Should I stop playing the Lotto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Seriously though never mind the Euromillions. If you keep doing it, just do the one line and stick with it. 2 or 3 lines don't really increase your chances a whole lot. Same with the other Lotto. Just do one line each week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

cooperguy wrote: »
    I dont know why you are spending so much on it anyway! The odds of winning are tiny so just buy 1 line. The difference between a chance of 1 in 8,145,060 and 2 in 8,145,060 is so small why would you bother spending the extra money.

Ye see, that's not entirely true. If I won 60 grand I'd be happy, but I probably will spend 60 grand from all the years and then when I win 60 grand, I will be over the moon thinking I actually won something. Sure I would have saved it from not doing the lotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Well I got a Royal Flush the second I ever played Poker... I had no idea no idea what was going on but people seemed to be very excited about seeing one so I guess anything is possible! You just need a bit of dumb luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

ION08 wrote: »
    Well I got a Royal Flush the second I ever played Poker... I had no idea no idea what was going on but people seemed to be very excited about seeing one so I guess anything is possible! You just need a bit of dumb luck

I'd avoid comparing a Royal Flush to that of winning the Euromillions if I were you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

I'd avoid comparing a Royal Flush to that of winning the Euromillions if I were you.

Im not comparing odds (although royal flush is pretty rare) I'm just saying all you need is a bit of dumb luck on your side.

Didn't that euro millions winner from limerick hit the Euromillions jackpot with her first flukey quickpick?

A lot of Irish folk won a fare bit from the past years on the euromillions. I personally know I will probably not ever win the main jackpot, but 350,000 would be nice, sure 20 grand would be nice. Anything at this stage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

You need to be from the right background to have an elevated chance of winning. A few lower class wins are thrown in to throw investigators off the scent, but the vast majority win for a reason.

It goes against the odds that some people can win a jackpot twice in their lifetime and the same shop areas.

And winning streak on the TV ~ facepalm. No average person will ever get on that as it is run currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Red Nissan wrote: »
    You need to be from the right background to have an elevated chance of winning. A few lower class wins are thrown in to throw investigators off the scent, but the vast majority win for a reason.

It goes against the odds that some people can win a jackpot twice in their lifetime and the same shop areas.

And winning streak on the TV ~ facepalm. No average person will ever get on that as it is run currently.
    Are you actually being serious or is my sarcasm detector broken?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I spend €20 per week on the Lotto €12 on the Euromillions €8 on the Irish Lotto.Its the only thing that keeps me going.

It's the only way out!!!

Are you actually being serious or is my sarcasm detector broken?

Serious.

My suspicions were confirmed from RTE's politicians telling their story. An elderly couple applied for a grant to modify their house so their wheelchair bound son could visit.

They were denied, their local TD advised them to try the Winning Streak Game Show on RTE, she won 70,000 in Euro more than the 17,000 in Euro that she needed to make the modifications.

You know the odds of that? Impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Serious.

My suspicions were confirmed from RTE's politicians telling their story. An elderly couple applied for a grant to modify their house so their wheelchair bound son could visit.

They were denied, their local TD advised them to try the Winning Streak Game Show on RTE, she won 70,000 in Euro more than the 17,000 in Euro that she needed to make the modifications.

no way...did any politician ever advise anyone that

It was aired on RTE, you'd have to see the show, which is now gone off the Real Player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

It was aired on RTE, you'd have to see the show, which is now gone off the Real Player.

What a coincidence..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Serious.

I think you need a better story than that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

UCDCritic wrote: »
    I've been thinking about this for a while.

I spend 12 - 15 euro a week on the euro millions.

It's been about a year since I last won anything and that would be 4 euro.

The largest amount I ever won was about 5 years ago and that was around a 100 euro.

I'm starting to feel like I should just give up the fantasy.

If I saved that money at the end of a year I would it would add up to a nice little some of money. I reckon I've spend thousands on it over the years.

But each Tuesday and Friday I feel if I don't play this could have been the time I won.

I feel torn.

Please advise.

Have a ****.

Do some maths

Have another ****.

Decide you don't want to play anymore.

Then have a celebration ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭on the river

Have a ****.

Do some maths

Have another ****.

Decide you don't want to play anymore.

Then have a celebration ****

I agree just let the **** do the talking. It will guide you in the right direction

I think you need a better story than that!

I guess we could say the same about the phone taping and the Garda Commissioner ~ unbelievable.

are you really suggesting that politians in the dail are handing out places on winning streak to hard pressed voters???

a bizzare conspiracy if true

GenieOz wrote: »
    What a coincidence..

Actually I wanted to download that show, I did download a scrubber to extract the video, like the ones to extract protected vids from YouTube, and I left it running, only to return home to a crashed PC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Actually I wanted to download that show, I did download a scrubber to extract the video, like the ones to extract protected vids from YouTube, and I left it running, only to return home to a crashed PC.

Musta been the government covering it up :eek:

Wait I see the episode now..you're right, oh my god!
    Oh someone is at the door..wait don't take m

are you really suggesting that politians in the dail are handing out places on winning streak to hard pressed voters???

a bizzare conspiracy if true

My thoughts exactly, however, only four TDs were in the shows I watched. There may have been more.

And never forget that Mr Bertie won 10,000 Euro in his local [bar] in lotto run there for the sports club. And a few other 'bets' on the horses came good too.

So we are not without precedent. :)

My thoughts exactly, however, only four TDs were in the shows I watched. There may have been more.

And never forget that Mr Bertie won 10,000 Euro in his local [bar] in lotto run there for the sports club. And a few other 'bets' on the horses came good too.

So we are not without precedent. :)

Id stop believing politians if I was you;)
    who were these politians on this mysterious show???.could really do with a few pound off winning streak meself:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

It's a tax on hope

on this mysterious show???.

Well it's not something I'd have watched, I don't even have RTE on my TV, it being Free Sat, so I scan RTE real player now and again, that series looked odd, we have like 166 TDs and RTE make a show surrounding four that I saw of a six programme series.

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I used to buy the odd scratch card and do the lotto now and then, but I stopped and now I just do a tenner accumulator on the weekends football. Better chance of winning a few quid. Chelsea let me down in this weekends one.

Well it's not something I'd have watched, I don't even have RTE on my TV, it being Free Sat, so I scan RTE real player now and again, that series looked odd, we have like 166 TDs and RTE make a show surrounding four that I saw of a six programme series.

?

so who is the one handing out winning streak appearences??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Rasheed wrote: »
    Play my club lotto. €50 for the year, the jackpot is €3,500 and I'll let you peak at the women in the dressing room.

I'm not sure if you meant to say peek or you're making some crazy sexual reference....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I agree just let the **** do the talking. It will guide you in the right direction

Indeed

so who is the one handing out winning streak appearences??

As I cannot remember them all, it would be unfair of me to mention the ones I do remember.