Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Generally when I'm looking at anything "sporty" and it says lady owner I just stop looking.
    Especially RX8's, the amount of those you see that need new engines, you know they were used as hand bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

CianRyan wrote: »
    Generally when I'm looking at anything "sporty" and it says lady owner I just stop looking.
    Especially RX8's, the amount of those you see that need new engines, you know they were used as hand bags.

If Jenizzle sees this she might have something to say about it :).

But generally yea you're right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

If Jenizzle sees this she might have something to say about it :).

But generally yea you're right.

I can see the logic - but id rather judge the car - on its own merits.

Talking to the owner would reveal a lot imo.

For example - for all you know - the lady owner could be an RX 8 enthusiast* - something a chat with her about the car would quickly reveal.

What would put me off though is if hubby is selling the car - as that indicate that Madame is a bit clueless about the car etc

*assuming it all appears from ad to be a decent example etc etc

I suppose what im saying is - id happily take the risk on going to see a lady owned car and find its a bit of a heap.

Rather then miss out on a very good car because I assumed it wouldn't be a good example just on the basis of it been a lady owned car.

Like I say though - game over if I ring and hubs is selling the car.

normal cars are slightly different though - as a lady owner might not know much about cars - but it may still have been maintained okay (by a garage).

I know ladies who wouldn't know much about cars - or be into them - but they have enough cop on to realise cars need servicing and be minded properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

dont suppose anybody in kildare has an obd2 reader handy ?

have an eml on and car is struggling to accel..... strong feeling its the egr clogged to feck... still doing 110kmh though !

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Why do people list cars as being lady owners? They don't look after them any better than most and there would be as many men who wouldn't have a clue about car maintenance.

My mother was driving round on a tyre with 11psi in it recently, she didn't have a notion of something wrong. Surprised it didn't roll off the rim.

Knew a lad once who had a car that he really liked - so it was maintained fairly well, driven sensibly.

He wasn't using it for a day or 2 - and his missus was using the car - when he next went to use it - there was a red light on the dash.

Hubby mentions that x was wrong with the car - missus - oh that's what the red light on the dash was :rolleyes:

Ive also known female drivers to drive with the cv joints knocking away happy out when steering - no bother at all :rolleyes:

Something to be mindful of when buying a car for sure - but it wouldn't put me off a car on its own.

Id be more interested in what a specific car is actually like.

Especially if in bangernomics territory - wouldn't like to miss out on a decent example due to assuming that due to lady owner it wouldn't be a decent example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

dont suppose anybody in kildare has an obd2 reader handy ?

have an eml on and car is struggling to accel..... strong feeling its the egr clogged to feck... still doing 110kmh though !

What's the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

31st March Wheeler Dealers are doing a Mazda RX7 finally!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ed took my idea on board (it only took 4 years) :D

1977385_10152010155063441_2096470033_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

tossy wrote: »
    What's the car?

05 focus 1.6tdci

Had a look and found an air pipe off, clipped back on and away it went but still struggling a bit'

But for a bit on the motorway it shot off like normal, I.e turbo fine and driving fine but then a bit chokey again but just not the pipe this time

EML is on though.

05 focus 1.6tdci

Had a look and found an air pipe off, clipped back on and away it went but still struggling a bit'

But for a bit on the motorway it shot off like normal, I.e turbo fine and driving fine but then a bit chokey again but just not the pipe this time

EML is on though.

I have VCDS can try take a look via the OBD II function on it. Never done that particular car before but should be able to read it. Where in Kildare are you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

05 focus 1.6tdci

EML is on though.

Does that focus have the trip computer ie the rectangular odometer rather than the older square type. If so there is a way of putting it in diagnostics mode so it will show the codes. Get in hold the reset button on endof the stalk start the car then something will flash up you let go of the reset button and can go through all the thing until you get to the fault codes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I was just on Twitter there and the AGS put up a Tweet saying they caught a Toyota Avensis doing 184 KPH and a Audi A4 doing 178 KPH on the N25 around Kilmeaden, both driver's arrested and charged with dangerous driving!!!!

That's lunacy to be driving at that speed..

Truckermal wrote: »
    I was just on Twitter there and the AGS put up a Tweet saying they caught a Toyota Avensis doing 184 KPH and a Audi A4 doing 178 KPH on the N25 around Kilmeaden, both driver's arrested and charged with dangerous driving!!!!

That's lunacy to be driving at that speed..

Wondering how many Avensises have EVER been driven at 115 mph or even close to that in their life times.

Andy Rouse the racing driver (BTCC) and race car prep/builder once mentioned when he was racing Carina Iis - that he doubted anyone at even driven a Carina on a track before he got his hands on them :D

I presume the A4 was a TDI and as such was probably only in 1st. It's so easy to get caught out with those Tidlly diddly eyes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

It's a fairly decent new dual carriageway round that parts but 80km/h beyond the speed limit is daft. And of course the cops are going to be out on a bank holiday.

Asking for trouble booting along at 115 mph - going to get caught eventually :(

A moment of madness????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Truckermal wrote: »

On that stretch of road you're a sitting duck if you're doing that speed. So many spots that they can get you. The road is well able for it but that's not the point either.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Does that focus have the trip computer ie the rectangular odometer rather than the older square type. If so there is a way of putting it in diagnostics mode so it will show the codes. Get in hold the reset button on endof the stalk start the car then something will flash up you let go of the reset button and can go through all the thing until you get to the fault codes.

it is the one with the odo readout with full trip computer. then it has the square screen above it for sat nav

how do I start the self diagnostics ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Old diesel wrote: »
    Wondering how many Avensises have EVER been driven at 115 mph or even close to that in their life times.
    I was clocked higher than that in a MK1 Avensis but it was a medical emergency. I got a good telling off, an understanding talking to, a bottle of water and an escort the rest of the way.

Never got the Garda's name and have been unable to thank him since as he handled it all very well.

Edit: just realised it was Mother's Day 6 years ago. Sad times.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I was clocked higher than that in a MK1 Avensis but it was a medical emergency. I got a good telling off, an understanding talking to, a bottle of water and an escort the rest of the way.

Never got the Garda's name and have been unable to thank him since as he handled it all very well.

Edit: just realised it was Mother's Day 6 years ago. Sad times.

sorry to hear :(

The aul fella offered me an interesting choice. Buy the Xantia Activa off him and insure that. It needs a service and 4 new tyres for the NCT but apart from that it's mint condition with only 50,000 miles. Better option than the corolla?

Only downside is that I'll have to wait till the end of July until the insurance gives me another years named NCB. It's about 250 quid more to insure than a corolla and does 10mpg less. Only a slight annoyance.

What think ye?

WgJpCwCl.jpg

it is the one with the odo readout with full trip computer. then it has the square screen above it for sat nav

how do I start the self diagnostics ?

Just put the key in the ignition don't start it. Hold the trip computer reset button turn on the ignition while still holding the reset button. Then let the button go. And you can flick through loads of different things but fault codes will show up as a 4 digit code you can then google the code. There's plenty of videos on you tube about the process

The aul fella offered me an interesting choice. Buy the Xantia Activa off him and insure that. It needs a service and 4 new tyres for the NCT but apart from that it's mint condition with only 50,000 miles. Better option than the corolla?

Only downside is that I'll have to wait till the end of July until the insurance gives me another years named NCB. It's about 250 quid more to insure than a corolla and does 10mpg less. Only a slight annoyance.

What think ye?

At least you know what your getting and you know what the car needs. And with such little mileage it probably has plenty of life left in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Xantia hands down!!!!!!

What think ye?

WgJpCwCl.jpg

Why not - go for it.

Nice car

Service including sparks/leads oil/air should cost around 60 quid to do myself. Plus the cost of the NCT and whatever it encounters. Shouldn't pick up anything to be honest.

Anyone been getting a decent price on 4 Uniroyals (205/60/15)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Service including sparks/leads oil/air should cost around 60 quid to do myself. Plus the cost of the NCT and whatever it encounters. Shouldn't pick up anything to be honest.

Anyone been getting a decent price on 4 Uniroyals (205/60/15)?

He wants you to pay for it? It's hardly worth the price of the tyres, less if there's no test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Big Nasty wrote: »
    He wants you to pay for it? It's hardly worth the price of the tyres, less if there's no test.

its an xantia activa well worth it;) id love it. missed one for sale on octane.ie a few years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Jaypers what a day! went to roscommon to a saab meet which was good, got caught in a parade and tried to service the car only for it to p1ss rain just as i was about to do the spark plugs :(

Tomorrows another day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Jaypers what a day! went to roscommon to a saab meet which was good, got caught in a parade and tried to service the car only for it to p1ss rain just as i was about to do the spark plugs :(

Tomorrows another day!

*snigger* Roscommon :pac: In Ros town was it?