Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    What an evening. Just back from the hospital. Little babs is staying overnight with mammy for tests in the morning. Nothing serious thank god but that's my weekend lie in dashed.
    been there done that. We are very lucky here that hospital is only 5 minutes away, make sure your oh gets a break , hope all is ok

Ye one of the young lads is related to her next door neighbour.
    She answered the private number which was the problem.
    Only has work experience once a week in the school
    it might be different as she is working in the school but when we went to school last year about online bullying against eldest lad they said that they could only police what happens in the school not what happens after hours, we where advised if we felt strongly enough to involve the guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭Charliebull

ellewood wrote: »
    Thats the god I pray to when I have a cow incalf more than 320 days

Never failed me yet
    Say one for me please
    You're like a dog with two mickies Charlie :-)
    Spare one always handy
    Base price wrote: »
    Might as well dream here on Boards :D
    Yea just woke up with Cameron there now, both of us going out feeding now,
    trixi2011 wrote: »
    Shes mad to find herself a Sligo man I hear
    Them eejits are nearly as useless galway men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

whelan2 wrote: »
    it might be different as she is working in the school but when we went to school last year about online bullying against eldest lad they said that they could only police what happens in the school not what happens after hours, we where advised if we felt strongly enough to involve the guards

The young lad that rang her is only about 14-15 I think and said he wanted to know what work she gave them over midterm and then asked her was she going out.
    She never answers provide numbers but she said she would to see if it was someone looking for her.
    That's the worst thing about living so close to the school your doing your placement.
    Everyone knows you

The young lad that rang her is only about 14-15 I think and said he wanted to know what work she gave them over midterm and then asked her was she going out.
    She never answers provide numbers but she said she would to see if it was someone looking for her.
    That's the worst thing about living so close to the school your doing your placement.
    Everyone knows you
    surely he could ask someone else in his class? I wouldnt stand for it tbh

whelan2 wrote: »
    surely he could ask someone else in his class? I wouldnt stand for it tbh

Well she has her Facebook profile on private so they can't see much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Just spotted the bull pissing blood now. Curse of fcuk down on top of him, only had him straightened out after a bad bout with coccidiosis. :(

Grazing away now as if nothing's wrong with him, should be ok, what do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Grazing away now as if nothing's wrong with him, should be ok, what do ye think?

What did ya give him?

I remember treacle used to be a dose for redwater!

What did ya give him?

I remember treacle used to be a dose for redwater!

15cc of imizol under the skin and a half a bucket of nuts. Vet was telling me to mix treacle with stout and a few nuts if he wouldn't eat but he ate the nuts away grand so I didn't bother. Didn't think he'd be up grazing this morning to be honest, has to be a good sign.

Did ya get a look underneath to see the colour of the drip?

No dripping and he wasn't making any pee for me. He's beside the house though so I'll keep a close eye on him for the day and I'll catch him at it. Doesn't seem to be any sickness in him anyway which is the main thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Reprocine for a cow to clean, is it under the skin or muscle? Just been left a note and the injection on the table.

Can't find online which it is.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Reprocine for a cow to clean, is it under the skin or muscle? Just been left a note and the injection on the table.

could ya ring the vet and ask?

You'd need to be sure. I've never used it so I'm no help to ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Does it make much of a difference if you go into muscle instead of under the skin ? Does the muscle absorb it quicker ?

As the song goes no use in asking as the answer is nobody knows

Off to DeHorn the last of the calves now.
    On my own again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Off to DeHorn the last of the calves now.
    On my own again

A good pair of shin guards!! Do you use the gas one or the old style plug in?
    Think I might go and get one of them gas ones they are suppost to be good.

moy83 wrote: »
    Does it make much of a difference if you go into muscle instead of under the skin ? Does the muscle absorb it quicker ?

My understanding of it is absorption rates and longevity of affect. But I'm not a Vet.

Reilig, sorry to see you go, particularly in the circumstances. Your contribution is way to great to lose as a poster and as a Mod.

Don't stay away too long;)

A good pair of shin guards!! Do you use the gas one or the old style plug in?
    Think I might go and get one of them gas ones they are suppost to be good.

Got a new portasol gas one last year for free.
    Traded in to mk2 ones that were broken.
    Lot better than the old ones.
    No crate which makes it worse.
    Used to be good practice when I played rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

God it's bitter out there again today!

fair enough. where do boards posters go for drinks ?

Usually the pub nearest the mart. Haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Nice use of the English language.;)

Ha. One must look over ones post the next time before I post. Texting over the years hasn't done me any favours!

Spent a half hour watching him there now, water is clear and he's passing dung ok. Should be out of danger now?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Just done replacing slats in shed. All singles out one by one down shed and out the door and the end.
    Gangs in and laid.

Old slats were in a bad state. Huge chunks missing from under and steel hanging out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

bbam wrote: »
    Just done replacing slats in shed. All singles out one by one down shed and out the door and the end.
    Gangs in and laid.

Old slats were in a bad state. Huge chunks missing from under and steel hanging out.

Will you make any use of the old ones for anything ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

moy83 wrote: »
    Will you make any use of the old ones for anything ?

Filling.
    Useless to spam anything and I'd have no use.
    Used them to fill up a space I wamt to make up in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

As far as I know, under the skin is quicking acting. Deep into the muscle, would give a slower, but longer acting release of the drug.

Says here it is into the muscle.
    http://www.noahcompendium.co.uk/V_AOk-toquinol_UK_Ltd/Reprocine_0_07_mg_ml_solution_for_injection_for_cattle_and_pigs/-40123.html

As far as I know, under the skin is quicking acting. Deep into the muscle, would give a slower, but longer acting release of the drug.

Says here it is into the muscle.
    http://www.noahcompendium.co.uk/V_AOk-toquinol_UK_Ltd/Reprocine_0_07_mg_ml_solution_for_injection_for_cattle_and_pigs/-40123.html

Yea it took me a while to find it but I was able to double check online then after confirming with my dad.

On another (slightly related) topic. Seen cows out that had been obviously Trodaxed recently. The stain at the back of the shoulder gave it away, but why does it seem to weep so much after injecting? Or it it just the trodax staining the hair.
    Incorrectly put under the skin?