Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Knobend cyclists who cycle across pedestrian crossings coming out from behind parked cars. Way to go if you want to get knocked down.

The local law here states that if there is no cycle lane with the pedestrian crossing you have to dismount and push the bike across. Needless to say this is universally ignored.

And while I'm at it, well done to the knobend jogger who ran out in front of the car ahead of me this morning again on a pedestrian crossing while it was still more or less dark wearing black from head to toe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Do you mean Lizzy's Running Back from the Brennan's bread ad?

I'm not sure it's "Running Back" by Thin Lizzy crumb, sounds more like Luke Kelly?

I haven't quite mastered quoting yet but Pumpkinseeds I try to limit my scumbag interactions to one per day, and that courtesy usually gets used up on my bus buddy, so when I'm coming out of the shop and random scumbag says "Here Mister, a spare smoke?", while I'm cracking open a fresh 20, I'll just reply "Nope!", and go on about my business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I don't suppose you know where they got that track that plays in the background on their advert - "I'll take you back, back to the day, where we lived our lives for each other...", something like that?! :(

Not sure which that is, but it sounds like "Thank you for the Days", written by Ray Davies of The Kinks

Fcuk - Really, really showing my age

(To be fair, Kinks were a little before my time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

gramar wrote: »
    Knobend cyclists who cycle across pedestrian crossings coming out from behind parked cars.
    I am a cyclist and your post reminded me of something that I experience regularly.

Parents who walk out onto the main road from between parked cars with their child. If you want to be a douchebag and potentially get yourself killed or seriously injured, fine but don't bring your kid with you. You should be teaching your kid to cross at the "green man" but if there isn't one near you and you have to cross, the least you can do is to teach them to cross safely. If you must insist on crossing between cars, edge out slowly and look both ways.

The amount of times I am whizzing along and suddenly an adult and child appear on the road is unreal. I have never hit anyone but I do get intentionally close enough that they think they might be hit. My reasoning is that if the parent isn't going to teach the child, maybe the fright of "nearly" getting hit might teach the child a bit of sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Paddy Cow wrote: »

Parents who walk out onto the main road from between parked cars with their child. If you want to be a douchebag and potentially get yourself killed or seriously injured, fine but don't bring your kid with you. You should be teaching your kid to cross at the "green man" but if there isn't one near you and you have to cross, the least you can do is to teach them to cross safely. If you must insist on crossing between cars, edge out slowly and look both ways.

Ye might think I'm bonkers for this, but here goes.

I have two small kids and I'm trying to teach them road safety, and to wait until the roads are completely clear before crossing. So what "annoys" me is when we are waiting at the edge of the path and an approaching care stops and flashes lights etc to say 'Gwan and cross'.

But because I'm trying to teach my kids that cars WONT stop for them these lovely considerate drivers are making a liar out of me.

So I smile and say 'no thank you' and they wave again, and again I say 'no but thanks', and they drive off bemused.

And that takes longer for me to get the kids across the road because of the paralysis of kindness!

And my kids think that cars will stop for them instead of waiting.

So basically, considerate drivers "annoy" me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Ye might think I'm bonkers for this, but here goes.

I have two small kids and I'm trying to teach them road safety, and to wait until the roads are completely clear before crossing. So what "annoys" me is when we are waiting at the edge of the path and an approaching care stops and flashes lights etc to say 'Gwan and cross'.

But because I'm trying to teach my kids that cars WONT stop for them these lovely considerate drivers are making a liar out of me.

So I smile and say 'no thank you' and they wave again, and again I say 'no but thanks', and they drive off bemused.

And that takes longer for me to get the kids across the road because of the paralysis of kindness!

And my kids think that cars will stop for them instead of waiting.

So basically, considerate drivers "annoy" me.
    No I don't and you are not the first parent who has said this to me. Like you, I can see both sides here. The driver is trying to be "helpful" but this is definitely a case of them being a hindrance. A child doesn't understand that a 2 tonne car will obliterate them and just because the odd time a stranger will stop to let them pass, it doesn't mean that all strangers will stop in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Next time you should go over to the driver and say 'sorry to bother you, you wouldn't do me a favour? See those kids there, you wouldn't just give them a belt of your car? Not too hard now, and just hitting one will probably get the message across. Thanks' :)

mauzo! wrote: »
    Next time you should go over to the driver and say 'sorry to bother you, you wouldn't do me a favour? See those kids there, you wouldn't just give them a belt of your car? Not too hard now, and just hitting one will probably get the message across. Thanks' :)

You'd make shìte of a Yaris at that craic! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

can ya not just say

'look, hes letting us cross'... and save yourself a load of minutes

dont sweat it - they'll figure out not to play with traffic eventually :)

on the other hand... when you stop at a zebra crossing and about a million teenagers on their way home from school want to cross ... hate that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...So basically, considerate drivers "annoy" me.

I hear that. Any knob who stops on a busy thoroughfare and flashes the lights "kindly" to allow me to complete a right-turn into a side-road deserves an artic up the arse! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

British e-mail addresses, especially the ones linked to the government, stuck.up@your.own.arse.much.x.gsi.gov.co.uk :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

When I say something thoughtlessly blunt, or in other words, when I'm as subtle as a brick. Yesterday my husband told me he'd found the perfect Easter egg for me and was going to get it in Limerick for me next week. I didn't exactly muster any enthusiasm about it and he'd obviously been looking at Thorntons or something. I'd bought him one and he knows about it and just as we were nodding off in bed I decided to say that I really didn't want an Easter egg and not to bother getting me one.

He seemed a bit crushed, sometimes I wish I were a bit less practical and a bit more thoughtful:( In my defence I was feeling really shattered and a bit grumpy. Now I just feel like a bitch.

"Granola"...

Piss off, tbh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

When I say something thoughtlessly blunt, or in other words, when I'm as subtle as a brick...

I was making idle conversation with a..er..."strong" girl in the pub the other day when she mentioned she was considering taking up ladies rugby.

Before I could stop myself I'd blurted out, "I'd say you'd make a great prop...."

Fortunately luck was on my side as - judging from her reaction anyway -I don't think she knew what a prop is.
    Mind you I haven't seen her since.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

The weather changing in the time it takes me to get ready in the morning, sun shining when I get up out of bed and raining half an hour later.

Drivers who speed up when I try to cross the road. hmmmm, if I was the paranoid type......

Onscreen keyboards on tablets.

People who continue to shove junk mail into my mail box, even after they have been asked to stop.

Sweet orange, bitter orange, sweet orange etc etc. Why is there no consistency in bags of oranges, either all sweet or all bitter, not this crap with one sweet and one bitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

When I say something thoughtlessly blunt, or in other words, when I'm as subtle as a brick. Yesterday my husband told me he'd found the perfect Easter egg for me and was going to get it in Limerick for me next week. I didn't exactly muster any enthusiasm about it and he'd obviously been looking at Thorntons or something. I'd bought him one and he knows about it and just as we were nodding off in bed I decided to say that I really didn't want an Easter egg and not to bother getting me one.

He seemed a bit crushed, sometimes I wish I were a bit less practical and a bit more thoughtful:( In my defence I was feeling really shattered and a bit grumpy. Now I just feel like a bitch.

I do that all the time!!! I feel sooo terrible afterwards!!! I'm exactly like that, way too practical for my own good and I HATE surprises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

The weather changing in the time it takes me to get ready in the morning, sun shining when I get up out of bed and raining half an hour later.

Drivers who speed up when I try to cross the road. hmmmm, if I was the paranoid type......

Onscreen keyboards on tablets.

People who continue to shove junk mail into my mail box, even after they have been asked to stop.

Sweet orange, bitter orange, sweet orange etc etc. Why is there no consistency in bags of oranges, either all sweet or all bitter, not this crap with one sweet and one bitter.

+1 on the junk mail. put a notice on my letter box yesterday but loads of the stuff put though anyway today. maybe i need to put up a no junk mail sign in more than the English language?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Yesterday walking out of MIC and the local primary schools were in for the college musical matinée. Heading back to their school was a line of about 100 kids with four teachers. Three up the top chatting. A big line of kids and then one at the back taking the piss out of a crying kid. (seriously)

Me and the GF are stuck in the middle of this conga line of little shïts who are jostling and acting the maggot. Not once in the ten minute walk we participated in did a teacher look back.

One kid collapsed and got hurt after one of the others tripped him. I stepped over him and thought 'not my problem" while my GF helped him up and ushered the kids along.

I have mixed emotions about my reaction but....yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

maguic24 wrote: »
    I do that all the time!!! I feel sooo terrible afterwards!!! I'm exactly like that, way too practical for my own good and I HATE surprises.
    What's worse is the way I put things. I think I'm being practical and considerate when I'm saying it but afterwards I realise that I sounded really blunt and bitchy. It's just as well that he's such a great guy:)

We had a guy from pre-pay power call 3 times today. Twice we didn't answer the door, the 3rd time he caught us. FFS, does anyone buy anything at the door? Pre-pay meters used to be a real stigma, fine if you want one but we don't. Why can't these sales people call once and leave it at that, preferably they wouldn't call at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

maguic24 wrote: »

Prime example of why women are evil! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I do it too :o my OH looks like a sad puppy sometimes, if he said some of the things to me I'd cry! I genuinely don't realise I'm being mean, I'm a lot better now. When I do it I realise it straight away and apologise profusely. I rarely do it now thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

We had a guy from pre-pay power call 3 times today. Twice we didn't answer the door, the 3rd time he caught us. FFS, does anyone buy anything at the door? Pre-pay meters used to be a real stigma, fine if you want one but we don't. Why can't these sales people call once and leave it at that, preferably they wouldn't call at all.
    I think they're told they HAVE to call to every door and at least be told no, probably think there's mystery customers out there and if their house is missed then no money for them. Although it's usually all commission based so not too sure, just a theory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I kind of feel bad for people who end up doing door to door as a job. I usually try not to waste their time and politely tell them I'm not interested from the get go.

I have had a few slightly rude and persistent ones who I've told that I don't appreciate people doorstepping me to sell me things because I didn't invite them to annoy me and shops/the internet exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Watching a movie and that one fecker of a popcorn falls into your cleavage, dammit. Thank god the screen was drowned in darkness :pac:

This 'much' business you see online or hear.

Jealous much?

F*ck off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

czechlin wrote: »
    Watching a movie and that one fecker of a popcorn falls into your cleavage, dammit. Thank god the screen was drowned in darkness :pac:

Oh, you delightful klutz! :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭conorhal

czechlin wrote: »

Only a momentary annoyance compared to that shard of kernel that lodges itself between your back teeth and your gum, and no damn amount of picking at it or flicking at it with your tounge will dislodge it.
    Ruins the movie for me so it does, because that wedged bit of popcorn is all I can concentrate on. :mad: