President Higgins' State Visit to The UK

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

That green would be perfect for a game of soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Are we paying for the Louise Kennedy costume and the Phillip Treacy hat or does Ms President pay for that herself - or is that a stupid question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Lapin wrote: »
    That green would be perfect for a game of soccer.

You could play snooker on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

if norris had won the presidential election you could say our queen is meeting theirs!

i dont mean any offense by that

if norris had won the presidential election you could say our queen is meeting theirs!

No one could take offence. He said the same thing himself. :)

Poor Dobbo forgot to pack his comb !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

vicwatson wrote: »
    Are we paying for the Louise Kennedy costume and the Phillip Treacy hat or does Ms President pay for that herself - or is that a stupid question?

It's a scandal! Our money should not go to Irish designers and milliners - it should be saved and a few penneys thrown to Primark for a third-world sweatshop outfit for the wife of our Head of State.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

On a personal level it's sad to see Michael D having to accept this display of archaic nonsense and dare I say, silliness.
    Part of the job I suppose. I'm sure he is internally hating every moment of it, there will be better days Michael!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

ah sure michael d is not too far off that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭airuser

Have watched the coverage.

Was brought up and educated in the UK. Did I ever think I see the day when the Queen would Ireland and the President to the UK.

It is a great and proud day for those of Irish decent in the UK. The Irish have made a great contribution to the UK economy and armed forces.

There have been negative times. But, on the whole the Irish can hold their heads high and higher still today.

It is about time that the Irish were given this recognition.

Let us hope this comes to pass.

God Bless the Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

Nice to see the procession and people out lining the streets.
    The brits, a great bunch of lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭airuser

oak5548 wrote: »
    Nice to see the procession and people out lining the streets.
    The brits, a great bunch of lads :)

They do Prop well.

What is better to see the Tricolour flying on the streets of Windsor and the Irish National Anthem being played.

But the beer is still dreadful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,205 ✭✭✭robbiezero

philstar wrote: »
    the only ones making a big deal about this are the irish, the british don't seem to give a toss

I'd say 99% of the Irish don't give a toss either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭sunbeam

vicwatson wrote: »

At least she's wearing a proper hat. I got a bit worried when I saw her in that feathery fascinator yoke yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

Flicking through TV channels, sorry Michael D, British viewers are only interested in the Oscar Pistorius trial. Presidential visit doesn't rank.

The One o'clock News should really have gone indoors.

Between the clean up operation in the background and the worlds busiest flightpath above them, Eileen Dunne and Tommie O'Gorman will have to speak up a bit.

curioser wrote: »
    Flicking through TV channels, sorry Michael D, British viewers are only interested in the Oscar Pistorius trial. Presidential visit doesn't rank.

I'm watching it on BBC 1 now.

Couldn't hear RTÉ 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Jeez enda sounds like he just ran a marathon, he all out of breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Jeez enda sounds like he just ran a marathon, he all out of breath.

I just came here to post that very thing!
    He'd want to give up the fags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

curioser wrote: »
    Oops, trust the Beeb to make a liar of me. The visit actually featured in second place, before the other Sith Ifrican story . Sky stays live in Pretoria though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Icsics

Eamonn Gilmore's wife is very badly dressed compared to the Queens! Didn't Eamonn give her a job in charge of the ETBs (old VEC), bit of a hanger on, should have left her at home to do her job (no problem getting leave there)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I'm watching it on BBC 1 now.

Couldn't hear RTÉ 1.

Must be using the soundcrew from the IFTA's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Grisly Adams is on the radio bringing a downer on things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The One o'clock News should really have gone indoors.

Between the clean up operation in the background and the worlds busiest flightpath above them, Eileen Dunne and Tommie O'Gorman will have to speak up a bit.

I always thought it was a daft place to build a castle, right under the approach to Heathrow, what on earth was William the conqueror thinking!

Joe Duffy wants his joke back.:rolleyes: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Joe Duffy wants his joke back.:rolleyes: ;)

In fairness, it goes back a lot further than Joe Duffy.

In fairness I often thought about that myself though.

And why he built the Tower of London across such a busy road from the tube station when there is plenty of room on the same side. :confused:

In fairness, it goes back a lot further than Joe Duffy.

I like that thought...'a time before Joe Duffy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Imagine if that goon sean gallagher had won..and yiz were gonna vote for him too

Happyman42 wrote: »
    I like that thought...'a time before Joe Duffy'

I remember that time. Marion Finucane used to present Liveline.

It was a time when people used to phone the programme to air their views.

Not like now where it's the other way round.