Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Need to buy a new tyre today. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'm trying to find an old thread I set up last year. It was about how much the 05 octavia was worth I know it's obviously not worth the same now but I remember a few good things being mentioned on it and want to read through it again. Is there some way of filter downing to see the threads I set up rather than just one I posted in ?

In your profile go into stats and "All threads started by me"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

GvidoR wrote: »
    Need to buy a new tyre today. :(

At least its not 4 ;)

True, but still I would prefer to buy none. I'm rolling on a budget. :D

You and me both, April is not going to be fun for me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You and me both, April is not going to be fun for me :o

My birfday is in April. Some B8 shocks should help make me forget I'm turning into an old furt :(

My birthday is April too... Some coilovers would help me forget about that awful day. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Mine 3 :D

I'm hoping for a new car though :P

If any of ye want to pay my tax, insurance and pcv kit fitting I'll be very happy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

My Birthday too! April 1st son!

Nah your parents have just been playing a really long april fools joke on you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

@TP, those new wheels on your Saab look even better in person! Can't believe that I ever thought the old ones were better :O

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    @TP, those new wheels on your Saab look even better in person! Can't believe that I ever thought the old ones were better :O

You seen em? :D the show up nicely when its clean, although its an incredibly hard colour to keep clean :( I only washed it friday and its filthy again

Got the tyre replaced... €60 outta my pocket. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

A few times since I got my car I would get out of it after a drive and get a smell like hot brakes. But the discs never seemed to be overly warm. Had the fan going after shutting off as well. I am only now after realising it was the feckin DPF I was smelling after weeks of researching electric brake problems on Passats thinking that was the issue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭guttenberg

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/news/10703514/The-Audi-seats-being-stolen-to-order.html

Please tell me interior thieving hasn't reached these shores yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Thoughts on black plates lads?

1619375_699392096769684_191553183_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

They suit it lovely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Definitely need straightening though, my inner right angles are screaming. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

dar83 wrote: »
    Definitely need straightening though, my inner right angles are screaming. :P

The look far better and I agree with the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Is adverts as bad as ever to sell a car on ? I suppose probably best to stick to donedeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Got the tyre replaced... €60 outta my pocket. :(

Fitted and balanced as well. If so that's very cheap compared to what I have to pay for 18" alloy wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

At least its not 4 ;)

Yeah, I would be a lot happier replacing two as opposed to one though. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I'd feel weird replacing just 1 tire. It would have to be either 2 or 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Is there any way to filter DoneDeal searches to just Southern reg's?

Only interested in the C reg? No D for you, buoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Marcusm wrote: »
    Only interested in the C reg? No D for you, buoy.

I was actually recently talking to a cork guy and he said he would only buy a car if it had a C reg. I couldn't believe it the same guy probably spends a grand on his cars to buy them which probably makes it even harder to find a C reg. my preference when buying cars would be a KK reg. but I've yet to get one so it's not exactly the difference between me buying it and not the reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Bpmull wrote: »
    I was actually recently talking to a cork guy and he said he would only buy a car if it had a C reg. I couldn't believe it the same guy probably spends a grand on his cars to buy them which probably makes it even harder to find a C reg. my preference when buying cars would be a KK reg. but I've yet to get one so it's not exactly the difference between me buying it and not the reg.

The reg of a car does not bother me. It could be from Cavan for all I care.

Fitted and balanced as well. If so that's very cheap compared to what I have to pay for 18" alloy wheels.

Fitted? Yes.

Balanced? Don't think so.
    Big Nasty wrote: »
    Yeah, I would be a lot happier replacing two as opposed to one though. ;)
    Kaiser D wrote: »
    I'd feel weird replacing just 1 tire. It would have to be either 2 or 4.

That means I'd have to spend €120. Can't afford to throw money here, there, everywhere. Besides all of them are pretty much brand new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,296 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Saw this on Clonskeagh today. Oops!
    v1wg.jpg

Not sure if the 5 series in the pic was damaged.

Saw a Transit towing it away shortly afterwards, not quite sure what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

E 39 5 series BMW on the bangernomics thread - 1 owner/driver since new.

Thing im wondering - is how do you replace an E39 that you've had from new.