General Knowledge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Henry the VIII's wives usually come in useful. National flags. Capitals of countries. Highest mountains. Leaders of countries. Knowledge of when wars were.

PS - I know NOTTINGZ!!!!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

What... is the air-speed velocity of an unladen swallow?

African or European?

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Ah no I wasn't asking to see if you were for real. Just wanted to know how big your boobs were.

38F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Zaph wrote: »
    Nope, as well as changing the name of the old capital, they moved the capital itself to a new purpose built city, Naypyidaw.

Those crafty Burmese, I mean Myanmarese - what will they get up to next? Interfering in our pub quizzes. Bloody cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

sopretty wrote: »
    38F

Marry me and my 10 inch c0ck..

Marry me...

What size is your lad?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Here is the ultimate After Hours General Knowledge question -

What is the third largest city in the Republic of Ireland?

Answer -
    Galway. Anyone who answered Limerick doesn't know their arse from their elbow.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

What... is the air-speed velocity of an unladen swallow?

What's its mass and energy consumption in Joules per second? What's the Wind speed and direction, the temperate and atmospheric pressure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Na, just got caught out on it before.:p

Kansas City is the largest city in which state is another.

Is it Missouri?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Once you know who the latest celebrity was to get married, what One Direction members' ages are and how to upload a photo to a social networking site seems to be enough these days...fecking eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Collie D wrote: »
    Is it Missouri?
    That's the one.

That and what's the largest city in Kansas are great quiz questions.

clue* Glen Campbell made it famous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

That's the one.

That and what's the largest city in Kansas are great quiz questions.

clue* Glen Campbell made it famous.

Rhinestone Cowboy?

Galveston, oh Galveston!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Brego888 wrote: »
    The translation from elvish to English of the words on the inside of the one ring.

That was in the tongue of Mordor, not Elvish :p

I would consider someone as having good general knowledge if they had a decent grasp of the workings of the world around them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Lapin wrote: »
    Here is the ultimate After Hours General Knowledge question -

What is the third largest city in the Republic of Ireland?

Answer -
    Galway. Anyone who answered Limerick doesn't know their arse from their elbow.

Is it Limerick? Oh, and what's thats that black crap?

The Shannon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭thomur

My housemate years ago thought that Japan was it's own continent and that New Zealand was an island belonging to Australia.

Is she still single?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭thomur

There are 2 O'Connell Bridges in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Man I'm loving that this has turned into a capital city thread. When I was in primary school I knew all the European and South American ones. Kinda picked up a lot of the rest as I got older and then 2 years ago decided to make a conscious effort to get to know all of the remaining ones (one a day first thing in the morning for 7 or 8 weeks).

So yeah I'm a capital city nerd.

So here are some random thoughts/facts about them:

funniest sounding name: Ouagadougou (Burkino Faso)
    The ones that cause arguments (usually because one has the parliament but the other is the de facto capital): Netherlands (Amsterdam/The Hague), Bolivia (Le Paz/Sucre), South Africa (Cape Town/Pretoria), Ivory Coast (Abijan/Yamoussoukro)
    Some countries that have capital cities the same as their name: Djibouti, Panama, Guatamala, Luxembourg, Mexico, Andorra, Singapore, (and Vatican City)
    Countries who've switched capitals in recent times: Kazakhstan (Almaty->Astana), Nigeria (Lagos->Abuja), Myanmar (Rangoon->Naypidaw), Tanzania (Dar Es Salam -> Dodoma)
    Only independent country without a capital: Nauru
    Most southerly and northerly capitals: Wellington (NZ) and Reykjavik (Iceland)
    Highest and lowest capitals: La Paz (Bolivia) and Baku (Azerbaijan)
    Closest capital cities: Brazzaville & Kinshasha (Congo and D.R.C.) which are directly opposite each other on the Congo river (Technically the Vatican city is inside of Rome but that's just weird)
    Furthest capital cities: Wellington and Madrid (Spain)

I've visited 22 of them so far, so only another 170+ to go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Ché Guevara's surname is Lynch !! True Story

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Would have thought that Dublin & Reykjavik were further from Wellington than Madrid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Man I'm loving that this has turned into a capital city thread. When I was in primary school I knew all the European and South American ones. Kinda picked up a lot of the rest as I got older and then 2 years ago decided to make a conscious effort to get to know all of the remaining ones (one a day first thing in the morning for 7 or 8 weeks).

So yeah I'm a capital city nerd.

So here are some random thoughts/facts about them:

funniest sounding name: Ouagadougou (Burkino Faso)
    The ones that cause arguments (usually because one has the parliament but the other is the de facto capital): Netherlands (Amsterdam/The Hague), Bolivia (Le Paz/Sucre), South Africa (Cape Town/Pretoria), Ivory Coast (Abijan/Yamoussoukro)
    Some countries that have capital cities the same as their name: Djibouti, Panama, Guatamala, Luxembourg, Mexico, Andorra, Singapore, (and Vatican City)
    Countries who've switched capitals in recent times: Kazakhstan (Almaty->Astana), Nigeria (Lagos->Abuja), Myanmar (Rangoon->Naypidaw), Tanzania (Dar Es Salam -> Dodoma)
    Only independent country without a capital: Nauru
    Most southerly and northerly capitals: Wellington (NZ) and Reykjavik (Iceland)
    Highest and lowest capitals: La Paz (Bolivia) and Baku (Azerbaijan)
    Closest capital cities: Brazzaville & Kinshasha (Congo and D.R.C.) which are directly opposite each other on the Congo river (Technically the Vatican city is inside of Rome but that's just weird)

I've visited 22 of them so far, so only another 170+ to go :)

Then the sporcle geography quizzes are definitely for you...

http://www.sporcle.com/games/category/geography

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,964 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Pici wrote: »
    What sort of things should people know about in your opinion so that you consider them to have good general knowledge?

In terms of History I think knowing a fair bit about world war 2, the Renaissance, famous figures whose lives shaped the world such as Newton, Stalin, Christopher Columbus etc

In terms of geography you should have a good knowledge of the lay out of the world an the names of regions, cities etc

Those are two topics off the top of my head.

There are no rules to general knowledge. That's why it's called general knowledge.

It encompasses everything that can possibly be known, whether that's knowing that Josef Stalin studied for the priesthood at one point, or the middle names of the Jonas Brothers.

I like general knowledge. Watch a lot of quiz shows and spend more time than I should on Sporcle.
    I would consider myself above average on the subjects of world geography (I know all my capital cities), music (except classical, which I know fúck all about) and science. I'd be fairly decent on TV and literature as well.
    Pretty average at sport and history.
    Worst quiz category for me is definitely food & drink - like Kevin from Eggheads, I just don't care about it enough to learn shít about it. :p

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Would have thought that Dublin & Reykjavik were further from Wellington than Madrid?

The distance from Wellington to Madrid going east to west is further than Wellington to Dublin or Reykjavik going west to east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Went out with a girl once who was actually intelligent and has gone on to do well careerwise who thought Africa was a country and Nigeria was a city in it. I was gobsmacked.

Told my current missus this, who I'd also consider clever and she is degree educated, and she thought the same.

Worrying...

You went out with Sarah Palin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,464 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

When it comes to general knowledge, i've always followed the motto that it's better to know a little about a lot than a lot about a little...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Well, I have. I saw a star explode and send out the building blocks of the Universe. Other stars, other planets and eventually other life. A supernova! Creation itself! I was there. I wanted to see it and be part of the moment. And you know how I perceived one of the most glorious events in the universe? With these ridiculous gelatinous orbs in my skull! With eyes designed to perceive only a tiny fraction of the EM spectrum. With ears designed only to hear vibrations in the air.

I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays! I want to hear X-rays! And I want to - I want to smell dark matter! Do you see the absurdity of what I am? I can't even express these things properly because I have to - I have to conceptualize complex ideas in this stupid limiting spoken language! But I know I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws! And feel the wind of a supernova flowing over me! I'm a machine! And I can know much more......

Alternatively a mug of tea will do me just grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭amber69

uch wrote: »
    Ché Guevara's surname is Lynch !! True Story

Wasn't Lynch his mother's name?

Edit. . It was his paternal grandmothers surname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan