If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Need to buy a new tyre today. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'm trying to find an old thread I set up last year. It was about how much the 05 octavia was worth I know it's obviously not worth the same now but I remember a few good things being mentioned on it and want to read through it again. Is there some way of filter downing to see the threads I set up rather than just one I posted in ?

In your profile go into stats and "All threads started by me"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

GvidoR wrote: »
    Need to buy a new tyre today. :(

At least its not 4 ;)

True, but still I would prefer to buy none. I'm rolling on a budget. :D

You and me both, April is not going to be fun for me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You and me both, April is not going to be fun for me :o

My birfday is in April. Some B8 shocks should help make me forget I'm turning into an old furt :(

My birthday is April too... Some coilovers would help me forget about that awful day. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Mine 3 :D

I'm hoping for a new car though :P

If any of ye want to pay my tax, insurance and pcv kit fitting I'll be very happy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

My Birthday too! April 1st son!

Nah your parents have just been playing a really long april fools joke on you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

@TP, those new wheels on your Saab look even better in person! Can't believe that I ever thought the old ones were better :O

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    @TP, those new wheels on your Saab look even better in person! Can't believe that I ever thought the old ones were better :O

You seen em? :D the show up nicely when its clean, although its an incredibly hard colour to keep clean :( I only washed it friday and its filthy again

Got the tyre replaced... €60 outta my pocket. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

A few times since I got my car I would get out of it after a drive and get a smell like hot brakes. But the discs never seemed to be overly warm. Had the fan going after shutting off as well. I am only now after realising it was the feckin DPF I was smelling after weeks of researching electric brake problems on Passats thinking that was the issue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭guttenberg

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/news/10703514/The-Audi-seats-being-stolen-to-order.html

Please tell me interior thieving hasn't reached these shores yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Thoughts on black plates lads?

1619375_699392096769684_191553183_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

They suit it lovely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Definitely need straightening though, my inner right angles are screaming. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

dar83 wrote: »
    Definitely need straightening though, my inner right angles are screaming. :P

The look far better and I agree with the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Is adverts as bad as ever to sell a car on ? I suppose probably best to stick to donedeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Got the tyre replaced... €60 outta my pocket. :(

Fitted and balanced as well. If so that's very cheap compared to what I have to pay for 18" alloy wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

At least its not 4 ;)

Yeah, I would be a lot happier replacing two as opposed to one though. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I'd feel weird replacing just 1 tire. It would have to be either 2 or 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,980 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Is there any way to filter DoneDeal searches to just Southern reg's?

Only interested in the C reg? No D for you, buoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Marcusm wrote: »
    Only interested in the C reg? No D for you, buoy.

I was actually recently talking to a cork guy and he said he would only buy a car if it had a C reg. I couldn't believe it the same guy probably spends a grand on his cars to buy them which probably makes it even harder to find a C reg. my preference when buying cars would be a KK reg. but I've yet to get one so it's not exactly the difference between me buying it and not the reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Bpmull wrote: »
    I was actually recently talking to a cork guy and he said he would only buy a car if it had a C reg. I couldn't believe it the same guy probably spends a grand on his cars to buy them which probably makes it even harder to find a C reg. my preference when buying cars would be a KK reg. but I've yet to get one so it's not exactly the difference between me buying it and not the reg.

The reg of a car does not bother me. It could be from Cavan for all I care.

Fitted and balanced as well. If so that's very cheap compared to what I have to pay for 18" alloy wheels.

Fitted? Yes.

Balanced? Don't think so.
    Big Nasty wrote: »
    Yeah, I would be a lot happier replacing two as opposed to one though. ;)
    Kaiser D wrote: »
    I'd feel weird replacing just 1 tire. It would have to be either 2 or 4.

That means I'd have to spend €120. Can't afford to throw money here, there, everywhere. Besides all of them are pretty much brand new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Saw this on Clonskeagh today. Oops!
    v1wg.jpg

Not sure if the 5 series in the pic was damaged.

Saw a Transit towing it away shortly afterwards, not quite sure what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭Old diesel

E 39 5 series BMW on the bangernomics thread - 1 owner/driver since new.

Thing im wondering - is how do you replace an E39 that you've had from new.