The General Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

This might sound cray-cray but I came to the same conclusion after a trip to Dubai last year. The food was unbelievable, the flavours from the fruit and veg... Even the carrots!

Not cray cray at all! :) That's just it, it's where the produce actually tastes like it is meant to taste. You know, plump and sweet tomatoes that taste like you'd grow them yourself. MASSIVE Spanish onions just bursting with flavor. Huge bulbs of purple garlic that packs a punch. I could go on.....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

Dubl07 wrote: »
    Do you ferry to Brittany and shop there or drive down to the South? I've wondered a few times about the short-stay shopping trips. We generally get the ferry to the west coast for holidays there but fly to Montpellier/Béziers and hire a car. Flying's rubbish for the amount of stuff I'd like to buy. :-)

We go with Irish Ferries - they do a wine run in Sept (and in March too I believe). Basically, it's out Fri evening back Sun lunchtime. The grand total of 6 hours in France!! They do the route from Rosslare to either Roscoff or Cherbourg, but Cherbourg is a lot easier. There's a Carrefour in Cherbourg (2 mins from the ferry), but we find the Auchan (about 15 mins) much better. Last year it worked out at about 150 euro pp for us - 2 nights on a boat too drinking porter and playing chess - bliss!

Merkin wrote: »
    A wine run you say??!! :) I think this is a great idea, a lot of the imported stuff doesn't seem to travel that well, better just doing it yourself! Are there any restrictions at customs these days?

We have French friends in France who are into wine for generations and they always tell us that the French export their worst wine. Basically, if they can't sell it locally they export. Not sure how true it is, but in the 6 or so years I'm doing the wine run I could count about 3 or 4 dodgy bottles. In fact last year's run was especially good and great value too. My own favourites - Bourgogne & St Emillion are great and don't think I spent over 6 euro on any of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

Loire wrote: »
    We go with Irish Ferries - they do a wine run in Sept (and in March too I believe). Basically, it's out Fri evening back Sun lunchtime. The grand total of 6 hours in France!! They do the route from Rosslare to either Roscoff or Cherbourg, but Cherbourg is a lot easier. There's a Carrefour in Cherbourg (2 mins from the ferry), but we find the Auchan (about 15 mins) much better. Last year it worked out at about 150 euro pp for us - 2 nights on a boat too drinking porter and playing chess - bliss!

Sounds great craic (apart from the porter) and it'd pay for itself! ;)

Dubl07 wrote: »
    Sounds great craic (apart from the porter) and it'd pay for itself! ;)

The more you spend the more you save :pac:

We have French friends in France who are into wine for generations and they always tell us that the French export their worst wine. Basically, if they can't sell it locally they export. Not sure how true it is, but in the 6 or so years I'm doing the wine run I could count about 3 or 4 dodgy bottles. In fact last year's run was especially good and great value too. My own favourites - Bourgogne & St Emillion are great and don't think I spent over 6 euro on any of them!

Oh God I'm actually salivating. A nice Bourgogne aligoté is also a firm favourite! (Did I mention I like a glass of wine? ;))

Interesting you say that re the exports, I've heard that too from a few locals but wasn't sure if it was just a bit of good PR or if they are actually serious!

Oh God I'm actually salivating. A nice Bourgogne aligoté is also a firm favourite! (Did I mention I like a glass of wine? ;))

Interesting you say that re the exports, I've heard that too from a few locals but wasn't sure if it was just a bit of good PR or if they are actually serious!

Bourgogne it is so tonight! Virtual booze-up anyone? :pac:

Will have to be a vicarious one for me but you knock yourself out and report back! :)

Any Coteaux du Layon / Sauternes drinker out there? Nice sunny day today, a bit more heat now and they'll be coming out from under the stairs :P

Haha, like what you did there! Isn't that from the LOIRE!! ;)

The former is (and better IMO), the latter is from Bordeaux. Both are great though. I find C du L less sweet. Nothing like them on a summer's evening with a nice dessert. :cool:

I'd love a glass of wine :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,859 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Am settling for a G&T right now. It's not my first & deffo not my last. Today is my last Friday in my current job. Finishing up on Monday.

I knew I'd be having a few this evening so settled on a Dinner Surprise for later. I.e., I plucked the first tupperware tub I found out if the freezer this morning. I've no idea what it is - hopefully a curry.

Am settling for a G&T right now. It's not my first & deffo not my last. Today is my last Friday in my current job. Finishing up on Monday.

Aww congratulations HB! Are you having the G & T at work or did you wait until you got home? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭geeksauce

Best thing to do on a Wine run, see if you can clock a local in the shop/supermarket and buy what they buy, cant go wrong.

If you're ever stuck, I'm sure this place in Cork would have work for you

http://www.hillbillysfriedchicken.com

:P

geeksauce wrote: »
    Best thing to do on a Wine run, see if you can clock a local in the shop/supermarket and buy what they buy, cant go wrong.

Good advice that. I remember one time buying a load of really cheap sparkling wine after I saw an ole lad pick up a few. They were divine!

Loire.

The former is (and better IMO), the latter is from Bordeaux. Both are great though. I find C du L less sweet. Nothing like them on a summer's evening with a nice dessert. :cool:

I prefer the Chenin Blanc (CduL) too but a good Muscat de Rivesaltes or similar, well chilled and served with good pâté, cured meats and petits salés or even Tuc crackers is equally luscious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

At the other end of the world we're hitting autumn, we have an abundance of persimmon (fuyu, the sweeter variety) and quince available. I'd like to try a savoury recipe or 2 with quince or persimmon if any has any good suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

I knew I'd be having a few this evening so settled on a Dinner Surprise for later. I.e., I plucked the first tupperware tub I found out if the freezer this morning. I've no idea what it is - hopefully a curry.

Fingers crossed it's not a box of giblets frozen for future grazy or something! Enjoy the G&Ts

I won't be home this weekend. Clearing out my desk & stuff over the weekend. Having a G&T in a bar in Bern. 29 gins & 6 tonics to choose from. Elephant Gin on the go right now with a tonic from Chile no less.

MissF - Even if it was a box of giblets I'd make a super meal out of it.

* breathes on fingernails & buffs on lapel * :pac:

Do tell?

Hack up the giblets & fry off with a mirepoix of onion, carrot & celery. Some stock, a bayleaf or two & a sprig of thyme.

Simmer for an hour & serve with crusty bread. Effin-A!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Makood

Hack up the giblets & fry off with a mirepoix of onion, carrot & celery. Some stock, a bayleaf or two & a sprig of thyme.

Now that sounds nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Minder

Why did I start reading this thread:o Trying to be good tonight and have a weekend off the sauce, but I'd murder a G&T now (Sipsmith & Fevertree) and a glass or two of Malbec with lamb dinner later. Willpower Willpower Willpower.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

At first I thought it was the gin speaking :P, but that's very impressive :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Getchoo :D

I'd love to do a wine run, to Spain preferably (turn up at the border with a bag shouting GIVE ME ALL YOUR RIOJA and see what happens) but i'm afraid I'd get eyes way bigger than my belly and end up being forcibly checked in somewhere to dry out after a few weekends with my stash

As herself isn't feeling well and won't be eating tonight I spent the budget on myself!!...fine big T bone from the butcher. Have a St. Emillion open and the kids are down ;)

Getchoo :D

I'd love to do a wine run, to Spain preferably (turn up at the border with a bag shouting GIVE ME ALL YOUR RIOJA and see what happens) but i'm afraid I'd get eyes way bigger than my belly and end up being forcibly checked in somewhere to dry out after a few weekends with my stash

Lol...that happens me the first few weeks every year when we get back....herself "you're opening a 2nd bottle and it's only Tuesday night?"...."quality control lovie" ;)