Another Shatter'ing disgrace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Daith wrote: »
    It's not an abuse of resources though. Having them wash his windows yeah. Bringing them on a diplomatic mission, no.

Maybe abuse was a bit much, needless wasting of resources may be more accurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"Yeah......... it's not like we needed those guards at home on St. Patricks day".............. said the German tourist spitting out his own teeth.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/german-couple-attacked-by-ten-youths-paddys-day-for-not-having-cigarette-lighter-30113710.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

bear1 wrote: »
    No, but local Mexican police would know the situation much better than the Gardai.
    Comparing Obama to Shatter is a bit of a stretch isn't it? They are in no way comparable.

Well yes actually. Both have had a bit of their appendage removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

mikom wrote: »
    "Yeah......... it's not like we needed those guards at home on St. Patricks day".............. said the German tourist spitting out his own teeth.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/german-couple-attacked-by-ten-youths-paddys-day-for-not-having-cigarette-lighter-30113710.html

Ah here, one of them would have been on leave and the other wasn't likely to be walking the beat. Two gardaí aren't going to have prevented all the stupid things happening in Dublin City on Paddy's Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Maybe he wanted to reward the Garda lads by taking them on holiday?

So, he's actually dead sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

They were probably there to shoot him if he said anything stupid when he was in Mexico.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Ah here, one of them would have been on leave and the other wasn't likely to be walking the beat. Two gardaí aren't going to have prevented all the stupid things happening in Dublin City on Paddy's Day.

The one on leave was the one paid overtime, right............ and we are closing Garda stations due to lack of funds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

As far as I know its been the situation for many years that a minister for justice has his/her home guarded by the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

Jesus, this Shatter witch-hunt is getting ridiculous. I'm no fan of the man myself but it has been practice for years for the Minister for Justice to be protected by Gardai and for good reason.

How is he taking a couple of armed Gardai with him to a troubled country like Mexico even up for discussion? I doubt any other country in the world would send a minister to Mexico without bodyguards.

Rabbo wrote: »
    Jesus, this Shatter witch-hunt is getting ridiculous. I'm no fan of the man myself but it has been practice for years for the Minister for Justice to be protected by Gardai and for good reason.

How is he taking a couple of armed Gardai with him to a troubled country like Mexico even up for discussion? I doubt any other country in the world would send a minister to Mexico without bodyguards.

Why didn't he just go with an ERU member, then?

Most government ministers are not usually accompanied by an armed garda on an overseas trip unless there is a reason for special protection measures.
    If armed officers are being provided, they are normally drawn from the force's Emergency Response Unit, who are trained in close-in protection.
    However, Mr Shatter is understood to have stated that he wanted his two regular drivers with him. Diplomatic channels were used to clear the way for the drivers to bring their guns with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 ShaggyQueen

Why didn't he just go with an ERU member, then?

Most government ministers are not usually accompanied by an armed garda on an overseas trip unless there is a reason for special protection measures.
    If armed officers are being provided, they are normally drawn from the force's Emergency Response Unit, who are trained in close-in protection.
    .indo_survey>.wrap{position:inherit; background:#FFFFFF; display:block;}However, Mr Shatter is understood to have stated that he wanted his two regular drivers with him. Diplomatic channels were used to clear the way for the drivers to bring their guns with them.

Why does that matter so much? Trying to drum up outrage over nothing imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

maringo wrote: »
    As far as I know its been the situation for many years that a minister for justice has his/her home guarded by the Gardai.

Not exactly much they can do tho is there?

Wasn't his gaff robbed some time back? What good was an 'unarmed' presence in that instance?

It's a token practice that should be done away with.

Why does that matter so much? Trying to drum up outrage over nothing imo

It's not nothing. It's one thing in a series of issues related to the minister. Granted it's minor compared to the other issues at hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭on the river

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Well he's a foreign politician for one and can be used as a ransom.

Are you kidding? We the Irish people wouldn't give you a fiver for Shatter. Not even a red fiver and its our decision because its our money. And furthermore, eh... oh yeah I see your point

D1stant wrote: »
    Are you kidding? We the Irish people wouldn't give you a fiver for Shatter. Not even a red fiver and its our decision because its our money. And furthermore, eh... oh yeah I see your point

[IMG][/img]http://www.deargrumpycat.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Grumpy-Cat1.jpg

D1stant wrote: »

Whatever about the funny AH responses, if he were to be kidnapped it wouldn't look good for international relations. The government and Gardaí would come under fire for not doing enough to protect our TDs while abroad, or not adequately assessing the risk.

This is not to say that it would have happened had he no bodyguards but it would have been one huge story if it had. Either way, he shouldn't have been breaking the protocol for his usual drivers instead of those who were actually trained for this kind of duty, i.e. the ERU.

seriously why would any country kidnapp irish ministers. They hold no influence in international politics.

It would be great if some country took shatter off are hands. I think the irish taxpaper would gladly pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,008 ✭✭✭✭kippy

+1. Those cartels can easily kill a town load of people, what the hell could 2 Gardai do against them that the others can't?!
    What a disgrace.
    Should be banned from office and better yet the whole country.

Why the fudge would a drug cartel have any reason to kill a minister for justice of a foreign country - especially Ireland??

Thousands of people travel to mexico on a regular basis and don't get killed.

This is a complete waste of resources.

This man has to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭garp

Well he's a foreign politician for one and can be used as a ransom.

I LOL'ed.Yeah like that would happen.

--Give us 10 million dollars or you never see him again.

Fine. Keep him. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

His drivers would also be trained in close protection aswell, so it really doesn't make a difference if he brought his drivers or people from ERU
    Apart from the leave pay, which he probably wouldn't have known about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

No, but local Mexican police would know the situation much better than the Gardai.

You've not seen the movie Man on Fire have you?

kippy wrote: »
    Why the fudge would a drug cartel have any reason to kill a minister for justice of a foreign country - especially Ireland??

This man has to go.
    Attachment not found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

This man has to go.

That's what I meant with my post which was referring to a previous post :)
    EDIT: after re-reading mine I can see why it isn't that clear, I meant to say more or less what you've written above.
    syklops wrote: »
    You've not seen the movie Man on Fire have you?

Nope, good?

garp wrote: »
    I LOL'ed.Yeah like the would happen.

--Give us 10 million dollars or you never see him again.

Fine. Keep him. :D

You do know kidnappings are a problem in Mexico right? White foreigners are going to command a higher ransom and would be legitimate targets whether they're tourists or politicians.

You also selectively responded to just my first point and ignored how I said he was mostly under no threat in Mexico City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,008 ✭✭✭✭kippy

You do know kidnappings are a problem in Mexico right? White foreigners are going to command a higher ransom and would be legitimate targets whether they're tourists or politicians.

You also selectively responded to just my first point and ignored how I said he was mostly under no threat in Mexico City.

When was the last ransom paid for an Irish person kidnapped in Mexico and how much was it for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

irishman wastes money, shocker, very unprecedented, never happened before, taxpayers money.....

When was the last ransom paid for an Irish person kidnapped in Mexico and how much was it for?

A copy of Laura and A PORTAIT of Brian cowen arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭bigroad

What s the point of him going to Mexico .I would like to see the proof of the direct investment trade he has supposedly drummed up after costing the state thousands ,and that goes for the rest of the wasters in the government.He in particular might have lost us business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Nope, good?

Yep, one of my favourites. Its about a kidnapping in Mexico City and shows the local police in collusion with the kidnappers.