Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I have loads to complain about...

Today I thought to myself, in a fit of rage, what if I scrapped the Legend and claimed my 8 months tax back. I quickly realised that was stupid, so took my anger out on the Civic, I haven't decided on its faith yet.

My Camino trip, the one I've been training for for the guts of 6 months, may be cancelled with my collarbone. That got me all fired up today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Camino trip? As in a trip in a Chevy El Camino?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Kaiser D wrote: »
    My Camino trip, the one I've been training for for the guts of 6 months, may be cancelled with my collarbone. That got me all fired up today.
    6 months training???? ARE YOU MAD? I did the first 350km's last summer with no training.

When are you going? The collarbone shouldn't be a problem, just do what I did and make your backpack 4.5kgs in total.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Camino trip? As in a trip in a Chevy El Camino?

Camino as in Camino de Santiago, its about 800kms, cycling.

cycling.

Ah I thought you were walking, in which case you've confirmed YOU'RE MAD :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Yeah, cycling with a busted collar bone wouldn't be nice.
    No idea what I've done but I was just on my bike and now my lower back is hurting. Was about to go on a jog with the dog but I don't know now...

See, if the Mazda was insured I would have just went for a drive and this never would have happened. :mad:

How'd you do in your collar bone? Not something I'd like to experience. I hate breaking bones. :(

ba_barabus wrote: »
    6 months training???? ARE YOU MAD? I did the first 350km's last summer with no training.

When are you going? The collarbone shouldn't be a problem, just do what I did and make your backpack 4.5kgs in total.

Well, theres a bit more to it - my girlfriend is going with 2 work collegues and 18 students (tachers/student thing). They've asked me to go too, because they can't get another teacher. They've been training since October-ish/November and I had to go too, basically.

Just once a week really.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Yeah, cycling with a busted collar bone wouldn't be nice.
    No idea what I've done but I was just on my bike and now my lower back is hurting. Was about to go on a jog with the dog but I don't know now...

See, if the Mazda was insured I would have just went for a drive and this never would have happened. :mad:

How'd you do in your collar bone? Not something I'd like to experience. I hate breaking bones. :(

Lol, it was actually a biking accident :pac:

Well, theres a bit more to it - my girlfriend is going with 2 work collegues and 18 students (tachers/student thing). They've asked me to go too, because they can't get another teacher. They've been training since October-ish/November and I had to go too, basically.

Just once a week really.

The cyclists used to scare me. they worked hard. I walked and averaged about 30-35kms per day. The first day was the hardest however, 27km up hill from St. Jean de Pied and 2km down hill to Rocavelles.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    The cyclists used to scare me. they worked hard. I walked and averaged about 30-35kms per day. The first day was the hardest however, 27km up hill from St. Jean de Pied and 2km down hill to Rocavelles.

We've been cycling doing a lot of cycling around Howth, up the hill etc to get used to up hill cycling, most of theses students have had little or no experience in anything like this, so training was/is important.

Did it take you a full month?

We've been cycling doing a lot of cycling around Howth, up the hill etc to get used to up hill cycling, most of theses students have had little or no experience in anything like this, so training was/is important.
    Day one will make them want to give up but after that it's relatively easy. They will need to take care of themselves however as it's pretty punishing on a bike however the views are spectacular. Stop for breaks as and when you can and keep lots of water nearby. There are lots of fountains on the way but as you approach Burgos they start to space out.

Did it take you a full month?

I went as far as the first stop passed Burgos (one of the most beautiful cities I've ever been in). In two weeks I cover the distance from St Jean. Bear in mind I had no prep and very little fitness and took a day off for the Bull Running in Iruna I think I did ok. Also had one or two events along the way (walker died with me) I was forced to take a day or two off.

You'll meet some extraordinary people and the students will love it. Everyone is very friendly along the way and very willing to help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Drove down to work there with an eco attitude in mind.
    53kms, 3.5 litres of fuel used. Feckin incredible!
    That's 40MPG with a 2.2l Petrol Automatic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

BPMull, was your old Astra 08KK4152 something or other?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Just after buying a golf van there. All the extras 07 100k km plastic is still on parts of the inside no joke it's absolutely mint. It's a local guy has it. Absolutely delighted collecting it tomorrow.

BPMull, was your old Astra 08KK4152 something or other?

No it was a 08 d 2616.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Bpmull wrote: »
    Just after buying a golf van there. All the extras 07 100k km plastic is still on parts of the inside no joke it's absolutely mint. It's a local guy has it. Absolutely delighted collecting it tomorrow.

Nice one! Does it have a pd or common rail engine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

well wear. They are much better than those focus vans Imo :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

My god, cycling in the motors forum.

Your lucky Clevelands banned :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    My god, cycling in the motors forum.

Your lucky Clevelands banned :)

Great bunch of lads ;)

537163_10151338979182563_75567930_n.jpg

Interslice wrote: »
    Nice one! Does it have a pd or common rail engine?

I think it was 08 ones had cr engine. I'm not sure how can you tell ?

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    well wear. They are much better than those focus vans Imo :)

Serviced last week in the Kilkenny vw specialist new timming belt last week. Parts receipts to prove it. Only this afternoon we were going to give up on searching for a van. As 99% of vans are wrecked. This yoke though I've never seen a car version as clean never mind van. The money was strong on it but worth every penny.

Congrats bp :) can't wait to see a pic :)

I think it was 08 ones had cr engine. I'm not sure how can you tell ?

One sounds like a tractor :pac:. I think they swapped in 07/08, not sure. Engine code or hp would probably be the handiest if you google it. I'd say it's a PD though.

Interslice wrote: »
    One sounds like a tractor :pac:. I think they swapped in 07/08, not sure. Engine code or hp would probably be the handiest if you google it. I'd say it's a PD though.
    is it 1.9 or 2.0?

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    is it 1.9 or 2.0?

It's 1.9tdi 105. But this golf sounded a lot quiter than the 05 octavia for some reason. It actually sounded more like the 1.6tdi octavia. Obviously it's not its a 1.9 but i just noticed that. I'll take plenty of pictures when I collect it tomorrow :)

the 1.9 is definitely a pd. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Interesting pic... nurburgring vs other tracks in terms of size

1535497_10201775619053080_445665687_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Primetime tonight will be worth a watch.