German Couple Beaten on St. Patricks Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Links234 wrote: »
    It's a look of disapproval, a grumpy face that is meant to display that I am unimpressed with your comment. However, I'm using it ironically, because I actually laughed.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

I shall copy it and overuse it for years after it has gone out of fashion. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

remember the thread a while ago with people spouting that foreigners weren't welcome in Ulster, that was humorous

Kippure wrote: »
    What is also needed is a uniquie group of individuals who operate outside the law and BEAT THE LIVING F@CK out of these scummers.

haha I was thinking about that lately.

Unfortunately, with the costs of jailing someone as they are, we can forget about ridding the streets of these sorts of people any time soon.

I got to thinking while in town and seeing two scumbags in the bracket of ''200 convictions'', just walking around looking for someone or some way to get a cheap steal.

Imagine if a group of ppl set up, got baseballs bats and just beat those types after every court appearance that appears in the paper.... nothing to the head or neck, just destroy their lower halves and remind them if will happen again if they appear back in court.

Obviously we'd all love to live in a country where we actually punished criminality, but alas it's not to be.... and that day-dream I had would at least go some way to clearing the city centres and putting fear in these types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

orangesoda wrote: »
    remember the thread a while ago with people spouting that foreigners weren't welcome in Ulster, that was humorous

Yeah, yous can hold a parade in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Whats your point? Other than your constant "Ulster" agenda of course!

You think two crimes against foreigners in a city of hundreds of thousands , on the most drunken day of the year, is suddenly mass violent xenophobia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

Me and the wife were in Dublin city centre on the 16th, went to have dinner at around 7. Afterwards we said we'll stroll through Temple Bar to get a taste of the "festivities". Straight away, outside the old Eamon Doran's, we see a scrote and his lovely girlfriend screaming at what looked like a tourist and throwing punches at him. Then as he retaliated, the lovely girl screaming "what are ye doin, Im pregnant" etc.

Yep, went home after that, and stayed in on the 17th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

SpaceTime wrote: »
    The only continental places I've felt that vibe in are Brussels and Paris oddly enough.
    Latvia is a dangerous place to be a tourist too, Russians will pick fights with any English speakers, they threw glasses at our group as we walked down the street, the police are as bad beating up lone men walking around drunk. Rotterdam can be a dodgy spot, when I was there the streets were over run with fighting teens.

Maybe the Russians have the right idea, the older generation is always saying what we need is another war to teach these ruffians some manors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭gerarda

This would work.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Prison and detention is a joke in this country and these skangers wear it like a badge of honour. Only way to get the message through is to hit them where it hurts, their pockets. Mandatory €10,000 fine or suspension of benefits for over 18's and fine the parents of anybody under 18. When they can't get their 20 blue, latest flatscreen TV or sky sports package they will soon take notice... Same applies to the parents of these under age rodents who are let run free, if they were found culpable for their kids actions they might actually control them.

tin79 wrote: »
    Whats your point? Other than your constant "Ulster" agenda of course!

You think two crimes against foreigners in a city of hundreds of thousands , on the most drunken day of the year, is suddenly mass violent xenophobia?

no some people just need to take a look at their own country before they criticize others, like in the previous thread and then people get a wee bit sensitive when you point that out

Yeah, yous can hold a parade in peace.

St Patricks parade went off very well in fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

They should send them over to Germany, and put them on trial there. That should teach them a lesson :mad:

St Patricks parade went off very well in fact

While your youngfellas get their rocks off the rest of the year.

i don't have any sons good fellow

I hope Scotland take's yous, all of yous.

me too, rebuild the Dal Riata kingdom with our gaelic cousins

RoboRat wrote: »
    Prison and detention is a joke in this country and these skangers wear it like a badge of honour.
    That's the same in a lot of countries. Even in America where they have very harsh jail sentences gang members see a life sentence as a badge of honor.

Only way to get the message through is to hit them where it hurts, their pockets. Mandatory €10,000 fine or suspension of benefits for over 18's and fine the parents of anybody under 18. When they can't get their 20 blue, latest flatscreen TV or sky sports package they will soon take notice... Same applies to the parents of these under age rodents who are let run free, if they were found culpable for their kids actions they might actually control them.
    That could only make things worse though, they'll just steal more to make up the difference.

Strict punishment doesn't make things better, it only gives the general public a sense of revenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Phoenix wrote: »
    What good would torturing and beating these people do?

Pay no mind to half the sh-it that gets posted on here. A mixture of keyboard warriorisms mixed with impotent rage.

The only part of this incident that suprises me is that people seem genuinely surprised that it happened at all. I mean, to think that a day almost completely built around the consumption of excess amounts of alcohol could end in random acts of thuggery?

Who'd have guessed?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

Its a pity it takes random attacks on tourists to highlight the problem in Dublins city centre as these kind of attacks happen all too often on law abiding Dubliners themselves.

Although I do acknowledge the point its not good for the 'Cead Mile Failte'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Good to see the torture fetishes as usual in this threads....

Problem is a lack of policing and not enforcing the existing legislation.

Example, Gardaí are well in their power to take alcohol off anyone under 18 as well as the fact it is illegal in this country to be drunk in public.

So if they actually enforced the laws we'd have the alcohol taken off these little scumbags and they'd be locked up for being drunk in public but does it happen? Like hell it does.

We need something similar to drunk tanks in every Garda station, you are drunk in public you are brought in and left there with the other drunks over night, next morning you're in front of a judge and given a big fine, doesn't matter what age you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Strumms wrote: »
    I've lived in Paris and its in no way as dangerous as Dublin. The only areas in Paris that have a reputation would be certain parts of the suburbs which are quite a distance from the centre. I used to transverse the city at all times of night on my own coming back from pubs or mates gaffs. You'd come across the odd drunk shouting stuff or pissing in a Metro or RER carriage but that's as bad as it got.

In Dublin there is always an undercurrent feeling of unprovoked violence around every corner. Swathes of tracksuit wearing sub scum patrol the streets without fear of consequence often off their heads waiting for someone to look crossways at them or on occasion they probably don't even need a lame excuse. It wouldn't be tolerated in Paris where Police and the justice system is actually a deterrent.

I totally agree that Dublin has a menacing feel to it. I wasn't arguing with that. I actually think Dublin is a ****hole. I wouldn't live there again if you paid me. I just don't think this kind of violence is unique to Dublin. It's rife in the UK for a start and this idea that continental Europe is so peaceful and idyllic in comparison is bollix. I've seen my fair share of shady behaviour in European countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I totally agree that Dublin has a menacing feel to it. I wasn't arguing with that. I actually think Dublin is a ****hole. I wouldn't live there again if you paid me. I just don't think this kind of violence is unique to Dublin. It's rife in the UK for a start and this idea that continental Europe is so peaceful and idyllic in comparison is bollix. I've seen my fair share of shady behaviour in European countries.
    The UK is just an example of what will happen in Dublin if nothing changes. The state of the place now is pretty bad, I hate the place and will hopefully be gone again soon but a good look into the future is looking at certain areas of London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭ankaragucu

Isnt it time to say, ' we dont care what sort of upbringing these scumbags have had"
    Why should innocent people suffer because of someone else's upbringing.Would take a generation or so to sort them out once and for all.If the scumbags and their parents really knew that their transgressions would be ruthlessly dealt with in a way that would REALLY hurt them then maybe things would change.
    Of course not everyone who had a deprived upbringing turns out to be a scumbag such as we're talking about here.Most human beings can tell the difference between right and wrong.Which only lends strength to the argument of truly hammering the scumbags for their mindless thuggery.
    Or maybe, most alarmingly, the authorities actually want the situation to remain as it is because if they ever adopted a radical approach to these scumbags and actually solved the problem they'd be out of a job.
    I work in Dublin city centre and the sights I see on a daily basis on Abbey St and O'Connell St..........well, lets just say I cringe when I see tourists encountering some of these 'heads'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

Phoenix wrote: »
    What good would torturing and beating these people do?
    What they did is inexcusable but is this a direct result of something within Irish society that isnt being tackled in any great measure?

