭✭mosstin

niallo27 wrote: »
    Don't know if anyone mentioned it but Neville is obsessed with the way Suarez acts lately. He pulls him on every little thing.

Frankly my dear, I don't give a ****.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,868 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Sat through the last 10 mins of that game watching through my fingers....unbearable. My 8yo daughter beside me "Daddy why aren't ye watching...it's ok Dad, WE are winning, WE are GOING to win"

Says something when the coolest, calmest, most sensible head in the house today was an 8 yo.....

4 to go...

I did about 1000 laps of the couch and in/out of the kitchen loads as well today. The missus was on the couch and I jumped on top of her and hurt her a little bit when we scored the second. It's ok though, she forgave me as she has caught my LFC bug (little choice really).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Friend of mine was trying to drag me to Sinnots for the game as I haven't been since we lost to Arsenal in the Cup. Almost went and all, but that atmosphere sounds incredible, Slick.

My mate was raving about it afterwards. Songs being sung, and the works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

5starpool wrote: »
    I did about 1000 laps of the couch and in/out of the kitchen loads as well today. The missus was on the couch and I jumped on top of her and hurt her a little bit when we scored the second. It's ok though, she forgave me as she has caught my LFC bug (little choice really).

My Mrs has been barred from watching since the Chelsea defeat lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Ah, its not really. There's no denying that Fergie is part of Liverpool's history, of sorts. He came in, he set his target, and he achieved it and more.

Liverpool and United will always be intertwined in some way, such is the nature, history, and success of the two clubs.

You can't help but find it someway interesting that Liverpool could pull this off, right in the immediate aftermath of Fergie's retirement. The same fella who "knocked us off our ****ing perch".

Well, Fergie, we'll be having that perch back now. Enjoy your retirement, fella. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

niallo27 wrote: »

He is the embodiment of all the neutrals on here. Suarez should have gone today but I am glad he didn't, and all the faux outrage on the match thread was delicious. But hopefully today was his brain fart for the season.

djPSB wrote: »
    Just an unbelievable day overall, from You'll Never Walk Alone, the Hillsborough Tribute and the game itself. Words cannot describe it.

BlINAW7CEAANDCg.jpg

Were you there? Incredible atmosphere I'd say most of the day.

I'm heading to the Chelsea game (as I may have mentioned a few times ;)) and it should be amazing there as well if we can beat Norwich next Sunday.

Pity I couldn't get a ticket for the Newcastle game as it'll be one of the most massive days ever if we win it, but I'll make do here I guess.

Passion.

BlG-obtCcAApQYt.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

How so?

5starpool wrote: »
    Were you there? Incredible atmosphere I'd say most of the day.

I'm heading to the Chelsea game (as I may have mentioned a few times ;)) and it should be amazing there as well if we can beat Norwich next Sunday.

Pity I couldn't get a ticket for the Newcastle game as it'll be one of the most massive days ever if we win it, but I'll make do here I guess.

Unfortunately I wasn't, haven't been since the Arsenal game.

I hope to head over for the Newcastle game without a ticket if things go to plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

SlickRic wrote: »
    so, i'm sitting here with the Masters in the background, emotionally drained, so i thought i'd throw up a few thoughts on today...

i watched the game in Sinnotts, Dublin. a great place to watch a match actually, always packed for the big games. i've learned over the years that you need to get there well in time to get a good vantage point, so met my mate at 1215; at which point, we both find out the place only opens at 1230. anyway, the doors open then, and 50/60 football fans funnel in at once. mental. if you were an onlooker not knowing there was a football match on, i assume you'd have thought we're all just desperate for an early pint, so you'd have thought the stereotype of Irish "loving a bit of drink" was being proven unequivocally true, en masse.

anyway, the hour before the game was torture. enough said.

the minute's silence before the game was awe-inspiring. i've never seen a pub quiet like that. nobody said a word. floor staff stopped. punters stopped. barmen didn't pour pints. they didn't open tills. absolutely incredible, and one of the most poignant things i've experienced watching sport on a stool. it just added to the whole day.

what a game of football. just brilliant. City were caught on the hop, thinking they could stroll through the first half. have they not watched us this season? all guns blazing from the start, that's kind of all we know. Suarez was wound up something fierce. Sterling was insanely good, even from the very start.

the goal was genius. Suarez strong, showing vision, then Sterling. my Christ, what composure. a superstar is being born in front of us.

after the goal, it was more of the same. wide open space in the centre, where Sterling was taking full advantage. he seems unable to dispossess these days. too strong, but can also turn on a sixpence with the ball stuck to his foot. awesome. he was even popping up on the wing, putting in a cross that Sturridge should've buried. why Danny smiled, i don't know. i wanted to punch him.

i'd have loved Gerrard to score that header. Skrtel getting one will do.

before the second half, i thought Aguero would be brought on. i was thankful he wasn't, as i thought that meant that Pellegrini was quite happy. i thought if we just stepped it back up at the start of the half, we might regain momentum, maybe even get a third if we played at a high enough tempo. my mate said to me, "it will all depend how we start the half, as to whether we throw this away or not". we started slowly, and too deep. and it cost us. Milner coming on was a good move, though why he didn't start i've no idea. Silva was just mesmerising for the entire second half. we could not get near the man, and that's not even talking about the goal and assist. he's just magical, and only Sterling came near him in terms of performance. the two absolute standouts on the day for me, with Coutinho in the next tier.

City's first goal was brilliant. not much could be done, although i was worried about how deep we were. the second was just comedic, as we just weren't getting at all close enough by that point. i thought we were done at 2-2. i thought a loss was inevitable. i would almost have been happy with a draw.

the 3rd goal took the whole pub by surprise. the 2 City fans in the place were still gloating, with their fingers over their lips, when Kompany made a bollocks of what should've been a routine clearance, and Coutinho proved he can actually shoot.

the entire place lost their shít.

i've never been in a pub atmosphere like it, 2005 included.

the last 15 minutes were utterly unbearable. Kim Jong Un should take note; a very effective form of torture all things considered. we showed some amount of balls to get through it. i feel sorry for Henderson. it wasn't malicious, he was just desperate not to let the team down, and after he missed control, he just wanted to redeem himself and lost his senses. he'll be missed, and Lucas now has a huge role to play in the run-in. no better man as he showed against West Ham.

i couldn't believe it when the final whistle had gone. i let out a ridiculous roar. my throat is still in bits from it. people were jumping, hugging, kissing, dancing, spilling pints, singing.

then Stevie. good God Almighty Stevie. I'm not sure I've ever seen a sportsman want something more than he wants this trophy. he believes. he has done since at least the Fulham game. he's intent on dragging us there. yes, the huddle can be seen as slight cringey by some. i don't agree. i think that sort of shít is important. re-focus. don't expend too much energy thinking anything's achieved, because nothing's been won. the role Stevie has taken on the last couple of years as the true leader of the team is astounding to see. those men, i think, we walk through fire for him right now. Rodgers may be setting us out well tactically, but Gerrard is dragging us along emotionally. what a man and captain. the interview with Shreeves was just the icing on the cake.

just a couple of things on a couple of other players...

i thought Sakho was great. some people seem to get worried about him on the ball, but i think he just looks awkward. he's actually a good footballer.

Skrtel had one of his dominant days.

Coutinho was tenacious, and again, that strike. brilliant. he's had a super second half of the season.

Sterling has the world at his feet. Silva had one of his best days, and Sterling was as good. says something.

Suarez was very lucky to be on the field for the 90. still box-office though, and made the first goal with a moment of genius. still irreplaceable.

Sturridge hasn't been right for a couple of games. should've had a couple, and the Danny of a few weeks ago would have. we'll still miss him if the injury is bad.

anyway, i'm absolutely wrecked. what a day. as I said in here this morning, today we really were back in the big time, and even with all the emotions we all went through today - many of which not at all healthy to be experiencing on a regular basis - i think you'll all agree we wouldn't swap it for anything.

4 more finals.

Very good post Slick

But I get a feeling we will see some of it quoted in a thread bashing barstoolers in the not to distant future particularly for the 2 highlighted comments :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Chelsea game means sfa at the moment tbh. All that matters is Norwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Only caught the last ten mins & watched that through my fingers ( i know im a big wuss :o ).
    The emotion from Gerrard at the end spoke a thousand words.I honestly didn't see us winning today but this team just keeps climbing over every obstical in front of them.
    It's almost in touching distance :)

@Slick great post

The amazing thing about this season I think is that we were top on Christmas day after 18 games on goal difference (from a team who has collapsed) and since then have only dropped 10 points in 16 games yet are still only a draw away from losing it all. It looks like 3 teams will get 84+ points which is just amazing really. It certainly won't be the top points total of all time by a long way, but the average of the top 3 might be I reckon.

10 wins in a row

30 points from 30

41 points from the last 45

WWDWDWWWWWWWWWW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Just looking at the form guide, 10 league wins in a row for liverpool, that's unbelievable form. Squeaky bum time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Oh Pellegrini class act btw. Stood at the tunnel and shook every Liverpool players hand as they left the pitch today. Some guys just have it.