The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

^ Lazy web development, it probably just runs on the same codebase as is used for the results for the UK races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

^ Lazy web development, it probably just runs on the same codebase as is used for the results for the UK races.
    Would be nice if an Irish company was running the race too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Spent the morning looking for the licencing cert for the car getting the NCT this afternoon. It obviously wasn't in the first place I looked, went through every drawer and press in the house, no sign of it after an hour of looking.

Wife calmly tells me to take a look in the household organiser we have under the bench seat, something I completely forgot we had. Went straight to C for Car, and there it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,332 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

This is kinda running related so not sure if I'm in the right place...;)

Did a 10k over the weekend and saw a fair few people wearing Dr.Dre Beats-style gigantic headphones...wtf is that about....I know some people literally can't run without music etc. but nearly laughed when I saw them tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Spent the morning looking for the licencing cert for the car getting the NCT this afternoon. It obviously wasn't in the first place I looked, went through every drawer and press in the house, no sign of it after an hour of looking.

Wife calmly tells me to take a look in the household organiser we have under the bench seat, something I completely forgot we had. Went straight to C for Car, and there it was.

Dare I suggest its because the wife is the household organiser;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Cartman78 wrote: »

Did a 10k over the weekend and saw a fair few people wearing Dr.Dre Beats-style gigantic headphones...wtf is that about....I know some people literally can't run without music etc. but nearly laughed when I saw them tbh.

old people giving out about young people's stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭nolinejudge

Eurosport. Sit down to watch the basque tour and get basketball and woman's tennis. I got only half a triathlon programme as well the other day. Very frustrating!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Cartman78 wrote: »

You stole my rant for the day. I hate those headphones full stop. Seen a couple if students wearing them today and wanted to hit them a slap. I'm sure they are functional but are worn as a piece of fashion as well. Jesus I really am getting old and grumpy :)

People raising money for a charity for something that ain't much effort. Just seen a guy on facebook who is walking Camino de Santiago with a mycharity.ie link. Its a holiday ffs.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Locked myself out of the house this morning, no car keys so need to bus to work.

Next bus shows as in 2 mins time on the app.

Of course I miss that.

Next one shows as 17 mins time.

Of courseI 2 mins later that disappears off the list and next one is now 37 mins.

What a **** day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

adrian522 wrote: »
    Locked myself out of the house this morning, no car keys so need to bus to work.

Next bus shows as in 2 mins time on the app.

Of course I miss that.

Next one shows as 17 mins time.

Of courseI 2 mins later that disappears off the list and next one is now 37 mins.

What a **** day.

They should get Stephen Hawking in to investigate the amount of those buses that just disappear into black holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

Yadi. (Yet another dog issue)

Finishing 7 mile run. In sight of home. Man with small girl is in an adjoining parking lot. A small dog darts out growling. I stop and turn to face dog.
    owner : "he won't bite"
    Me; "dog needs to be under control"
    I turn to go, dog darts towards me growling. I kick out at dog.
    Owner: "kick that dog and I'll kick your ass"
    Me: (complete frustration) "ok, go for it".
    Turn to face him.
    Owner: (surprised). "You serious?"
    I waited ... Patiently ... But as ever these big mouths never follow up.

Not even a token effort to control or call the dog.

I gave him 5 minutes to get moving before I called the cops (empty threat). He took my offer. Hope to hell he does not turn put to be a neighbour.

Spoiled an up to that great day?

Really why are these people allowed to breed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

pgmcpq wrote: »

Finishing 7 mile run. In sight of home. Man with small girl is in an adjoining parking lot. A small dog darts out growling. I stop and turn to face dog.
    Turn to face him.

I gave him 5 minutes to get moving before I called the cops (empty threat). He took my offer. Hope to hell he does not turn put to be a neighbour.

It's the owner I'd be kicking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Fellas on here bragging about buying cheap runners, then rubbing salt in the wound saying they done it while on holidays in the States. Bit of consideration please!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Clamper....cnut of the highest order.........(edit- I know d cunnt is just doin his job)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

When the rules of a race expressly say no headphones and people go ahead and wear them anyway. Saw a couple of offenders at todays bhaa race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Too much sport on tomorrow. London marathon, Liverpool losing the league and Paris Roubaix.

Trying to figure out where to squeeze in actual sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Too much sport on tomorrow. London marathon, Liverpool losing the league and Paris Roubaix.

Trying to figure out where to squeeze in actual sport.

Rotterdam marathon available on stream also.

Its days like this I enjoy my job (Multiple telly's/computer screens at my desk :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Mice belong in fields, not in houses :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Crappy rabbits in the London Marathon (including Haile), who effectively ruin the race by running the first 5k in 14:21 (2:01 marathon pace).

Brendan Foster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

pgmcpq wrote: »

Turn to face him.

@ contractor rennovating the house ajoining our new place (the one who managed to knock through _our_ living room wall a few months ago leading to ..... Contrator: "I've been doing this for 20 years" Me: "That's no guarantee you are competent". Things did not get much better after that ).... or worse yet he's looking to buy the place. Fantastic :mad:.

And Mrs P reaction : "maybe he won't recognize you". Thank you dear - my nose and funny glasses are ready :rolleyes:.

Man I cannot catch a break these days.

On a positive note he did have the dog on a leash this time.

Re dog incidents. Had a new once recently. Young one on one side of footpath. Extentable lead. Dog on other side off course. She txting, dog not texting. Had to come to complete stop. She sighs then when I say excuse me politely. ffs one of these days I am going to watch CSI and they are going to say yes it was death by a fixation and the extendable lead was the murder weapon :)

In the us recently. Asked them do you have muppets in the cinema txting constantly during the film. No they say. I say why. Cause we are all carrying guns !!!

If I ever meet the inventor of the extendable lead .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Ignorant student/people in general with no manners. Passed 37 bus stop on Chesterfield Ave, c. 30 students crowding the bus stop arsing about while an elderly lady perched herself on the wall behind the stop. I told the 3 girls sitting on the bench to cop on and get up to let the lady sit down - cue round of dirty looks.

Stuff like that makes my blood boil!

Youngish guy would not give up his seat on the train yesterday evening. He got dirty looks for people who wanted the seat. The scamp. Oh right that was me as me legs were shot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Hangovers on a Monday morning :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Finnt

Another cyclist rant!
    Why do they continually give out about motors not giving them room on the road, when some of them wouldn't give a runner on the edge of the road, an inch? I've had fully loaded artics hauling timber give me more room than some cyclists!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Finnt wrote: »
    Another cyclist rant!
    Why do they continually give out about motors not giving them room on the road, when some of them wouldn't give a runner on the edge of the road, an inch? I've had fully loaded artics hauling timber give me more room than some cyclists!

Get out of the cycle lane :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Finnt

Cabaal wrote: »
    Get out of the cycle lane :pac:

Ha ha! We've no cycle Lanes down here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Payback is a bitch. Shopping and a show.

All I want to do is sit in a corner and drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Gavlor wrote: »
    Payback is a bitch. Shopping and a show.

All I want to do is sit in a corner and drink

Shopping the day after a marathon??? Ah now that's just cruel:(
    at least you can have a snooze during the show ;)