Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

whelan2 wrote: »
    daughter is in 4th class they are gone to Bull island and war horse on school tour, they wont be back till 11.15pm:eek: thats very late for me never mind her

better get used to it you'll have a lot more nights in few years,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

daughter is in 4th class they are gone to Bull island and war horse on school tour, they wont be back till 11.15pm:eek: thats very late for me never mind her

Bring back Mosney!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Bring back Mosney!:P

That was sum spot!
    Sneaking out for a shift! Ha

That was sum spot!
    Sneaking out for a shift! Ha

Sure everyone knew the best place for that was the island with the pedal boats after a quick game of pedal bumper boats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Wow that's very late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

bbam wrote: »
    Wow that's very late.
    yup and cost 36 euro:eek: will be some fun getting her up for school tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭newholland mad

Was talking to a fella earlier that finishes small numbers of bullocks.

He was telling me that Goodman has contract rearears bringing on sucks for him. Huge numbers of sucks being talked about more than 10,000

I just couldn't see this being the case ?
    Surely it would be more widely known if a move like this was going on. It would be a very worrying move if it were.

Happening around here anyway. 3 farmers within 5 miles each with 3-500, all aa so thats the aa schemes finished in 2 yrs time. 1 guy used to keep for an exporter other reared for a bull finisher and the other lad is a finisher.money wasnt an problem when approached, whatever the farmer wanted he got.This practice deff is not right from a competion point of view and should be stoped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Surely were nearing a junction in the beef supply chain. Once we go down the route of these factory farms there is no place for regular suppliers and traditional methods. Out would spell out a poor future for beef farmers if the processors are allowed to manipulate supply like this.
    Do the factories run such factory farms in the UK to control the market ??

will it just go the way of pig farms.....with nearly all slurry exorted to likes of tillage farms??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Just heard Duncan on newstalk player. He fairly lost the plot all right . Came across like someone who is about to have a breakdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Quick Question. Do parlour Washings have to run to a tank??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

sea12 wrote: »
    Just heard Duncan on newstalk player. He fairly lost the plot all right . Came across like someone who is about to have a breakdown.
    Have you a link, what was he on about?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    if you go back a page on this thread theres a link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭huey1975

Thanks for the link. Maybe.............Just maybe he's the messiah.

Or a very naughty boy??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

blue5000 wrote: »

Part for of today's breakfast show on their podcasts about 7 minutes in. On phone so no link!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Thanks for the link. Maybe.............Just maybe he's the messiah.

Or Davis Icke's brother?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Does anyone know of a free app for an iPhone to use word & excel. Read & write

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Quick Question. Do parlour Washings have to run to a tank?? As regards regulations??

Bump :D

do you get bvd results if you havent registered the calves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

do you get bvd results if you havent registered the calves?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Quick Question. Do parlour Washings have to run to a tank?? As regards regulations??

Bump :D

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Jesus ye should listen to Newstalk breakfast. Duncan lost the plot in a big way a little while ago, it might be on their player later on. He's stepping down from EcoEye.

Just after listening to the full 18min. Wow what an interview. A very passionate, educated and articulate man. He raised some very valid points IMO. He was well entitled to lose the plot. Why be invited onto a programme to be patronised?

Some may think him a whacko, but my estimation of him has gone up tenfold.

Came back from town with a scour powder for a calf. Left it down in the shed and came up to the house to get a bottle to mix some up in. Went back down and another shagging calf had been out through the barrier and eaten half the bag and all the powder:eek::eek:

I don't even know what's in the powder, it's a mix up the vet does himself. Smells like bananas so I can see why the other calf ate it but I do know it had a meat 28days and milk 11 day withdraw period.

They wouldn't take it if you wanted them to :pac:

Better go back in and get more and ask vet if it's any more harm other than a sore h*ole for the calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Came back from town with a scour powder for a calf. Left it down in the shed and came up to the house to get a bottle to mix some up in. Went back down and another shagging calf had been out through the barrier and eaten half the bag and all the powder:eek::eek:

I don't even know what's in the powder, it's a mix up the vet does himself. Smells like bananas so I can see why the other calf ate it but I do know it had a meat 28days and milk 11 day withdraw period.

Better go back in and get more and ask vet if it's any more harm other than a sore h*ole for the calf.

Ha he'll be blocked for a month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Often heard that ag. students took lectade (or similar) as 'morning after' cure. Maybe your calf was out on the beer last night

Have a new packet of powder now at least. It really does smell like banana custard so I don't blame the poor calf. I do however, blame her for the chewed up syringe that I needed to dose with.

Antichrist of a thing.

Then spent ages wandering round the shed trying to find a cow with tag 131, found a complete tag at the barrier. I was thinking it was a strange number for us. Not a single cow in the place with it, so must have been baled into it last summer. Picked up a few needles that the calf must have knocked down too, stuck them in my pocket and now they are sitting next to the laptop after I sat on them. I think I'll just give up for the day.

Have a new packet of powder now at least. It really does smell like banana custard so I don't blame the poor calf. I do however, blame her for the chewed up syringe that I needed to dose with.

Antichrist of a thing.

Then spent ages wandering round the shed trying to find a cow with tag 131, found a complete tag at the barrier. I was thinking it was a strange number for us. Not a single cow in the place with it, so must have been baled into it last summer. Picked up a few needles that the calf must have knocked down too, stuck them in my pocket and now they are sitting next to the laptop after I sat on them. I think I'll just give up for the day.
    there used to be a scour powder that smelled of bananas began with b and turned like jelly when made up

I know that one, think it's mixed in with kaolin and a couple of other things for this powder. I remember making up batches of it in there on work experience yeeeeears ago. Supposed to be a tablespoon of this stuff mixed with water a couple of times a day. A packet of it has about a weeks worth of those doses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Muckit wrote: »
    Just after listening to the full 18min. Wow what an interview. A very passionate, educated and articulate man. He raised some very valid points IMO. He was well entitled to lose the plot. Why be invited onto a programme to be patronised?

Some may think him a whacko, but my estimation of him has gone up tenfold.

I like Duncan in small doses, I think he had two very good farming related episodes of EcoEye. I wouldn't particularly buy everything he sells but think he did have some decent points. There is a mass apathy (?) about climate change, I have been saying for some time alternatives to fossil fuels need to be seriously developed - currently there's no seriousness about it. It would both help the environment and reduce our dependence on some fairly lunatic players on the global scene sitting on huge reserves of oil and natural gas.

His outburst over the time seemed OTT to me, it was a bit like someone having a breakdown - I am not saying he was having one, but he lost the plot, or a primadonna. I don't think that will have done him too many favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Bactidiaryl? Think thats the one that smells like bananas anyways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

I feckin love that smell. :)