Since when do taxi drivers get to pick and choose their fares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

You can't make someone do business with you.
    I demand you sell me your computer. PM me the details Ill be there in an hour.

It's not directly comparable. Taxi driving is a regulated service, with minimum fares and a compulsion to carry passengers any distance up to about 30km. If the minimum fare is to low then it is an issue drivers need to take up with the regulator, not with a passenger who was trying to use the service within the existing rules.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

It's not directly comparable. Taxi driving is a regulated service, with minimum fares and a compulsion to carry passengers any distance up to about 30km. If the minimum fare is to low then it is an issue drivers need to take up with the regulator, not with a passenger who was trying to use the service within the existing rules.

Theres a law now that says you can force a man to work for you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

ardle1 wrote: »
    It makes me wonder why some people feel the need to complain on 'Board's' about the slightest thing that a tired low paid taxi man did to fcuk up your day and ruin your life......... If we(taxi men)decided to put in print the numerous negative 'incidents' we have to deal with in our lovely Towns and Cities around Ireland, well let me just say, a lot off people would think twice about starting a frivolous thread like this........

There's complaining and there's having a discussion, which is the (sole) purpose of a forum such as this.

Turning the argument around and blaming your customers is a bit of a feeble attempt at a counter argument. Every customer-facing role puts you in contact with the odd moron, it's part and parcel. The difference is that my customers aren't a captive audience and I don't mouth off to them, nor do I mistreat them :)

Qualifying those remarks though, and those of others here - bad experiences in taxis take place on a very small minority of journeys. 95% of taxi drivers out there are decent people who are friendly and honest with their customers and I rarely have any complaint when using the service as a customer.

I stand by what I said about a much higher percentage seeming to act as bullies on the road, only because in my experience it's what I've seen. But it certainly shouldn't be inferred that this thread is a general moan against taxis, it certainly isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭riveratom

Don't think you're getting it?! The guy is on a rank plying for trade and has agreed to certain taxi rules?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yep
    Standing at an appointed stand while the vehicle is not available for hire (taxi only) (€40)

Unreasonable refusal to carry a passenger for a journey of 30)km or less (taxi only) (€80)

Take your pick.

Yes, if you're a taxi driver, plying for hire in Ireland.

Such are the joys of working in a regulated service industry. Those that refuse to comply can have sanctions taken against them.

Say the op was going to Rathmines. The fare would have only been €8 at most, €3 more than what the op would have paid. Many people here that are siding with the driver i'm sure would have gotten taxis that cost that much. Is €8 to little for waiting around an hour for? How much should a taxi driver get to make the trip worthwhile?

Yep
    Standing at an appointed stand while the vehicle is not available for hire (taxi only) (€40)

Unreasonable refusal to carry a passenger for a journey of 30)km or less (taxi only) (€80)

Take your pick.

What if hes not at a rank.
    Does he have to accept your business then?

Maybe he'll pick number 2 and come up with a arbitrary reason. (looked angry... recognized him from skipping fare...etc)

Take the next one in the line or make a better offer.

The man doesn't want your business - go elsewhere.

What if hes not at a rank.
    Does he have to accept your business then?

Maybe he'll pick number 2 and come up with a arbitrary reason. (looked angry... recognized him from skipping fare...etc)

Take the next one in the line or make a better offer.

The man doesn't want your business - go elsewhere.
    You'll only get away with those excuses once or twice. If there are a number of complaints against the driver, then it's obviously the drivers attitude that is the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

I did the first night - lad hopped into the Xantia, said "drive me home ya fcuker", so I did. Into the boot. Fcuker? Me? How very dare you. Poor career choice, in retrospect.

Serves you right for using a xantia.... keep with that car and your taxi career would have been a short one anyway. A complete load of junk.

You'll only get away with those excuses once or twice. If there are a number of complaints against the driver, then it's obviously the drivers attitude that is the problem.

I'd take the gamble.

The odds of having such a negative value 'customer' more than once every blue moon are quite good.
    Add to that the odds of such a 'customer' actually making a report.
    And the associated backlogging, bungling and ineptitude of a govt agency.
    And their probable inability to enforce.

And the personal satisfaction of not being forced to take this false economy 'customer' who'd effectively cost me money if I was a taxi driver.

Even moreso if they objected or assumed Im their personal staff at their beck and call.

They guy took the next fare offered and Im sure there was a reasonable amount in it for him to choose it over OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

kenmc wrote: »
    why should you settle for a clapped out 03 corrola when there's a 141 7 series right behind it....

Well I think i'd hop in the corolla, because Mr. BMW has obviously had plenty of fares beforehand if he can afford a 90 grand car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Drivers sometimes keep the doors locked when you hail them and ask you where you're going.

If it's not somewhere lucrative, they drive off?

Is that allowed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

8x €7.20=€64.20?

Oh, would ye have two tenners for a fiver please boss? Tanks a lot, nite now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

riveratom wrote: »
    The answer is probably 'since forever'.

Got into a taxi on the rank half way up Dawson Street earlier. Specifically didn't hail one passing on the street or further up the rank since I figured it was the one to go for (I know you can choose any technically).

Get in and once the driver hears I only want to go to Pearse St station, he tells me (barely made out his unbelievably thick accent), that it is too close and that he has been waiting to get to the front of the queue (the usual rubbish you hear about).

When I tell him he has to bring me to where I want to go and that I am in a rush to make the train, he's like 'no, no'. Tell him I am making a complaint and the a*rsehole is like 'feel free, feel free'. Get out, call out his plate number to him and walk off. Pretty sure I see him grinning back at me when I look back.

End up sprinting to the station and making it with two minutes to spare.

So, has anyone ever made a complaint to the regulator and what happened when you did?

'Public service vehicle' - good one!!

You should have told him there would be a €10 tip in it and told him to shag off on arrival.
    its not a public service vechicle...private owned

Correct me if I'm wrong but you need to hold a PSV license?

I'd take the gamble.

The odds of having such a negative value 'customer' more than once every blue moon are quite good.
    Add to that the odds of such a 'customer' actually making a report.
    And the associated backlogging, bungling and ineptitude of a govt agency.
    And their probable inability to enforce.

And the personal satisfaction of not being forced to take this false economy 'customer' who'd effectively cost me money if I was a taxi driver.

Even moreso if they objected or assumed Im their personal staff at their beck and call.

They guy took the next fare offered and Im sure there was a reasonable amount in it for him to choose it over OP.

I'm a 'negative value' 'customer' then am I? Willing to give my cash to a guy playing for trade on a public rank?

I'll make sure to do a quick cost-benefit analysis on the driver's behalf next time I look to get into a taxi in a rush.

You probably don't realise how stupid it sounds to say that a driver is at someone's 'beck and call' when they are quite literally 'on call' at the side of a public street and supposedly open to taking fares.

Joe prim wrote: »
    8x €7.20=€64.20?

Oh, would ye have two tenners for a fiver please boss? Tanks a lot, nite now!

My bad. I should have written €7.80 as per the fare calculator. So, the total is still correct. I shall amend my post now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Drivers sometimes keep the doors locked when you hail them and ask you where you're going.

If it's not somewhere lucrative, they drive off?

Is that allowed?
    Had this loads of times! I always just answer "do you want the fare?" and when they keep pressing as to my destination I just keep asking if they want the fare or not.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Had this loads of times! I always just answer "do you want the fare?" and when they keep pressing as to my destination I just keep asking if they want the fare or not.

I've never ever been asked for my spdestination before I got into a taxi before. Even at the airport they operate a short distance rule that allows the taxis back into the top que if they get a short fare.

Most of the stories on here are BS I'd imagine.

riveratom wrote: »
    I'm a 'negative value' 'customer' then am I? Willing to give my cash to a guy playing for trade on a public rank?

I'll make sure to do a quick cost-benefit analysis on the driver's behalf next time I look to get into a taxi in a rush.

You probably don't realise how stupid it sounds to say that a driver is at someone's 'beck and call' when they are quite literally 'on call' at the side of a public street and supposedly open to taking fares.

Well yes obviously you are a negative value f the guy doesn't want to lose his place at the top of the rank for whatever princely amount you were worth.

They may be 'on call' .... that doesn't mean they're waiting on 'your call'.
    Its their choice.

Personally - I would have taken the guys situation into account and asked him if a fiver tip up front would change his mind.

That would be worth foregoing the jog

........ well, for anyone whos not a complete tightarse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

To be honest I'm not sure how I'd feel if Taxi drivers are NOT allowed to choose the fares they want. I understand that it could lead to discrimination, but at the same time in most cases a Taxi driver is a self employed private business, and so should be able to do what he/she feels will make the most profit.

Turn down guaranteed revenue with the likelihood of a decent tip given the urgency of the situation on the blind hope of a juicier future fare. Yep, sound business logic there.

You try them on a Saturday night for a long distance fare and they turn it down because they think they can turn over a larger number of short haul fares.

The problem with these blokes is they want it every way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

kceire wrote: »
    I've never ever been asked for my spdestination before I got into a taxi before. Even at the airport they operate a short distance rule that allows the taxis back into the top que if they get a short fare.

Most of the stories on here are BS I'd imagine.

Why would people lie?

I've been asked where I'm going plenty of times by a taxi driver through the window only for them to drive off.

I now refuse to speak until I'm in the car.

I also walk down any rank until I reach an acceptable standard of vehicle but that's another story.

It's a client/customer focussed business (or at least it should be).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

Aidric wrote: »
    Turn down guaranteed revenue with the likelihood of a decent tip given the urgency of the situation on the blind hope of a juicier future fare. Yep, sound business logic there.

You try them on a Saturday night for a long distance fare and they turn it down because they think they can turn over a larger number of short haul fares.

The problem with these blokes is they want it every way.

I have no knowledge of the taxi sector. I do however know business.

Take the upcoming Garth Brooks gigs as an example. If you've been sitting in a rank near Croke Park waiting for the concert to end, you're going to be expecting a decent enough fare, the minimum fare you're going to expect is to a Hotel maybe 10/15 mins away.

A person in a rush gets into your car and asks to be taken around the corner to a bus or Luas stop. Why would you take this fare when you can be pretty much guaranteed a much better one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 pearljamsambo

Mate of mine (who hated taxi drivers with a passion) used to hail them down to ask the time and / or get directions to the nearest bus stop - complete arsehole thing to do - but it is funny to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Have you seen the amount of taxis in Dublin? Its ridiculous.
    All those taxi drivers would not be at the airport unless there was a lot of money in it for them!
    The lad was perfectly entitled to refuse your fare, same as he is entitled to refuse to take a drunk, a skanger or someone he thinks is a prick.
    Airport rules are different in that the driver must take the fare offered unless very good reason not to.
    No he was not entitled to refuse the fare. He had no reason to refuse the fare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

A person in a rush gets into your car and asks to be taken around the corner to a bus or Luas stop. Why would you take this fare when you can be pretty much guaranteed a much better one?

That's a pretty spurious example tbf. In that case the taxi driver should just point out to them how close they are and give them directions.

No such thing as a guarantee btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I applied for a PSV licence, got it, got the car, the whole nine yards. It then dawned on me that I'd have to drive fcukers around, wherever they wanted to go. Fcuk that.

Is that you, Michael O' Leary..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I used to drive the taxi myself and in fairness its awfully bad luck to spend all that time in the queue and then get the minimum fare.
    We could get into technicalities whether he has the right to refuse you, but the right thing to do if you can't flag a taxi is to get into the last taxi at the rank if you go that short a distance.
    None of the other drivers should have a problem with that. Its the code for very short journey.

Boskowski wrote: »
    I used to drive the taxi myself and in fairness its awfully bad luck to spend all that time in the queue and then get the minimum fare.
    We could get into technicalities whether he has the right to refuse you, but the right thing to do if you can't flag a taxi is to get into the last taxi at the rank if you go that short a distance.
    None of the other drivers should have a problem with that. Its the code for very short journey.

I appreciate that, but surely it's a case of taking the rough with the smooth, like in any other line of work? Surely it's better than annoying the paying public who just want to get to where they are going, no?!

How many people know that code? Maybe 2% of people on the street?

Years back I used to think you could pick any car on the rank, until enough drivers pointed me on to the first car on the rank. So which is it like?!

As I said, this particular driver could have scored a much bigger fare down the street, or on the way back from dropping me off. The next fare he actually did get could have been for maybe a fiver more than what he would have charged me.

Boskowski wrote: »

There are no technicalities to get into, he had no right to refuse the OP.

While I would normally try to take the last taxi on the rank myself for a very short distance trip (and for a very long journey since you can usually get a good deal with the last guy), most drivers will refuse to take you and insist you take the first in the queue.