Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Interslice wrote: »
    Build probably not as good but I wouldn't call it cheap. More a case of poor ownership than poor build quality. Good ones do exist. Rizee on here bought a nice colt recently too.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubishi-lancer-glx-1-3-nct-2-15/6712567

950 euro
    1.3 glx
    NCT 2/2015 TAXED 4/14

28340985.jpeg
    Rizze's car aside(which is a low mileage example and an exception to the rule) i've yet to see a very fresh one. They are a car that just don't take age or the miles very well IMO.

Even 03, 04 colts are looking tatty now in the last few years. The paint gets very dull in them and the body dents very easily.

It's much easier to pick up a clean Honda or Toyota equivalent as they seem to last much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-almera-2001-nct-12-14/6573144
    27642143.jpeg

A friend of mine was going to see this tonight. He asked if I would go and look at it for him. He arranged to see it in a hotel car park, alarm bells started ringing when I heard that. Looked up the reg on carsireland, no NCT. I called and asked if he had the NCT cert, he said no. I checked mywheels, no NCT. So I called up, and said it was coming back as having no NCT, he just said he would find out and ring me back, then he hung up.

To anyone interested, stay away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,578 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Another chancer! Fair play for doing your homework. You've saved yourself from a wasted journey :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

unkel wrote: »
    Another chancer! Fair play for doing your homework. You've saved yourself from a wasted journey :)

He knows very little when it comes to buying, and was very surprised to hear about something like that. I wouldn't have doubted it either, the ad seems pretty decent tbh. Its just a matter of principal when buying a car, €8 well spent imo.

Is it worth reporting to Donedeal?

Kaiser D wrote: »
    He knows very little when it comes to buying, and was very surprised to hear about something like that. I wouldn't have doubted it either, the ad seems pretty decent tbh. Its just a matter of principal when buying a car, €8 well spent imo.

Is it worth reporting to Donedeal?

Those almera's aren't the best tbh so it might be a blessing :)

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Those almera's aren't the best tbh so it might be a blessing :)

I've warned him, though he seems to like them.

I've recommended Focus' and a Corolla, the Focus is in the running but he doesn't like the Corolla.

I can't think of much else.

I've warned him, though he seems to like them.

I've recommended Focus' and a Corolla, the Focus is in the running but he doesn't like the Corolla.

I can't think of much else.

Tell him to drive all three. The almera will be quickly dismissed then methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

So what's the deal? He has a fake NCT disc in the window or he is just hoping that the buyer will not look in the windscreen?

Also, there's plenty of cars that could be recommended apart from Focus and Corolla.

GvidoR wrote: »
    So what's the deal? He has a fake NCT disc in the window or he is just hoping that the buyer will not look in the windscreen?

Also, there's plenty of cars that could be recommended apart from Focus and Corolla.

Fake NCT disc, they are easily obtained. I know €50 can get you one around here.

4dr hatchback or estate, under 1.6 with some NCT for €900 - I cannot think of much.

You could but most other petrol cars in that class from that time were poor enough.

GobblyNob wrote: »
    What exactly was wrong with it? I've been tempted by a few of these ones.

Crack in exhaust manifold
    Worn flexi pipe
    Worn brake disc
    Play in one wheel bearing
    One drop link
    3 corroded brake lines

Also it failed on insecure battery mounting, but that's a common enough thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭jharr100

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/03-saab-95-arc-automatic-for-1150euros/6641486

Can you get in trouble for having a 2.3 taxed as a 2.0?

Also.. Does the 2.3 suffer sludge death , is 151k high for these ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

jharr100 wrote: »
    Can you get in trouble for having a 2.3 taxed as a 2.0?

Also.. Does the 2.3 suffer sludge death , is 151k high for these ?

Yes and yes. You can get in trouble for that.
    On sludge look for toastedpickles thread on his 2.3 and the sludge in the sump :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Crack in exhaust manifold
    Worn flexi pipe
    Worn brake disc
    Play in one wheel bearing
    One drop link
    3 corroded brake lines

Also it failed on insecure battery mounting, but that's a common enough thing.

Did you do any work to fix the car yet?

NCT Till Feb, 1750

Tax till May
    28204530.jpeg

Did you do any work to fix the car yet?

Manifold and flexi pipe are sorted, should get all the other bits by next week.

NCT Till Sept, 1200

Taxed till June, dayyysel
    28339556.jpeg

I like the W210! Is going to be a hard sell that. I'd wait a few days, then show up with €1k and not budge. Would he take it?

Isn't that a 2.4l BTW? I thought the E240 didn't go up to 2.6l until the W211 model?

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

NCT till Jan, 1500

Taxed till July
    28337939.jpeg

I like the W210! Is going to be a hard sell that. I'd wait a few days, then show up with €1k and not budge. Would he take it?

It almost is saleproof with that tax so there is a chance he'd bite..... However, I found another one, NCT'd till July next year but shows a disc with this year as it's expiry... :mad:

Better with the 240 :cool:

Edit: I'm sure it's the 2.6 with the quare 18v setup, he states the 2.6 tax in the ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,012 ✭✭✭Soarer

'05 Volvo S80, low miles, high spec, belt just done, NCT 08/15, asking €1,950

Needs a valet and some hard negotiation - owner needs cash - potential bargain of the month :D

28167489.jpeg

So what are these yokes actually like? Thirsty? Reliable? Known issues?

Have always liked them. But would have to sell my own reliable lump, and it'd break my heart to bring trouble on myself.

Very reliable. Volvo modular engine (5-pot) is strong and reliable and capable of massive mileage. A lot of poke (180BHP turbo) for low insurance and low (2l) motor tax. I would look for proof that the belt + pump were indeed done just now. Doesn't make economical sense to have it done and sell straight away.

And you know the answer to your first question yourself. Big heavy car with a turbo petrol engine. It ain't gonna be frugal :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-nissan-almera-new-nct-and-taxed/6713135
    28343505.jpeg

Lads, you probably won't believe this. We went to view this this evening. I rang first after my friend has shown me the ad, a girl answered and said she couldn't talk, she would ring me back. A few minutes later I got a call back from a private number, I answered and a guy was on the other end, with no explanation as to why he had called until I queried, his sister was selling her car was his response. We made arrangements to see the car despite my worries - the photos deliberately not showing the reg or background, and being called back by an untraceable number. We got out to see the car, and it turned out I knew his brother, and out of the blue, he just exclaimed that he couldn't sell us the car because it has a fake NCT and he didn't want it falling back on him when we found out. I was lost for words, and we left shortly afterwards.

His "plan" dawned on me in the car then, I call his sister, she makes an excuse so as to hang up, gives her brother and gives my number, he calls on a withheld number that can't be traced after he sells the car.
    Its really been a mad evening. Not a good car-buying experience for my friend either. I've saved him nearly a grand on two occasions.

I've reported the ad to Donedeal, along with a mywheels report.

Strange. Makes me wonder if there's plenty of people selling cars with fake NCT discs.

Why even bother to go see the car if carsireland shows it has no NCT? Plenty of fish in the sea :)

Edit - I see you didn't have the reg. If I'm interested in a car, I ask to know the reg. If the seller refuses, I look elsewhere...

My ads on adverts.ie: