Bouncer for teenagers party

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 311 ✭✭Silverbling

stimpson wrote: »
    Did you get any spring rolls?

I swopped them for honey wings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I'm 6'4" and a brick-sh1t-house. The Gards had given up trying to control the crowd and had left (yeah, that bad) - these parties can spiral fast in ways you can only imagine. T'eldest only knew about half the people there and at the peak there were c.a 3-400(yeah, that bad). Nicest part was that pretty much everything not locked away in spare rooms was robbed. Honestly, never, not for diamonds, ever, again would I let them hold even a tea-party.

And, I've seen it happen to about eight or nine other houses since, so no way was this a one off. I'll be honest, I kinda give a slightly jaded inner schadenfreude giggle when I hear someone say their teen is having a house party since. They have wrecked every house that had one - and these are normal teens, not "gurriers" though I kinda wonder tbh. I'm wise to the feckers now, but god, I wasn't before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

The logic of a teenager, I will not tell anyone our address so it will all be grand lol

I wouldn't be too put off OP. I know we hear shock stories of how a teenager has a party and the entire county and their cousins turn up but these are the rare cases. Keep a lid on it, no more than 20 or so, crack the whip on the drink and make sure your son knows that if things get out of hand, it's his responsibility and will impact his socialising until he's out of the house. I'm only 18 myself, so you can take my advice with a pinch of salt, but for the most part teenagers aren't the horrible little ****s that everyone says they are. The ones who are you'll know right off and be able to ask your son abou them.

It's about trust. Your son's fifteen (or nearly) and you should know yourself whether you trust him enough to be responsible.

EDIT: One of those shock stories actually happened to a lad I know, a year or so younger than me, in Cloyne. Sound lad, polite as you please, but he made it an open event on facebook and his friends invited everyone they knew and before you know it there was busloads of people turning up from waterford and kanturk.

I now have more info on the numbers, it makes sense in a teenager way

football team + mates I know = 30

invite 40 girls in case a few do not turn up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Seriously OP you need to lay down the law here, you are the parent, you decide the terms of the party, if he's not happy, no party. Simple as that.

If you are worried that on the day you'll suddenly have extra guests why not get some friends or family members over on the night to help you turn them away or to evict anyone acting the maggot, take drink etc.

I know what teenagers can be like, it can be hard to deal with them but if you are really at a point where you think you need a bouncer for a kids party, time to wake up and smell the coffee.

Nip this crap in the bud now.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Seriously OP you need to lay down the law here, you are the parent, you decide the terms of the party, if he's not happy, no party. Simple as that.

If you are worried that on the day you'll suddenly have extra guests why not get some friends or family members over on the night to help you turn them away or to evict anyone acting the maggot, take drink etc.

I know what teenagers can be like, it can be hard to deal with them but if you are really at a point where you think you need a bouncer for a kids party, time to wake up and smell the coffee.

Nip this crap in the bud now.

I thought it was a great idea! have a bouncer on the gate, myself and other mothers hovering around

I thought it was a great idea! have a bouncer on the gate, myself and SWAT Team other mothers hovering around
    fyp. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Jackal756

The kid is 15 why is he calling the shots also why in gods name do you need a bouncer for a party for kids in your own backyard it's your house your money paying for it your rules!

Jackal756 wrote: »
    The kid is 15 why is he calling the shots also why in gods name do you need a bouncer for a party for kids in your own backyard it's your house your money paying for it your rules!

LOL you are a bit late to the party that did not happen thanks to the wise words of Mr Stavros Murphy!

this has to be a troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

So....did the party go ahead?

No he had a sleepover with 3 mates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Did ya get them a 50 bag?

If that is a type of pizza then yes, if it refers to booze, drugs or money then no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Lame

If that is a type of pizza then yes, if it refers to booze, drugs or money then no

It usually leads to pizza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭burstbuckle

Lame

At least he had a threesome for his birthday

4some

Lame

After listening to you lot parties are only for the grown ups :) and I did not have to hit anyone with pringles and my radiators are still on the wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Call it off, especially if his phone is hopping!

Our neighbour let his 16 year old have a NYE party, and due to social media, it got out of control. He threw them all out when some young one passed out, even though the whole thing was supposed to be alcohol free.

He then had angry parents on the doorstep at 12am, there to collect, but as the party had moved elsewhere, their kids were nowhere to be seen.

It's not worth the hassle. Stick to First Communions.

After listening to you lot parties are only for the grown ups :) and I did not have to hit anyone with pringles and my radiators are still on the wall

Wise Woman you. I sh1tted you not, btw, and I've lolled at a fair few since too - it's like a conveyor belt of destruction. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

I have convinced my nine year old daughter that Facebook is like so last year.......... Problem is, I don't know what 'the young wans' will be using when she is allowed free internet access. Won't somebody think of the parents???????????

sadie06 wrote: »
    Call it off, especially if his phone is hopping!

Our neighbour let his 16 year old have a NYE party, and due to social media, it got out of control. He threw them all out when some young one passed out, even though the whole thing was supposed to be alcohol free.

He then had angry parents on the doorstep at 12am, there to collect, but as the party had moved elsewhere, their kids were nowhere to be seen.

It's not worth the hassle. Stick to First Communions.

I have a communion in May that will be in the garden, hopefully no bouncers needed but, the birthday was Easter Sunday which was great for me, not so good for him, he had to eat lamb and listen to boring relatives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

It does happen though. My friend's husband was a bouncer at some teen party recently.

Wise Woman you. I sh1tted you not, btw, and I've lolled at a fair few since too - it's like a conveyor belt of destruction. :)

I listened, the pringles got to me I hate the smell of them, I told him the cost of bouncers, portaloo and any damage was coming out of his bank account, he decided to leave the moths in peace

Magaggie wrote: »
    It does happen though. My friend's husband was a bouncer at some teen party recently.

I thought it was a great idea to prevent the social network thing getting out of hand, prevention instead of regrets

Poor teenagers while they have internet they will never know the joys of a teenage party snogging the one you fancy or their mate if they get in first and listening to crap music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

From being a teenager, I can remember that they don't take no for an answer when it comes to parties. They arrive up in a group of twenty, you tell them to feck off, there's no party, but they'll hang around outside for a while. They have nothing better to do and they arrived with the idea that they were getting drunk and/or a ride tonight, so they're not going to leave.
    Two or three of the slimey little fnckers will find a way in while your back is turned (over a wall or a gate or whatever), and let the other twenty in. Before you know it there are 100 of the bastards running around trashing your house.
    You're not their parent, they don't even know your son, so they have no respect for either of you or your boundaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

seamus wrote: »
    From being a teenager, I can remember that they don't take no for an answer when it comes to parties. They arrive up in a group of twenty, you tell them to feck off, there's no party, but they'll hang around outside for a while. They have nothing better to do and they arrived with the idea that they were getting drunk and/or a ride tonight, so they're not going to leave.
    Two or three of the slimey little fnckers will find a way in while your back is turned (over a wall or a gate or whatever), and let the other twenty in. Before you know it there are 100 of the bastards running around trashing your house.
    You're not their parent, they don't even know your son, so they have no respect for either of you or your boundaries.

That's when the hurl is produced and all trespassers to told leave the vicinity immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Have held a couple of 16th party's for the kids. If their parents allowed them to drink they could bring two and everyone had to be gone by 12:30. Never had any trouble although i did stay throughout the evening to keep an eye on things. At that age you'll know the ones that's not wanted and i made sure they weren't asked. I'd rather my kids had a drink in front of me where i could keep an eye rather than a flaggon of cider down the line like i did

I was thinking about this today, us older ones had parties and invited anyone who lived in walking distance

I posted this looking for a bouncer because of the stories I heard about social networks and bus loads of kids who do not give a sh!t so thought I would prevent aggro

Are the kids missing out on parties due to unknown people?

I am 48 and remember my 15th well, my dad caught me snogging a fella and wanted to kill him and my stepmother said relax its a boy not a girl which completely confused him lol

I also remember the phone plugged in the hall and the boy saying he would ring at 6.00pm and by 6.01pm being afraid to lift the phone to check if it was working, no call by 6.10pm and it was over............next

So a sort of serious discussion for AF but has social media wrecked our teenagers lives?

The anticipation of that phone call and the heart leap when it rang is missing in these days of 212 texts per hour