77 year old man arrested in connection with mcconville murder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    First of all Mrs O'Loan says she was not a tout.
    http://www.policeombudsman.org/modules/investigation_reports/index.cfm/reportId/164
    And if you don't mind, I'll take her word over that of the cowardly brain dead scumbags who abducted her. Almost 20 thugs men and women,a drunken lynch mob, frothing at the mouth.
    What were they afraid of ? That the 6 year old twins would kick them in the shins?
    Mrs McConville committed the ultimate crime of being a blow in, and a Protestant blow in at that in the cesspit of gossip and idle chit chat that was Divis Flats.
    I hope she has haunted them all, in the dead of night, especially as they grow old and vulnerable, and that they close their eyes at night and see her miserable hungry frightened children's faces as they hauled their mother down the stairs.
    I hope that they and their supporters rot in hell.

Really? Ivor Bell is a protestant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 BrendanHughes1

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    When the I.R.A. were interrogating suspected informers they always complied with the Geneva Convention and the Judges Rules allowing ample time for sleep, consultation with solicitor etc.

Yep only the IRA did bad stuff. The British peacekeepers just went around building children's playgrounds & feeding little baby lambs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

FTA69 wrote: »
    Yeah, so in the middle of a conflict in which they depended on community support; they just decided to go out and shoot a single mother for the craic. Simply because they were evil bogeymen who wanted to display brutality? I'm sorry Fred, but it's your theory that's bloody implausible for honest..

And when they didn't get that community support, they just shrugged their shoulders and carried on like the nice cuddly chaps they were I suppose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

I suspect Adams will be questioned by the PSNI a week or so before the elections. Suddenly the reason for the sudden calming of Robinsons ire over the OTRs is becoming clear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

William F wrote: »
    The arrest is politically motivated. It's shocking that after everything the north has been through, Republicans are on the receiving end of arrests and British soldiers who murdered civilians in Derry and Ballymurphy walk scott free. It's a disgrace.

Did you ring Joe Duffy about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I suspect Adams will be questioned by the PSNI a week or so before the elections. Suddenly the reason for the sudden calming of Robinsons ire over the OTRs is becoming clear.

So do you not think an arrest is a good thing?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Yep only the IRA did bad stuff. The British peacekeepers just went around building children's playgrounds & feeding little baby lambs.

I never said that. In my opinion one shower of ***** were the same as the other. No Patrick Pearse glorious sacrifice ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

Those of us that despise the IRA and their political wing would care.

Your comment is insightful.

You are only using this case to further your anti republican views.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

hatz7 wrote: »

You are only using this case to further your anti republican views.

Thats rarely a bad thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭William F

Did you ring Joe Duffy about it?

Was that an attempt to be funny? Northern Ireland has to go, simple as that.

Having the RUC's successors attempting to put people on trial for actions committed during a war, a war which they were responsible for bringing about, is laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 BrendanHughes1

I never said that. In my opinion one shower of ***** were the same as the other. No Patrick Pearse glorious sacrifice ****e

The hunger strike.

I agree this murder was particularly gruesome but there's undoubtedly a double standard at least in the main stream media when it comes to IRA murders vs British murders & even loyalist murders, if the Shankill butchers had been Catholics who were going around butchering Protestants there would have been outrage & they would have been arrested a lot quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nodin wrote: »
    Really? Ivor Bell is a protestant.

Apparently himself and other Protestant members were known in the group as 'The Prod Squad'.

The UVF even had Catholic members which is very hard to fathom, most notably Terry Fairfield.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

What's all this protestant/Catholic nonsense? Surely republican/Unionist is the defining characteristic? As a unionist I have equal contempt for all religions equally! And I have noticed most of the more vocal republicans about boards share that contempt! Why would the way a person worships a god influence their political stance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

gallag wrote: »
    What's all this protestant/Catholic nonsense? Surely republican/Unionist is the defining characteristic? As a unionist I have equal contempt for all religions equally! And I have noticed most of the more vocal republicans about boards share that contempt! Why would the way a person worships a god influence their political stance?

Thank you for your post. The first intelligent post I have read in a long time.

You might take that up with "mrsbyrne".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

Nodin wrote: »
    You might take that up with "mrsbyrne".

Well if your going to suggest that religion has/had no part in the Troubles then you'll excuse me from any further involvement here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Was that all it took?

Well if your going to suggest that religion has/had no part in the Troubles then you'll excuse me from any further involvement here.

What I'm saying, rather specifically, is that your accusation that the killing had a sectarian motive bears little relation to the reality, particularily in light of Mr Bell being charged.

We have yet to see a source for this 'drunken mob' of 20 or so you mentioned earlier either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

It was the brits that labeled it sectarian, to cover up their evil deeds, the rest of the world knew different. I was in France and Italy years ago when the war was raging, it was a pleasure watching the news coverage there. They had qualified and respected journalists reporting on the ground in the six counties. Not like the coverage the likes of the prostitutes that distorted the war here and in old blighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

William F wrote: »
    Was that an attempt to be funny? Northern Ireland has to go, simple as that.

Having the RUC's successors attempting to put people on trial for actions committed during a war, a war which they were responsible for bringing about, is laughable.

If it was a war was this then not a war crime ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

But religion did play a very big part in it on both sides, the likes of the Shankhill Butchers and the UDA's C company targeted and murdered Catholics because they were Catholics, how many of their victims actually had connections to Republican paramilitaries?

On the other side think of the Kingsmill massacre where the PIRA lined up 11 innocent Protestant working men and shot them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

Personally, I'd wait until they've been found guilty /charged. Jumping the gun?

Jean McConville didn't get that chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

From reading the papers this morning, it seems that it comes down to the PSNI thinking that Bell is "Man Z" in the Boston Colleges interviews done by Anthony McIntyre.(Bell denies this)

Apparently all interviews were done on the basis that the people would not be identified until after they were dead, so McIntyre won't be helping out the PSNI on this.

Also, he is in the US which makes things difficult. And being a journalist, it wouldn't help McIntyre's career to much if he starts revealing sources.

Interesting to see what PSNI's next move will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'd imagine McIntyre would have no interest at all in coming back to norn iron, quite a few of his old buddies probably want a quiet word in a cow shed with him at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

porsche959 wrote: »
    What I also find strange is that when it suits them, people who are obsessed with criticising Sinn Fein and the IRA hold up the testimony of two convicted IRA terrorists who implicated Adams as gospel (the late Dolours Price and the late Brendan Hughes).

I don't see why a Republican would doubt Brendan Hughes and take the word of a politician like Adams or McGuinness over him.

I don't see any logical reason why. Maybe it was sour grapes and not a politician being economical with the truth.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

It was the brits that labeled it sectarian, to cover up their evil deeds, the rest of the world knew different. I was in France and Italy years ago when the war was raging, it was a pleasure watching the news coverage there. They had qualified and respected journalists reporting on the ground in the six counties. Not like the coverage the likes of the prostitutes that distorted the war here and in old blighty.

France and Italy would have had biases in the 70/80's, I wouldn't say it was balanced, maybe if you had a certain view.

Peter Taylor was and is a damn fine journalist, many an expose of wrong doing in Northern Ireland and he didn't give a bollicks whether you were Government, police, army, IRA or Loyalist. Shock horror, often contributed to ITN World in Action.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Shankhill Butchers ... UDA targeted and murdered Catholics because they were Catholics, how many of their victims actually had connections to Republican paramilitaries?

4% despite being fed intelligence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

K-9 wrote: »
    I don't see why a Republican would doubt Brendan Hughes and take the word of a politician like Adams or McGuinness over him.

I don't see any logical reason why. Maybe it was sour grapes and not a politician being economical with the truth.

I don't think anyone even ardent Republicans can defend what happend to Mrs McConville but if one is to accept Brendan Hughes version of events that implicate Adams in her murder must we also accept Hughes' assertions that Mrs McConville was an informer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I don't think anyone even ardent Republicans can defend what happend to Mrs McConville but if one is to accept Brendan Hughes version of events that implicate Adams in her murder must we also accept Hughes' assertions that Mrs McConville was an informer?

this seems to be the logical answer.....but part two of statement seems to elude almost every non-republican who quotes these two figures for some reason:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

I'm not sure that Mrs McConville's murder was in of itself conclusive proof she was a tout. She may have been. I don't know. Either way it was a cowardly horrific act. Particularly depriving her children of her remains for so long. To knowingly deprive 10 children of a mother by violent means beggars belief.

I can only conclude the IRA made an example of her, assuming they felt/knew she was a tout, by her disappearance and murder. Similar to how Robert Nairac is said have died and possibly subsequently his remains fed through a mincer. A dramatic statement of intent to act as a stark warning. These were dark moments in our history to rank along side the horrors committed by all sides.