If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Try the X21R if it's power you're after. :-) It's overkill really, I've used one and they're a bit over the top. I have an M7R and would highly recommend it.

I don't think the neighbours would appreciate me shining me big torch round 2km away!! How do you find the rechargeable? Was just gonna go for normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

C0N0R wrote: »
    How do you find the rechargeable? Was just gonna go for normal

Rechargeable is great, comes supplied with a magnetic lamp holder come charger that can be mounted on the dash of a jeep or the like. The lamp is always there when you need it and charged. It's a great job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Have a calf here didn't drink yesterday, drank 1lt today. Is very scoury. Is it ok to give electrolytes with some kaolin powder mixed in now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,655 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Have a calf here didn't drink yesterday, drank 1lt today. Is very scoury. Is it ok to give electrolytes with some kaolin powder mixed in now??

I'd give it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,195 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

calf needs rehydrating if scour is bad, plenty of fluids asap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Get onto it ASAP.
    Not sure about mixing the kaolin with the electrolytes.
    Electrolytes best gven 20 minutes before anything else.

You could mix the kaolin with natural youghert or milk.

A calf with scour needs 2l electrolyte twice daily at least.
    Plus regular feeds if he'll take them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Father was very confused this morning when all the cattle in the middle pen of the shed had swapped with all the cattle in the lower pen. Don't think he realised what day it was for a while :D:P

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Father was very confused this morning when all the cattle in the middle pen of the shed had swapped with all the cattle in the lower pen. Don't think he realised what day it was for a while :D:P

Little to be doing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Reggie. wrote: »
    Little to be doing :D

Lol, it's his birthday too so he's the one with little to be doing today.

You would nearly think I was dairying :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Now that is pure evil geniusness!! I like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

all the bulling heifers got booster bvd nd lepto nd copper bolus, all cows bvd and lepto and copper, fathers cows bvd and lepto nd coppered and last 8 of father calves dehorned and all his calves back legged, amazing wat you get through when sun shining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Happens here every year after the herd test! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,195 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

was coming back from outfarm around dinner time, i was in the jeep. I have to go through a busy enough crossroAds in the village. As i approached it there was a young lad of about 3 standing in the middle of the road, there was no one with him. He was just standing there, i stopped, there where cars on the road. I was getting out of the jeep to go to him when a woman came out of a housing estate a bit down the road looking for him, he is not her child she was minding him:eek::eek: he is a lucky lad he wasnt killed. hE had crossed the road and walked a good bit to get to where he ended up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan2 wrote: »
    was coming back from outfarm around dinner time, i was in the jeep. I have to go through a busy enough crossroAds in the village. As i approached it there was a young lad of about 3 standing in the middle of the road, there was no one with him. He was just standing there, i stopped, there where cars on the road. I was getting out of the jeep to go to him when a woman came out of a housing estate a bit down the road looking for him, he is not her child she was minding him:eek::eek: he is a lucky lad he wasnt killed. hE had crossed the road and walked a good bit to get to where he ended up

Right woman at the right time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Read a good quote earlier this morning:

"The ambitious man wants to better himself, the greedy man just wants to impoverish others"

Nice quote but unfortunately the begrudgers can't tell them apart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Nothing I hate more than missing strips in the field when its sprayed off. Really annoys me. Missed 4 lengths in the field about 4ft wide.
    His do the rest manage when spraying off?

Nothing I hate more than missing strips in the field when its sprayed off. Really annoys me. Missed 4 lengths in the field about 4ft wide.
    His do the rest manage when spraying off?

Can you get some kind of foam marker for the end of the boom on open side and just keep working off that?

C0N0R wrote: »
    Can you get some kind of foam marker for the end of the boom on open side and just keep working off that?

Where would I get one of them?
    Worse thing is all the neighbours will see it ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

You sound like my auld lad!! Guesswork is the answer for me though, often got lost in a maze of rushes too .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Went up to "tuck in" my youngest 4. Noticed a picture drawn on the wall, asked did she do it she said " yes Daddy, couldn't find any paper" ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Did the wooden spoon find her a**e?

You sound like my auld lad!! Guesswork is the answer for me though, often got lost in a maze of rushes too .

I'm the complete opposite to my oul lad.he doesn't give a **** any more. I like to do it as best I can.

If I go over too far I won't have enough spray for the rest of the field and if I stay out too far I have excess spray.
    Ye can't win

Went up to "tuck in" my youngest 4. Noticed a picture drawn on the wall, asked did she do it she said " yes Daddy, couldn't find any paper" ha

If I did that when I was a chap I would have been lifted out of the bed by the ear to clean it off ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,989 ✭✭✭dzer2

Muckit wrote: »
    Did the wooden spoon find her a**e?

Ah come on whats walls for it wont be long til she is gone and all you will have is the picture on the wall. Too many people want a house to be a palace not a home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

I'm the complete opposite to my oul lad.he doesn't give a **** any more. I like to do it as best I can.

If I go over too far I won't have enough spray for the rest of the field and if I stay out too far I have excess spray.
    Ye can't win

Yep, the same spreading fertilizer, too close or too far.
    You'll have the GPS yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Got fert out on silage ground today land drier than I thought still another few days like this will make some difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,453 ✭✭✭naughto

whelan2 wrote: »
    do u no the mother of the child id be having a word with her if you do and get her to sack the minder thats providing that its not a famaily member that was sapose to be looking after the child,if it was they would want to be f1ucked out of it

Just googled it, seems a bit more expensive than I thought! Here is a home made one though.

http://www.tractorbynet.com/forums/build-yourself/174455-foam-marker-sprayers.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Ye can't win

Sure no one wants to leave a streak!! There's a local man with a wagtail spreader and the bridle has been brokien off the spout with a few years. It's gas to look into his fields because he only hits half the ground with the manure. I told him what was wrong and that it was a cheap fix but he didn't seem to care.