Inquiry set up into taping of phone calls from Garda stations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

THEY (GSOC) ARE OBLIGED TO PUT ALL THE EVIDENCE IN THE FILE, IT IS THE SOLE JOB OF THE DPP TO DECIDE WHICH EVIDENCE IS RELAVENT AND USABLE.
    GSOC WOULD BE ACTING ILLEGALLY IF THEY LEFT EVIDENCE OUT OF THE FILE!!! WHICH PART OF THAT SIMPLE FACT DO YOU NOT GET!!

I can't hear you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

So the AG was unable to attend the vital cabinet meeting on this debacle yesterday because she had to attend her son's Confirmation.:cool:

Isn't it great that she got her priorities right.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,741 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Roger_007 wrote: »
    So the AG was unable to attend the vital cabinet meeting on this debacle yesterday because she had to attend her son's Confirmation.:cool:

Ya because her sons can be confirmed anytime:rolleyes:. Hate someone putting family first.

She could not get to one have one with her today

yes, imagine someone putting their family first, shame on her.:rolleyes:

bubblypop wrote: »

If shatter couldn't be interrupted in Mexico why should she miss her sons confirmation, I knew the Catholic Church would end up getting the blame in all of this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,741 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Shady Tady wrote: »
    If shatter couldn't be interrupted in Mexico why should she miss her sons confirmation, I knew the Catholic Church would end up getting the blame in all of this!

I think ye both are in agreement his roll eye is sarcasm. I do not think its the Catholic Church I say what the original poster was stating is she is the AG and shoulkd be business first and drop everything else

She has a very important job to do. Sometimes family commitments have to be foregone. If she was a surgeon and an emergency case came up, would she just feck off and leave her patient to die?
    Anyway she has a husband. There is no law that says 2 parents have to be present at a Confirmation.
    The AG is the central figure in this whole mess and she should have been there. That's why we are paying her a handsome salary.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I'm no lover of the Govt.

But tbf....... Your child's confirmation isn't something a mother should miss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

I'm no lover of the Govt.

But tbf....... Your child's confirmation isn't something a mother should miss.

it's a confirmation ffs!! what was happening yesterday superceeded that bigtime!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ritual nonsense should be put back, the corruption of the legal/judicial process is far more pressing a matter.

I wonder how many other times GSOC sought tapes in stations and got them, let's see how long they knew about it and sought to use them

gee, Shatters speach is gas!

he is very good at stating how others did something wrong.
    his officials didnt give him the letter, GSOC didnt inform him of the practice etc etc

gee, Shatters speach is gas!

he is very good at stating how others did something wrong.
    his officials didnt give him the letter, GSOC didnt inform him of the practice etc etc

He should be getting penalty points for speeding through that speech......was he dying for a p1ss, or what:confused:

I'd say he took the piss during his speech!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,461 ✭✭✭Floppybits

The Church are about the only ones who didnt get blamed on this. Shatter blamed everyone else except himself in that speech.

Floppybits wrote: »
    The Church are about the only ones who didnt get blamed on this. Shatter blamed everyone else except himself in that speech.

I think the labour TD's are wishing the ground would open up and swallow them, great TV, fair play to Higgins daly and Shane Ross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

No asthma now............

Just heard on Newstalk that a trial in the Special Criminal Court has been adjourned due to 'current events'.
    What was it that Martin Callinan said about chickens coming home to roost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

I think the labour TD's are wishing the ground would open up and swallow them, great TV, fair play to Higgins daly and Shane Ross

Labour have been way too quiet on all of this. There seems to be a complete lack of courage in their ranks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,958 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The Judge in the case of three Gardaí convicted of assault and perverting the course of justice in Waterford in 2011 ruled that the recordings were illegally obtained and were inadmissible as evidence.
    robbiezero wrote: »
    Were the calls in the Waterford case actually taped calls between a solicitor and a client or something different?

I'm not sure that they were illegal in this case, just inadmissible because of no consent.

@robbiezero: no, it was a call between 2 members from a personal mobile to the station.

The tapes were requested, and requested to be used. GSOC should not have included them in the file as they were illegally recorded, the DPP should not have included them in the evidence was they were illegally recorded. They should not have ever been there full stop. Illegal evidence is not evidence. I hear a lot of people telling me information in relation to incidents, but if none of them wish to make a statement and go to court, i do not include it in the file and let the DPP decide if it should be included or not. I know it's inadmissible, and GSOC should have known that the recording was inadmissible, as should the DPP, but they both saw a high profile case and were salivating at the thought of hanging out members of AGS. Regardless of the outcome, both GSOC and the DPP included information which was illegally obtained, but was perfectly legal for their own intentions.

This is the only case i'm aware of where the recording to the station was requested to be used as evidence, and shock horror it was to be used against Gardaí, not against a member of the public. If you can give me a case where a recording to the station was used by Gardaí against a member of the public, then i will accept that. But i have only ever heard of it being used to reprimand a member of the force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I don't know if this has been posted yet........
    The Guardian also understands that a number of Dublin-based journalists are going to allege that their phones have been routinely monitored by gardai.
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/mar/26/ireland-justice-minister-alan-shatter-garda-bugging-scandal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

mikom wrote: »
    I don't know if this has been posted yet........

There was a journalist on with Sean O'Rourke discussing this today towards the end of his programme. Didn't catch her name, but she said her info was that her phone had been tapped for 4 years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Gatling wrote: »
    OK look at today's headlines now people are saying systematic recording ,news headlines today ,a call from a journalist ,a call from a witness and calls between garda ,from the 1990's
    Hardly systematic along with the the idea that there examining 2700 calls

There are 2700 taped recordings but the telephone systems were changed in the 80s so there might be millions of hours of digitally stored recordings since then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Enda Kenny had said to Stephen Donnelly in the Dail today (according to RTE) that Alan Shatter is in no way liked by the Gardaí nor by the Judiciary.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0326/604603-live-garda-controversy/

I wouldn't suspect that comment would have been strange in terms from Enda because of Shatter's dealings with the Gardaí about his drink driving fiasco although his past friendship with Callinan could be a different story altogether.

Although the Irish Judiciary not liking Shatter is probably one issue of significance in the Dail today that could be very important.

To find out that prisoners were potentially having phone calls recording with their solicitors is very unsettling in how our judiciary's independence could be saddling with conflicts of interest as it could overtime erode the public's trust within our police force. The Judiciary is meant to be written in Irish law as an independent institution but the influence of these Garda Recordings possibly having the function of manipulating that same view is scary and very damaging.

In my view, if a garda was found to be able to influence a court of law in the time of a court proceeding where a garda found to be a influence for their own personal interest well that is a very immoral function of the Gardaí that we have to get rid of.

I'm not going to suspect anything else though but it could be the reason of other Justice legislation being guillotined in the Dail that could make the lax laws we have in this country not being fit for purpose. Who Knows!

But I felt that it was a very striking development to write down here today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 bishop_bling

labour want " their liberal in FG " to stay on as marriage equality etc is their main priority

idiots , its a minor issue for the majority of the population and more importantly the electorate

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 bishop_bling

Call me Al wrote: »
    There was a journalist on with Sean O'Rourke discussing this today towards the end of his programme. Didn't catch her name, but she said her info was that her phone had been tapped for 4 years!

did he allow her to speak in full , o rourke is notoriously pro AGS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

As far as calls being recorded for security purposes and to have a record of bomb threats etc, I never saw places like Waterford as being particularly subversive or paramilitary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

foggy_lad wrote: »
    As far as calls being recorded for security purposes and to have a record of bomb threats etc, I never saw places like Waterford as being particularly subversive or paramilitary.
    The furore about this is hilarious. It's not actually about the recordings at all, it's a witchhunt to try and oust Shatter. If anyone actually thought this was a big deal, it would have been all over the papers when GSOC reported it.
    Why now? Because the timing is right.

The most obvious explanation is that this became standard practice in all Garda stations at a time when it may not have been illegal. Recording phone calls in and out of stations seems like a good idea. It then simply continued and nobody thought to review or amend the practice based on changing laws.

Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by incompetence.

Of course this isn't Shatter's fault, but it is his problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Call me Al wrote: »
    John Mooney (Sunday Times) stated last year that all journalists have an official phone and a second throwaway payg phone. They are fully aware that investigative journalist calls are monitored for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

Id say the garda are up the Wicklow mountains or at Kilbride Camp burning Black Maria loads of tapes as we speak.

A rotten rotten state. Devs Ireland.

Think of all the Gawrda automatons who knew and know all this **** was happening all along but were such cowards that they couldn't come out with it fearing the loss of their queens shilling or the free lorry loads of alcohol from Shell.

Brave Guards?

Cowards one and all. Harassing, abusing and stitching working class people up since day dot.

I hope this whole episode is a wake up call to those blinded by the indoctrination they have received from a young age. Of the friendly community gawrd visiting the schools brainwashing young kids with their filthy rotten elite protecting state.

Many Europeans are well aware of what the police are having learned the hard way. Its written on the back walls of Greece, Italy, Spain. ACAB.

http://photos3.pix.ie/C7/40/C74026D5E2154F188AB3E4EFB0A7E3E9-0000338570-0001972097-00500L-544CC3F64E9B43E6A48E796E52C00C42.jpg