Plenty of people here seem to be suggesting that the tolerance by the judicial system of random assaults needs to be tackled. That would seem fair enough, wouldn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

That could only make things worse though, they'll just steal more to make up the difference.
    Its not like postage stamps, they have to be able to justify where they got the money from as it would go through revenue. You cant just wade into the court with a black sack full of €20 notes!
    Strict punishment doesn't make things better, it only gives the general public a sense of revenge.

So just leave them to it? Give them more facilities? Educate them? The problem is that the punishment is not harsh enough to act as a deterrent or not enforced. The guards are also running scared and to be honest, I don't blame them. New York used to be overrun with gangs and crime yet it managed to clean up its act through its 3 strikes policy and now its considered one of the safest cities in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

I hate Paddy's Day, even in my home town it is always the roughest day/night of the year. All the scumbags emerge from the woodwork. Best avoiding town I say.

The justice system in this country is laughable, the youths who committed these attacks will get a slap on the wrist and be off on their merry way to re-offend.

RoboRat wrote: »
    Its not like postage stamps, they have to be able to justify where they got the money from as it would go through revenue. You cant just wade into the court with a black sack full of €20 notes!
    I don't think thiefs report their earnings to revenue and they tend to go for free legal aid rather than paying for their solicitor.

So just leave them to it? Give them more facilities? Educate them? The problem is that the punishment is not harsh enough to act as a deterrent or not enforced. The guards are also running scared and to be honest, I don't blame them. New York used to be overrun with gangs and crime yet it managed to clean up its act through its 3 strikes policy and now its considered one of the safest cities in the world.
    In the city centre, I don't think all of New York is considered safe. America still has huge crime rates and very strict jail sentences, it doesn't work. Even the Iranians have pulled back from chopping bits off drug users and using rehabilitation instead. Strict prison sentences simply don't fix the problem, sure we punish the people who commit violent crimes but that's just a band aid to restrict that particular person for a brief moment in time, it doesn't stop more crime from happening.

Give harsh sentences but if you want to reduce crime you need to start fixing social problems. Overall it's a common problem with densely populated areas, people see other people as disposable. The lack of a community is part of the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Violence on St. Patricks day................ I blame the cannabis.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Between this and the 2 lads attacking the Brazilian lad, you'd wonder how people's minds are so deficient and undeveloped that they think this behaviour is okay. Kicking somebody in the head, no matter what the situation, should lead to at least a 5 year sentence. Absolute scummy carryon. Paramilitary police on occasions like this would also help I'm sure. Leather these c**ts with batons. Might teach them the error of their ways.

The problem with that though is paramilitary style police in the background during Paddys day celebrations is the last thing we want being beamed around the worlds media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

The problem is simple. As usual we can't seem to get the basics right.

I strolled the length of Temple bar that day, there were ony two Guards in the area standing around watching under-age teens stroll about sipping cans in Temple Bar square. All the other Guards I saw were manning crossings and directing traffic.

There needs to be a ban on on-street drinking along the parade route, if you want to watch the parade with a few cans, watch it at home on TV.

There should have been several two man patrols patroling up and down the area between Christchurch and Temple Bar and O'Connell St to Grafton St.

These patrols should have had a small corpo street sweeper with a bin following and they should have been seizing alcohol from any teens drinking on the street.

We need to reintroduce the 'drunk tank'. If you're drunk and disorderly on the street on Paddy's (or frankly any other) Day, the patrols should scoop you up and deposit you at a warehouse on the outskirts of the city filled with 6x6 cages and a bucket for the night and a hundred euro fine in the morning. If you're an underage drinker then your parents have to come and pick you up and pay the fine.