Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Reggie. wrote: »
    Is it just me or is the auld boards gone a little quiet these days

Yeah would agree, sher patqfarmer is keeping us all entertained over on twitter ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Sure, we are all the"kilt with the busy"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

This Twitter lark..........Is it worth joining?

I think it's alright and I would have thought it would have been s@&t, only following a few so far so only the beginning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,671 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I do have a twitter account only because my sons talked me into getting one. I seldom log onto it as I don't get the concept.
    Personally I prefer forums like this one :)
    Ye say what's on your mind, get responses from same minded people and you can discuss topics in a logical sequence.
    Maybe I should be put out to graze ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Definitely going to lamb the sheep in the shed next year. Abit of better planning and I could have done it this year. You reap what you so I spose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Base price wrote: »
    I do have a twitter account only because my sons talked me into getting one. I seldom log onto it as I don't get the concept.
    Ye say what's on your mind, get responses from same minded people and you can discuss topics in a logical sequence.
    even some of us young fellows struggle with the likes of twitter. I find it very hard to get my head around so I just don't bother :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

So the auld twitter is doing a bit of poaching eh!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Base price wrote: »

Im the same as that , cant really get to like Twitter and much prefer the way it works here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

moy83 wrote: »
    Im the same as that , cant really get to like Twitter and much prefer the way it works here

Same.
    Have twitter account and the whole thing is a mess from what I can see.
    Have Facebook account too and have grown away from it due to the shear volume of vommit that people post.

I like boards by the way it's segregated into topics. I know 99% that if I come here to F&F that I won't be bombarded with pictures if everyone's kids, couples posting about how they love each other or angels with prayer that I should share on to have peaceful thoughts for the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

bbam wrote: »
    Same.
    Have Facebook account too and have grown away from it due to the shear volume of vommit that people post.

I like boards by the way it's segregated into topics. I know 99% that if I come here to F&F that I won't be bombarded with pictures if everyone's kids, couples posting about how they love each other or angels with prayer that I should share on to have peaceful thoughts for the day.

Facebook is a no no here aswell

Seen that article on the news about the father and son in the quad accident.
    Doesn't sound like the join fella is going to make it.

Good message for those out there with quads to take care, use helmets and supervise their use by young people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Same.

you forgot the posts that if you dont share you will die

Seen that article on the news about the father and son in the quad accident.
    Doesn't sound like the join fella is going to make it.

Good message for those out there with quads to take care, use helmets and supervise their use by young people.
    Feared as much.
    Heard that that young lad died.
    That's a tough accident considering the father was on it with him. RIP.

More farmer bashing on the legal discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

The dog here must not have gotten out yesterday as he usually does because he made a mess in the back kitchen last night.
    Never ever does anything bad in the house and ye can see he's ashamed with himself.
    He won't even look at me this morning.
    Poor oul crater ha

The dog here must not have gotten out yesterday as he usually does because he made a mess in the back kitchen last night.
    Never ever does anything bad in the house and ye can see he's ashamed with himself.
    Poor oul crater ha

Did you clean it up ya did? Ha

simx wrote: »
    Did you clean it up ya did? Ha

****in may ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

whelan2 wrote: »

Contributed. Funny you should mention it. There was another thread with quite a bit of farmer bashing on it that I got in bother for contributing to. Yesterday we met a man at our STAP meeting who would be well acquainted with that particular situation and he never mentioned farmers once in relation to it. Good to see people out in the real world away from the internet have some cop on. When one is after a particular result, more flies are caught with honey than vinegar. Unfortunately some are blind and cannot see that.

Silly dog owners make me mad.

Was out for a walk last Sunday with the kids in a Coilte forest park.
    Came across a family with two dogs running free. One a husky type thing made a dash for my five year old and I had to shout at the owner to call it back. He was just standing watching it make a run for a small child.
    The other then ran over and started snapping the the heels if our eleven year old. I got close enough that my boot could be applied and he was sent on his merry way.

Owner came rushing over to me. But thought better about saying anything and gathered dogs up and out leads on them.

Fine if people want dogs. But they need to be kept under control. I got into an argument a few years ago in Balrath woods over same thing. Terrier running loose started jumping up on kids frightening them, so I lifted it with a kick and sent it back towards owner who wanted to call guards. Got very heated when I insisted she called guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

Feared as much.
    Heard that that young lad died.
    That's a tough accident considering the father was on it with him. RIP.

know of the family, & also the mum of the 11 year old up country

they say God takes the best, it certainly true here

RIP little ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cows bloused, and Ibr and Bvd shots given off to thomond park to roar on Munster .gwannnnn Munster!!!!!

Poor oul crater ha

I reckon it was you raiding the fridge last night and are only blaming the dog to cover yourself :D

Poor oul crater ha

I reckon it was you raiding the fridge last night and are only blaming the dog to cover yourself :D

Reggie. wrote: »

When I mean mess I mean he left a big scutery ****e on the floor ha

I'm still staying with my statement :p

Silly dog owners make me mad.

Was out for a walk last Sunday with the kids in a Coilte forest park.
    Came across a family with two dogs running free. One a husky type thing made a dash for my five year old and I had to shout at the owner to call it back. He was just standing watching it make a run for a small child.
    The other then ran over and started snapping the the heels if our eleven year old. I got close enough that my boot could be applied and he was sent on his merry way.

Owner came rushing over to me. But thought better about saying anything and gathered dogs up and out leads on them.

Fine if people want dogs. But they need to be kept under control. I got into an argument a few years ago in Balrath woods over same thing. Terrier running loose started jumping up on kids frightening them, so I lifted it with a kick and sent it back towards owner who wanted to call guards. Got very heated when I insisted she called guards.
    after daughter was attacked by dog she had an unreal fear of them for a while, it was only then i noticed how many dogs can go where they like, hate those totally anti farmer people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

after daughter was attacked by dog she had an unreal fear of them for a while, it was only then i noticed how many dogs can go where they like, hate those totally anti farmer people

The same people are generally anti everything they are not. Not worth sweating over them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Their story is full of holes.
    Dog slipped collar, yet a farmer 10 miles away, knows who owns the dog? Highly unlikely, unless either he had encountered that dog before, or a vet read the dogs chip and got owners name from database.
    If that was the case, it was quick work.
    No blame attaches to the owners father who did not secure the dog, apparently.

Will not get a PM done, because it is too expensive?

If the farmer has a lot of ewes slip their lambs, he will learn the meaning of "expensive"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Their story is full of holes.
    Dog slipped collar, yet a farmer 10 miles away, knows who owns the dog? Highly unlikely, unless either he had encountered that dog before, or a vet read the dogs chip and got owners name from database.
    If that was the case, it was quick woirk.
    No blame attaches to the owners father who did not secure the dog, apparently.

Will not get a PM done, because it is too expensive?

If the farmer has a lot of ewes slip their lambs, he will learn the meaning of "expensive"

I read the complete thread. I was gonna contribute, there's a lot of bull**** and misinformation in it so what's the point. The moderation in it too is harmless, it's goin off in silly arguements and off thread topics. What's the point. Any reasoned or valid point is lost among a stream of bull.
    I'm reminded of the phrase: never wrestle with a pig!