Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Jaypers what a day! went to roscommon to a saab meet which was good, got caught in a parade and tried to service the car only for it to p1ss rain just as i was about to do the spark plugs :(

Tomorrows another day!

Hate when that happens - the downside of not having a garage!!

Today was the first day in a long time I've been bothered to do anything motoring related. From some serious rust treatment to messing with the carina fuel delivery, to fitting a new mirror and wiring it up the electrics on the e36 - today was a fun day.

Next step is to get some new rear tyres for the e36. Ahem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

*snigger* Roscommon :pac: In Ros town was it?

I know :pac:

No lanesborough -shudder-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Bpmull wrote: »
    Just put the key in the ignition don't start it. Hold the trip computer reset button turn on the ignition while still holding the reset button. Then let the button go. And you can flick through loads of different things but fault codes will show up as a 4 digit code you can then google the code. There's plenty of videos on you tube about the process

Cheers for that !

had a go at it and it gave me a code but not related to the trouble i have !

will get a diagnostic on it in the morning anyway !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭kilianmanning

Mycroft H wrote: »
    The aul fella offered me an interesting choice. Buy the Xantia Activa off him and insure that. It needs a service and 4 new tyres for the NCT but apart from that it's mint condition with only 50,000 miles. Better option than the corolla?

Only downside is that I'll have to wait till the end of July until the insurance gives me another years named NCB. It's about 250 quid more to insure than a corolla and does 10mpg less. Only a slight annoyance.

What think ye?

WgJpCwCl.jpg
    I want this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

I was just browsing DoneDeal and saw a 141 Golf Gti and a Golf R. I didnt know that they had switched the Golf R down to a 2.0 litre. Doest this just defeat the purpose of the R? The GTi DSG (the one I looked at anyway) was €32k while the R is €60k!! All that I can see that you get for your extra €28k is 60 odd bhp and a 4 wheel drive system. Surely what ever small market there was for an R32 type motor will now be soaked up by a GTi with a remap on it to make up some of the HP and save the rest?

I understand the need to increase the economy of cars these days but dropping for a 3.2 V6 to a 2.0T is a bit much isnt it? Unless they were to drop the GTi down too, atm they are just in the same class (Ok the R is more powerful, but not €28k more powerful) but one is half the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Golf R has always been a 2 litre, same as the MK6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Golf R has always been a 2 litre, same as the MK6

I know the MK6 was the same, but they are both quite tame next to the MK5 R32. Dunno why they bother selling both the GTi and the R these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I know the MK6 was the same, but they are both quite tame next to the MK5 R32. Dunno why they bother selling both the GTi and the R these days

Golf R is faster than the R32 and much much more tunable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Big Nasty wrote: »
    He wants you to pay for it? It's hardly worth the price of the tyres, less if there's no test.

Well he's not giving it to me for free and nor would I want him too. Its a rare enough car too, believe there is only like 7 here and 30 on the road in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Well he's not giving it to me for free and nor would I want him too. Its a rare enough car too, believe there is only like 7 here and 30 on the road in the UK.

Granted I know feck all about Xantias.

Still though, a near 20 year old Citroën with no test and needing new tyres can't be worth much, right?

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Granted I know feck all about Xantias.

Still though, a near 20 year old Citroën with no test and needing new tyres can't be worth much, right?

No, not a lot. He wants what it's worth, which isn't an entire lot. It's been not been used a whole lot in the last year, perhaps a 1000 miles so hence the need for new rubber, the old ones look a bit perished and I don't trust them entirely.

It'll still be cheaper than an early 2000s corolla which I was going to buy anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Quick question Dublin lads, going to concert in the o2 tonight, coming from Cork. Will be getting into dublin about half 5, would the easiest thing be to find some street parking and use 1 disc to bring me past 7pm? Where would be the best place to park to be on the right road for home easy afterwards, across the river by the Maldron maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

What time is the gig over at? You could park at the Luas park and ride, get the Luas right to the O2 and get it back again once it's not too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Yeah I was thinking of parking at the red cow but I don't know what time it's over really, I imagine sometime shortly after 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I think the Luas finishes at 11:30.

Got a quote on the Xantia Activa - 970 euro from Crean And Crean underwritten by axa. Much the same as a 2002 Corolla. Funny that.

Shame I can't get it on the road now

Got a quote on the Xantia Activa - 970 euro from Crean And Crean underwritten by axa. Much the same as a 2002 Corolla. Funny that.

Shame I can't get it on the road now

Are you, or have you buying/bought it?

Pretty much at this stage. Get paid next week, so I'll be signing the VLC then.

Like, the way I see it; It's far cheaper to buy than a 2002 Corolla. It's only slightly dearer to insure. I know the history of it. It's a safer car; handles like it's on rails plus ABS and Traction Control. Like it makes sense in my head.

Pretty much at this stage. Get paid next week, so I'll be signing the VLC then.

Jolly good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Quick question Dublin lads, going to concert in the o2 tonight, coming from Cork. Will be getting into dublin about half 5, would the easiest thing be to find some street parking and use 1 disc to bring me past 7pm? Where would be the best place to park to be on the right road for home easy afterwards, across the river by the Maldron maybe?

This is what I would do but this would be the correct side of the city for me to get home! I usually find parking on the southside of the liffey easier.
    But as MM has pointed out the luas would suit you the best minus the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Last Luas is 11:30 on Sunday, 00:30 the rest of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

I may go against some of the grain here similar to BN, but I would have zero interest in a Xantia. Although in saying that I would have zero interest in a Corolla either, so best of luck with either I guess. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

just if anyone is curious about my car not going so well.

its all fixed using 1 cable tie !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

One around your wrists or ankles to stop you driving and killing it? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

just if anyone is curious about my car not going so well.

its all fixed using 1 cable tie !

What was wrong a loose vacuum hose of something like that?

one of the clips that hold the plug for the injector into the injector has broken... so I cable tied the plug to the injector so it wont fall out again !

back working on all cylinders ! :)

one of the clips that hold the plug for the injector into the injector has broken... so I cable tied the plug to the injector so it wont fall out again !

back working on all cylinders ! :)

I though it would have shown up injector fault on the dash over that. I know the plug your talking about anyway. At least you got it sorted and it didn't cost you much. The only problem I had with mine that was that easy to put right was a coolant leak . The end of the rubber hose was damaged so I cut half an inch of it and as good as new.

nothing spent thankfully

have that very ssme coolant leak myself. Just finding time to do it is the only thing !

nothing spent thankfully

have that very ssme coolant leak myself. Just finding time to do it is the only thing !

Mine was right beside the passenger light. It was one of those two smaller hoses the run from the expansion bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Quiet roads were quiet. Bliss :cool: