Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Nope not a bother on her. Milking away fine but she really does stink. I can smell her when she's in the collecting yard and I'm in the pit.
    I have some dipen here penicillin and streptomycin in it
    if shes not sick you could always get a metrocure it a tube u put in to cure infection it got no withold. I usually wouldn't treat smelly cows inless they have a temp or gone off there milk but when I do treat them I usually would just treat them with straight white penicillin at 30ml for 3 days.

Get the vet first thing tomorrow to do a wash out on her... Not too late if you do it tomorrow...least that's what my vet says..!
    Thought washing out cows was a thing of the past not the done thing over here anymore anyways vets wont do it anymore its either a metrocure or injectable drugs used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Thought washing out cows was a thing of the past not the done thing over here anymore anyways vets wont do it anymore its either a metrocure or injectable drugs used

Sorry I meant to say give her metricure like you said.... And a shot of lutalyse followed by another shot of lutalyse 10 days later.... That's what I do...
    No need to be sorry I know a lot of older vets working with beef cows in the west still do wash outs with warm water and iodine. you would expect the dairy vets would be up to speed tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

if shes not sick you could always get a metrocure it a tube u put in to cure infection it got no withold. I usually wouldn't treat smelly cows inless they have a temp or gone off there milk but when I do treat them I usually would just treat them with straight white penicillin at 30ml for 3 days.
    ye she's not sick at all. Milking out very well.
    Vet gave me dipen last week for a cow that had a a uterous infection and she came bulling when her course was finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

ye she's not sick at all. Milking out very well.
    Vet gave me dipen last week for a cow that had a a uterous infection and she came bulling when her course was finished

If you do your own AI then wash her out yourself, Length of hose, a turn dish, iodine, warm water and a long arm inside a gauntlet. Give a shot of penstrip or the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

dzer2 wrote: »
    If you do your own AI then wash her out yourself, Length of hose, a turn dish, iodine, warm water and a long arm inside a gauntlet. Give a shot of penstrip or the likes.

If she's calved two weeks cervix most likely closed up too much for tube.

Metricure will work fine if she's not sick she will be grand.

Ye I'm trained but been a long time since I served a cow.
    Lad I know does some mix with iodine and warm water and puts it into the cow with a stomach tube

I do all cows 5 days after calving

Really? Bit excessive no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

Using a HTC phone here and this last couple of days most posts show up with 2 lines of text on top of each other and impossible to read. The quotes are always ok. Can anyone help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

You want to get the uterus to contract, by washing them out with iodine water mix you are expanding it again that's y most vets don't wash out cows this way now. metrocure all the way .

Really? Bit excessive no?

Old habit was working and milking nothing worse than having that stuff splatter allover you before going to work ended up having at least 2 showers every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

herself went out for a few drinks with the girls earlier this eve got a call half hour ago to pick her up, well in the 4 years I with her I never seen her as twisted, finally I get payback tomorrow for all the days I had hangover from hell and she ddt help the situation, revenge be sweet in the morn :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Just back from the cinema. Left the babs with granny. Oh freedom was lovely for 3 hrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

case 956 wrote: »
    herself went out for a few drinks with the girls earlier this eve got a call half hour ago to pick her up, well in the 4 years I with her I never seen her as twisted, finally I get payback tomorrow for all the days I had hangover from hell and she ddt help the situation, revenge be sweet in the morn :D

Ya need to make a video. It can be used as a bartering tool when required :-)

Reggie. wrote: »
    Just back from the cinema. Left the babs with granny. Oh freedom was lovely for 3 hrs.

What did ya see?

have a hape of snapchats off her got and a video put on facebook, get her to shut up might be a problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I did that once , she didn't appreciate it :D

and a video put on facebook,

A step too far perhaps??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Anyone on here ever at the sommet show in France lads, if so what did ye make of it?

A step too far perhaps??

I could've been divorced if I put the video up on line .
    It was funny the following day though , just when the hangover was peaking I showed her the video of her puking out the door of the car and trying to give out to me for taking her home too early :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

moy83 wrote: »
    I could've been divorced if I put the video up on line .
    It was funny the following day though , just when the hangover was peaking I showed her the video of her puking out the door of the car and trying to give out to me for taking her home too early :D

She is an absolute legend. Like :D

A step too far perhaps??

O it is but I hope I not kilked in the morn but it is evidence of her saying she coming farming with me all say tomorrow :D tomorrow be fun have a hape of hardship lined up for her from dehorning to forking out calf shed :D

There was a time I'd be thinking much the same.
    But I think now with mature reflection, I'd leave her sleep it off, bring her a cure and take her handy tomorrow.

In the long run its the best strategy :^)

But I think now with mature reflection, I'd leave her sleep it off, bring her a cure and take her handy tomorrow.

Well u can be sure I won't be bringing her, leave her in bed for the day, between college and work tomorrow is her only day off and by hell she doesn't want to spend it farming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

What did ya see?

Capt America. The winter soldier, not too bad of a film but didn't really care as it was just to get mammy out for a while even tho there was tears as we left

There is a man speaking sense . When I was getting married two ould boys were telling me that the best way forward was to mostly give in to her without putting up a fight because the women usually win out in the end anyhow and they will be happier with you if you dont protest against things . I was only laughing at their advice but a few years in and I'm coming around to their way of thinking !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

moy83 wrote: »
    There is a man speaking sense . When I was getting married two ould boys were telling me that the best way forward was to mostly give in to her without putting up a fight because the women usually win out in the end anyhow and they will be happier with you if you dont protest against things . I was only laughing at their advice but a few years in and I'm coming around to their way of thinking !

Ah but you can't beat a good fight every once in a while:D