Judge calls it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭reprazant

Technically, since he has not been found guilty of the offence, we do not know it actually took place.

Can you state with 100% accuracy that he did break in and threaten the wife with a knife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

reprazant wrote: »
    Technically, since he has not been found guilty of the offence, we do not know it actually took place.

Can you state with 100% accuracy that he did break in and threaten the wife with a knife?

I'll let the court decide that in 6 months ,

Have you reason to suspect he /wasn't /didn't do anything ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Gatling wrote: »

Guilt has be proven not innocence.

As for the Judge, I think any Muslims defendants coming before them, could argue that the Judge has a bias against them, due to these comments. I would expect a Judge to have a bit more cop on, and not making sweeping generalization, that could bring into question there neutrality, when it comes to hearing cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭reprazant

Nope, I know nothing about the case other than the couple of lines relating to it from that article. I'd hazard at guess that you are the same. I did notice that he pleaded not guilty and that he has not, as of yet, been found guilty.

wes wrote: »
    Guilt has be proven not innocence.

As for the Judge, I think any Muslims defendants coming before them, could argue that the Judge has a bias against them, due to these comments. I would expect a Judge to have a bit more cop on, and not making sweeping generalization, that could bring into question there neutrality, when it comes to hearing cases.

The judge halpin is moving soon, well from tallaght at least promoted to the central criminal Court if I'm correct ,

Personally took more offence over his tallaght remarks and his call for the civil defense to be deployed

reprazant wrote: »
    Nope, I know nothing about the case other than the couple of lines relating to it from that article. I'd hazard at guess that you are the same. I did notice that he pleaded not guilty and that he has not, as of yet, been found guilty.

That's my reason for posting a poster on here claimed he didn't do anything ,
    And yes he hasn't been found guilty or other /the case is back in court in 6 months let's come back to it then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Why the f'uck would I care if some Spanish judge spoke the truth about it?

If the Spanish judge said that it seemed like all the Irish up in court were drunken violent louts, he'd be right.

If he thought that he could extrapolate from his experience that Irish in general were drunken violent louts, would he be right?

As said, if someone can audit the judge and his cases and show he is talking crap, sack him by all means.

Any audit is unnecessary, as he didn't say that his statement was limited to people in his courtroom. Instead he made a generalisation.

The judge halpin is moving soon, well from tallaght at least promoted to the central criminal Court if I'm correct ,

Personally took more offence over his tallaght remarks and his call for the civil defense to be deployed

So, the Judge has a history of saying outrageous things, which then make this latest one worse imho. So looks like some other could also claim bias against them. I would expect far better of a Judge. Perhaps its time for him to retire, if he keeps up with this carry on.

I'd be more worried about judges who can't seem or willing to give out a sentence for serious offences ,
    Than one who does an impression of prince Philip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Cian92 wrote: »

Judge Anthony Halpin seems to have a better grasp of reality than most Judges, Earlier in the year he said there was 'a total breakdown of social order' in Tallaght.

Yep. Worse than Somalia. The UN will be sending peacekeepers around May.

Nodin wrote: »
    Yep. Worse than Somalia. The UN will be sending peacekeepers around May.

Some tallaforians have officially requested help from mr Putin and his merry army

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Some tallaforians have officially requested help from mr Putin and his merry army

Don't think he'd be the right man for those type jobs :)

“If minorities prefer Sharia
    Law, then we advise them to
    go to those places where
    that’s the state law. Russia
    does not need minorities.

Minorities need Russia, and
    we will not grant them
    special privileges, or try to
    change our laws to fit their
    desires, no matter how loud
    they yell ‘discrimination”
    —Vladimir Putin

I'd be more worried about judges who can't seem or willing to give out a sentence for serious offences ,
    Than one who does an impression of prince Philip

I don't think its an either or situation. Surely, we are better off without either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Fair dues to him for what?
    He has now publicly displayed an irrational bias so wrong that he will have to either choose to recuse himself from any trial involving a member of the Muslim faith, or be removed from hearing any such case by a superior court.

In fairness it isn't irrational the faith is based on a book that says it is OK to beat your wife. It would be irrational if it was plucked from thin air.

If a Muslim does not follow the book they are not a full practicing Muslim and as such not Muslim at all. The same applies to not following rules set by the Pope and calling yourself Catholic.

I don't think its an either or situation. Surely, we are better off without either.

Fully agree but unfortunately it seems we're stuck with both it seems with zero say in the matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

Ah here, it's not a real beating, just an admonishment.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HWCkEZlu3mM

Hitchens wrote: »
    Don't think he'd be the right man for those type jobs :)

“If minorities prefer Sharia
    Law, then we advise them to
    go to those places where
    that’s the state law. Russia
    does not need minorities.

Minorities need Russia, and
    we will not grant them
    special privileges, or try to
    change our laws to fit their
    desires, no matter how loud
    they yell ‘discrimination”
    —Vladimir Putin

I'm sorry, hes not the man of your dreams.

http://www.hoax-slayer.com/putin-duma-speech-sharia-law.shtml

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

TheDoc wrote: »
    ]

I'm not muslim, but knew a few through my time in working life and college, and I don't recall their outlook or opinions on woman being anything outragous or disrespectful.

Have you ever talked to anyone from places like Lancashire, Luton or the towns around Leeds? To a man (and woman*) all I have met seem to have a fairly opposite opinion.

*the women from these towns I have met have even worse opinions than the men, primarily because of the sexism they get off a lot of the locals. One girl I met was a teacher who used to dread having to meet the fathers on parents nights, such was their disrespect of her ability as a female teaching boys.

All of told me the problems have got steadily worse post 9/11. More women adopting the full burqa (or letterboxes as their known as) being the one they found most intimidating.

I think Irish Muslims are more a different kettle of fish mind, seeing as they are far less likely to be growing up in an almost entirely Muslim area (around the Sth Circular Rd is the only place I can think of where they appear to form a very lare percentage of the population similar to parts of England).

But let's be honest, the judge likely has a better and more realistic view on who does what by the cases he has dealt with than anyone here does.

osarusan wrote: »
    If the Spanish judge said that it seemed like all the Irish up in court were drunken violent louts, he'd be right.

If he thought that he could extrapolate from his experience that Irish in general were drunken violent louts, would he be right?

Not quite. But I wouldn't get mortally offended by a Spanish judge saying "the Irish like to get drunk and fight". Because, on a whole, he would be partially right. At least on the count of getting rotten drunk. I love it myself. It's what we do, there is no point in denying it
    Any audit is unnecessary, as he didn't say that his statement was limited to people in his courtroom. .

I'm reading this as "we shouldn't do an audit in case we find that the percentage of Muslims tried in his court for domestic violence is higher than their percentage of the population"

Basically you are refusing to entertain whether he might actually be correct. I bet you can't wait for the day when freedom of speech is actually fully illegal.

I'm sorry, hes not the man of your dreams.

http://www.hoax-slayer.com/putin-duma-speech-sharia-law.shtml

It is still a good point though.

Would you agree that people who wish for a Sharia legal system and insist on their wives and daughters wearing a full burqa are best suited to not living in Western society and should go to live elsewhere?

But let's be honest, the judge likely has a better and more realistic view on who does what by the cases he has dealt with than anyone here does.

My bollocks he does. The eejit thinks the civil defence need to be deployed in Tallaght ffs.

Sunglasses wrote:
    Basically you are refusing to entertain whether he might actually be correct

....he made a comment about muslims. He did not refer to data, cases or anything.
    Sunglasses wrote:
    Would you agree that people who wish for a Sharia legal system and insist on their wives and daughters wearing a full burqa are best suited to not living in Western society and should go to live elsewhere?

What has this to do with the thread? Other than the usual "Waah, the muslims are comin".

Are you going to answer or not? Seeing as you made the time to quote the "Putin" statement, whether you agree with said statement or not is entirely relevant.

Again, the main point here is thus- anyone who disagrees with the statement needs to audit his domestic violence caseload from the last decade and see whether he is talking balls or not.

Are you going to answer or not?

It's not "relevant", you just seized on it to start the usual scaremongering cack.

If we throw out everyone who wants to change the country, the place would be empty. They can live here, as long as they don't try to force their crap on anyone else.

But isn't the defining tenet of Wahabbi/ Salafist Islam (which these people would likely follow) to eventually force this type of thing on a wider population? By default most families who force their women to wear the letterboxes would prefer the rest of society to live by their laws, correct? On the admittedly rare occasions I do see a woman wearing this stuff, the idea that she and her family are unsuited to living in Western society certainly flies through my mind.

But isn't the defining tenet of Wahabbi/ Salafist Islam (which these people would likely follow)............

Which people? The mythical people you have in your head? No idea. If you want to talk about a specific group living in Ireland, i'll hazard a guess though.

Goodnight :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

That judge needs to be sent to Tallamisbad for some re-education.

rockbeast wrote: »
    That judge needs to be sent to Tallamisbad for some re-education.

At least he is cracking down on the Tallaghtban :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Cian92 wrote: »
    He called it as it is. Fairplay.
    "Called it as it is"? What about all those muslim men who don't agree with beating women? It's fair enough to make the point that strains within Islam like sharia are repugnant, but it shouldn't be difficult to go to a bit more trouble then "Muslims feel they can beat their wives" in how it's said.
    D1stant wrote: »
    Qur'an (4:34) - "Men are the maintainers of women because Allah has made some of them to excel others and because they spend out of their property; the good women are therefore obedient, guarding the unseen as Allah has guarded; and (as to) those on whose part you fear desertion, admonish them, and leave them alone in the sleeping-places and beat them; then if they obey you, do not seek a way against them; surely Allah is High, Great."

That said, you can find some fairly medieval stuff in the Bible too
    Yeh, and not all christians today take the bible literally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

At least he is cracking down on the Tallaghtban :pac:

You may boil an egg
    You could batter a burger
    But you just can't beat your wife:eek::pac: