How much can you drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

your username would suggest that you wouldn't be the worlds highest authority on the subject of drinkin,but trust me 15-20 pints spread out over a whole day is not that much

On an all day event I could definitely do double figures, id suffer for it though and its something id rarely do these days, possibly only on a stag weekend or something like that. 5 or 6 pints would be more my average.

When I was younger getting towards double figures was most nights out, I am getting old though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Used to drink rakes of vodka - not a drop now; it's horrific stuff, like nail varnish remover! Used to be able to drink loads of Bulmers, I just think it's pukey stuff now - I'd have the very odd bottle of Swedish berry cider only. Used to be able to hoover back white wine - cannot drink white wine full stop now; I can drink a bottle of good-quality red or sparkly wine though.

I could mix drinks not a bother. Mixing drinks now is a no-no. Mild stuff like one stout in the middle of a bunch of beers isn't too bad, but I'll still feel a little bit off-colour next day.

I've a fairly average tolerance for beer & wine. Not much for spirits.

Vodka is a different matter though. The few times I tried it, I could lash it down with very little effect. No hangover either.

Some Polish lads moved in near me a couple of years ago. We got chatting & it turned into a Vodka session at their place. After a few hours they were all bollixed.

They must have thought I was a right alco.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

The few times where I drank loads and loads of spirits/wine etc, I haven't remembered what I drank due to blacking out (scary).

When I usually go out, maybe 5 pints of beer and a spirit/soft drink towards the end is what I have. I physically can't hold more than 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭bigroad

I used to drink always double numbers on a night out once i even hit 20 plus pints in my best days.But i have to say i am older and wiser now 8 to 12 cans will do me now . would prefer to spend my cash on something else then give it to a pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Due to being on medication, I'm only allowed a total of 4 beers on order of the doctor but before that, I used to put away 8 or 9 pints in an evening with no ill effects. Granted, I tend to drink mostly craft beers with alcohol percentages upwards of 5% so I get the occassional hangover.
    The last time I was properly trashed was after 13 pints in The George. Stumbled into a taxi at midnight and I was grand until about three hours later when I ended up throwing up into my aunt's sick. She was not amused. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

McChubbin wrote: »
    Stumbled into a taxi at midnight and I was grand until about three hours later when I ended up throwing up into my aunt's sick. She was not amused. :P

She's a bit OCD about not letting different people's vomit mix?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

I did my best to find out last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I did my best to find out last night.

Aaaaaaand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

your username would suggest that you wouldn't be the worlds highest authority on the subject of drinkin,but trust me 15-20 pints spread out over a whole day is not that much

It's interesting that you associate my name with a condition resulting from the abuse of alcohol. That just confirms what your posts are proclaiming. "An authority on the subject of drinking" sums up the bullshyte attitude common in this country. Drinking simply requires the bending of an elbow and the opening of a gob. Big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

Pints - 4/5 and I'm more full than drunk.
    Wine - Not sure, still only discovering it. Most I've had was 1.5 bottles, not all that productive the next day.
    Vodka - Record is 12 with Red Bull, and 6 Baby Guinness, and I remember everything, and I wasn't hungover.
    Shots - Don't do them. Learned the hard way they don't agree with me. With the exception of course of the aforementioned Baby Guinness. God I love Baby Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

a few years ago a certain well-known drinker in the parish had a bet with the barman in the local town about the amount he could drink in a day,the barman said any thing over thirty pints and the drinks would be free.the drinker won-rumour has it he drank 35 to 40 pints-and these would be pints of guinness,.and every year he would give up the drink for lent.I suppose more normal drinkers could handle maybe 15 pints in a day.in my younger days I would be well drunk after 8 or 9.but that would be from around 9pm to1.30am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Can't drink beer I'm allergic to it, after maybe two bottles I'd be sick
    Cider, used to be able to drink it but 3 pints and I'm done.
    A quiet night in, 2 or 3 bottles of wine.
    A good night out, I'd buy a shoulder of vodka to pre drink, and would alternate between west coast cooler and white wine as my mixer. I think I drink vodka mostly when I go out but I'm never sober enough on a night out to remember for sure. Meh .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Legend tells of a man from swords called ninety mccallion, drank 34 pints in one day in the pound beside the castle.

Shot lightning bolts from his arse and stood seven foot tall

Called ninety cos the size of his willy I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

6 or 7 pints over about 4 hours is what I usually have. 7 will see me moving the wrong side of tipsy.

The problem is that the hangovers just get worse and worse these days, so I try to keep the nights sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

It's mad how so many people think that the amount you drink is in direct correlation to the caliber of man you are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

Having built up quite the tolerance over the years, I could put away 2-3 bottles of vodka in a day. Then the same again the next day, and then the next.

I stopped doing that a good while ago though. I decided I actually preferred the little things in life - things like not being dead, having friends, family who would actually talk to me, things like that.

Having built up quite the tolerance over the years, I could put away 2-3 bottles of vodka in a day. Then the same again the next day, and then the next.

I stopped doing that a good while ago though. I decided I actually preferred the little things in life - things like not being dead, having friends, family who would actually talk to me, things like that.

How long did u keep that up for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Whatever my wallet can handle.

I'd say I could drink 20 pints in one day, vodka would knock me though

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    How long did u keep that up for?

I drank like that every day for a year and a half. I'm not proud of it but it's all in the past now. I don't recommend it!

That's crazy, fair play to you for turning it around. Will you ever drink again?

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    That's crazy, fair play to you for turning it around. Will you ever drink again?

I don't plan to. Nor do I want or need to - all the things that I used to drink for are now things I can do and enjoy better without drinking. So I'm perfectly happy to not drink. :)

Keep it up. Good luck with everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

its called pacing yourself

By drinking 15 pints in three hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I have found the art to handling a drinking session without any over-drunkeness or ill-effects the day after is by eating beforehand. Whenever I went on stag weekends or an all-day session before, while I would hold my own for a large chunk of the session, I would always be the first faller because I flat out refused to eat anything substantial before or after. Now, I could easily have 8-10 pints of a night out whilst staying relatively sober all because my stomach would be well-lined. I've found myself enjoying my nights out more and socialising more too because I don't have that feeling of excess gas swirling around in the belly, or the subconscious telling me that I'm drunker than I think I am, or indeed that sensation of trying to hold back the hiccups.

Whoever coined the phrase "eating is cheating" was a real A-hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I stop drinking when I start to feel drunk. I really hate puking, so not being drunk the best way to prevent it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Did you not get side effects from it ?

Jumboman wrote: »
    Did you not get side effects from it ?

If you mean long term medical effects or physical damage - no. How I managed to get away with it, I don't know. Sheer luck that I didn't fall in front of a car or train, or something worse, and I've gotten the complete all clear from my GP in terms of no liver damage or kidney damage. Like I say, I have absolutely no idea how it wasn't a lot worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Used to drink rakes of vodka - not a drop now; it's horrific stuff, like nail varnish remover! Used to be able to drink loads of Bulmers, I just think it's pukey stuff now - I'd have the very odd bottle of Swedish berry cider only. Used to be able to hoover back white wine - cannot drink white wine full stop now; I can drink a bottle of good-quality red or sparkly wine though.

I could mix drinks not a bother. Mixing drinks now is a no-no. Mild stuff like one stout in the middle of a bunch of beers isn't too bad, but I'll still feel a little bit off-colour next day.

Kopparberg? I find it a refreshing change from Bulmers. If you like cider frisco is nice too. It's similar to Kopparberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

If you mean long term medical effects or physical damage - no. How I managed to get away with it, I don't know. Sheer luck that I didn't fall in front of a car or train, or something worse, and I've gotten the complete all clear from my GP in terms of no liver damage or kidney damage. Like I say, I have absolutely no idea how it wasn't a lot worse.

The liver is a resilient organ although you would have given it a very good road test. It is one of the few organs that given time can recover from abuse however without a break it will pack it in. Fair play on kicking the addiction.