German Couple Beaten on St. Patricks Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

I absolutely detest Patrick's day at the best of times and this is just another reason why I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I don't get that. When I was a teenager the gardai were constantly on our backs chasing us & confiscating our drink.

The Gards didn't seem all that interested to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

SpaceTime wrote: »
    The only continental places I've felt that vibe in are Brussels and Paris oddly enough.

We got assaulted at a table outside a restaurant in Paris. Weird druggie Guy kept harassing us then threw food at us.

Also a guy got onto the RER train from Charles de Gaulle into the centre of Paris off his face drunk (wine bottle in hand) then urinated against the wall of the carriage!

Loads of random nasty stuff in Brussels too.

Not unique to Dublin but, still inexcusable.

Definitely. Certain areas of Paris are sketchy enough. I wouldn't go wandering too far off the beaten track there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

The Gards didn't seem all that interested to be honest.

Crazy. The YouTube guys who beat up the man from Brazil were released without charge. Yay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Between this and the 2 lads attacking the Brazilian lad, you'd wonder how people's minds are so deficient and undeveloped that they think this behaviour is okay. Kicking somebody in the head, no matter what the situation, should lead to at least a 5 year sentence. Absolute scummy carryon. Paramilitary police on occasions like this would also help I'm sure. Leather these c**ts with batons. Might teach them the error of their ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I hear far more people pre-empting "It's their terrible childhood" type defences than this actually being used as a defence.
    On the odd occasion that I do hear of it, it's more that it's a factor in explaining, not an excuse.

I don't get that. When I was a teenager the gardai were constantly on our backs chasing us & confiscating our drink.

Were yous up to much? They used to love shaking down my mates and I despite us doing nothing other than the drinking. The roving groups who would jump people randomly in the middle of town were left to their own devices though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭deegs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Links234 wrote: »
    ಠ_ಠ

I can't keep up with your god-damn kids and your squiggles.

What does that one mean?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Zeebs

Crazy. The YouTube guys who beat up the man from Brazil were released without charge. Yay.

A file has been sent to the DPP. Gardai reviewed CCTV and apparently their disgusting claims that the Brazilian student had hit one of their female friends beforehand was complete ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Put 'em in a field and bomb the bastards.

Simples.

Saves a fortune

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

FTA69 wrote: »
    I'm not saying that it doesn't exist elsewhere but I don't think it's as common in other parts of Western Europe for the simple fact that they don't get as messy drunk from such a young age. Similarly I don't think codding ourselves that there isn't a disproportionate problem in Ireland with this kind of sh*t is helping us at all.

Recently there was a thread about drinking levels in Ireland and people were mad to jump in and pontificate about how Ireland's no worse than anywhere else. You need to be mature enough to admit there is a problem before you ever hope to tackle it.

Oh it is way up there at the top of the league, don't get me wrong.

My concern is that there's actually a growing problem in a few places in Europe, Ireland's leading the way on it though!

On the continent when the police do deal with, they DEAL with it.

In Ireland, they're not resourced enough at all for this kind of stuff.

Were yous up to much? They used to love shaking down my mates and I despite us doing nothing other than the drinking. The roving groups who would jump people randomly in the middle of town were left to their own devices though.

We were just girls drinking, like everybody did!! Some of the guys who would be out sometimes were probably carrying stuff...the gardai probably thought we'd be dumb enough to hide stuff for them!

"file sent to DPP"....does anything ever happen with these files that are sent to the DPP ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭kjbsrah1

It will be interesting to see what the Guards say about racist crimes - Ireland has no race crimes according to AGS. We all know differently. Annual statistics issued by AGS year after year make no mention of race crimes. They say we don't have race crime in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

What is also needed is a uniquie group of individuals who operate outside the law and BEAT THE LIVING F@CK out of these scummers.

vicwatson wrote: »
    "file sent to DPP"....does anything ever happen with these files that are sent to the DPP ?

That's the other thing, the public prosecution services in Ireland are organised weirdly and are not resourced.

There should be a team of state-employed barristers doing prosecutions in the same way as say Canada (which has a very similar and familiar legal system).

Over there a QC works in the prosecutors' office and will be involved in a case in a similar way to a DA in the US.
    Even for a minor offence, a QC does the charging and bargaining and all that stuff and the case is likely to end up before a judge much more quickly.

There's a HUGE issue here with the costs of taking a case being ridiculously high (for both the state and the defendant) due to the way barristers are hired.

Justice has to be accessible and fairly swift for it to work at all. What we have created is some kind of a gravy train for the legal profession instead of a justice system.

deegs wrote: »

Jeepers. First neknominations getting out of control now this. What is wrong with kids of today? Teenagers should be banned.

Tilly wrote: »
    What the hell is wrong right with these people???? :mad:

FYP

It is not in the interest of the judiciary or the guards to sort this problem out

why though, I dont understand that, they have to live in this society too.

Politicians have families, garda members have family, of course its in their interests to clean society up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Freddie Dodge

I hear far more people pre-empting "It's their terrible childhood" type defences than this actually being used as a defence.
    On the odd occasion that I do hear of it, it's more that it's a factor in explaining, not an excuse.

Even you aren't trying to defend this one, says enough about it really.

Oh wait, mango salsa and old hippy are still without a post on this one..... maybe they'll come up with a "credible" defence.

Kippure wrote: »
    What is also needed is a uniquie group of individuals who operate outside the law and BEAT THE LIVING F@CK out of these scummers.

do you remember years ago, New Yorkcity had a group called the Guardian Angels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Definitely. Certain areas of Paris are sketchy enough. I wouldn't go wandering too far off the beaten track there.

I've lived in Paris and its in no way as dangerous as Dublin. The only areas in Paris that have a reputation would be certain parts of the suburbs which are quite a distance from the centre. I used to transverse the city at all times of night on my own coming back from pubs or mates gaffs. You'd come across the odd drunk shouting stuff or pissing in a Metro or RER carriage but that's as bad as it got.

In Dublin there is always an undercurrent feeling of unprovoked violence around every corner. Swathes of tracksuit wearing sub scum patrol the streets without fear of consequence often off their heads waiting for someone to look crossways at them or on occasion they probably don't even need a lame excuse. It wouldn't be tolerated in Paris where Police and the justice system is actually a deterrent.

Oh wait, mango salsa and old hippy are still without a post on this one..... maybe they'll come up with a "credible" defence.

Upbringings obviously have a lot to do with it, as well as that at the end of the day, a lot of teenage boys aspire to be 'hard men'

I hate seeing what used to be a sweet little cute boy throwing shapes around the local shops wearing a dodgy track suit with a crappy haircut. Why do some Irish boys feel the need to identify themselves like this right up to their mid twenties?

If people really think Dublin is bad they should try a regional town on a weekend night. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

anncoates wrote: »
    I can't keep up with your god-damn kids and your squiggles.

What does that one mean?

It's a look of disapproval, a grumpy face that is meant to display that I am unimpressed with your comment. However, I'm using it ironically, because I actually laughed.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Play the ball, no the man, as per the old football adage. No need to have a go at them for having a different opinion.

I do find it funny though that people are posting all sorts of torture porn in here against the people responsible. If you wish that on them, how does that make you any better than them?

By all means throw the book at them, but it looks a bit ridiculous people post that sort of stuff, when if they met these littke ***** in the street, most people would cross the road.

We need a better judicial system, that actually imposes sentences and punishments. Not vigilanties dispensing random justice to who they see fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Play the ball, no the man, as per the old football adage. No need to have a go at them for having a different opinion.

I do find it funny though that people are posting all sorts of torture porn in here against the people responsible. If you wish that on them, how does that make you any better than them?

By all means throw the book at them, but it looks a bit ridiculous people post that sort of stuff, when if they met these littke ***** in the street, most people would cross the road.

We need a better judicial system, that actually imposes sentences and punishments. Not vigilanties dispensing random justice to who they see fit.

Without the "better judicial system" which will never happen, random justice might be the only one available

The key things that need to be tackled to solve it are :

1) More gardai on the beat (preferably in visible cars with proper resources).
    2) Reform of the way the DPP deals with offences. There needs to be a look at best practice from countries with similar legal systems. Canada would be a very good place to start looking.
    3) Reduce the costs of going to court.
    4) Clear the jails of non-violent criminals and use things like electronic tagging for non-serious stuff and attachment to earnings / welfare payments for non-payment of fines. The courts are using the prison system as a debt collection service too much.
    5) Use those spaces for repeat violent criminals and make the sentences FAR harsher. I'd advocate something like first offence - small sentence & a second chance based on good behaviour. 2nd offence - throw the book at them as they clearly don't learn.

Also, we need to seriously tackle the drugs issue to cut out petty crime. It's pointless jailing junkies, they need help and probably compulsory help in some cases to get off the drugs. That will cut demand which will cut down on gang crime.
    Meanwhile, you throw your resources into tackling the higher up dealers and suppliers.

There's nothing right or left wing about a functioning justice system.

What we have at the moment obviously doesn't really work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha