St. Paddy's Day [Super Mega Happy Fun Thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

Birthplace of St. Patrick ?

When I was in school it was Wales, and now looking at some of the catholic websites it says Scotland (trying to get some facts together so the kids won't make a show of me )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

My day'll probably consist of the parade, the pub and the amusements. Followed by a mighty hangover the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Few sunday night and have a good snooze on monday (any anti social behaviour that disturbs monday nights sleep with be dealt with by personal justice)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

MadYaker wrote: »
    Galway is generally an absolute clusterfúck by about 4pm with vomit and broken glass and pissed off Gardai everywhere.

That's funny, Galway seems to be sounding more like Dublin each year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Bambi wrote: »
    Don't forget to change yizzer money though :)

Great win for Londonderry in the end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Paddy's day has been historically terrible for me. Everyone makes plan's late February-early March, im to lazy to organize anything till today. End up staying in playing Xbox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Going to my auntie's gaff for beers, banter and barbique in that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

When I think of Paddy's Day in Galway, I'll always remember heading into town around 7:30pm, going into Garvans and it was packed. My friend and I got to the bar after trying for about 30 minutes, then bumped around people looking for seat, by luck we found seats very quickly. It wasn't long before we saw it. A piece of clothing left on the bench beside us...It was then that a waft of the unmistakable smell of ****e filled our nostrils.

We went to the guy at the door, got some plastic cups and walked home.

I also remember being invited out by a friend of a friend because in those days college types always went home around the weekends and holidays. This person was staying and so was I because I had to work that morning. I went into town to meet her and her friends. First stop was the bank machine, which she duly puked on.

Yeah....it's best to avoid town on Paddy's Day...or Saturday night...or bank holiday Sunday night...or a big sporting event...or a big drinks promotion...or RAG week...or Festival. In fact, just avoid town...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

Happy Patty's day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Popescu

I will be in Granada about midday talking to some functionaries in a government office. So, I am meeting up with some people a bit later at an "Irish" pub that has been recommended to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I've been on a bit of a bender since I started this thread. Sober now but the hangover is just wearing off and heading back out soon. Town has been grand the last few nights but I'll be staying away tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

orangesoda wrote: »
    Great win for Londonderry in the end

Twas, I'd say Philly McMahon might have had few horsemen chasing the team bus down to the border though

Going to spend the day unpacking boxes and getting all moved into my new house. What that will most likely entail is watching a few films and drinking a few beers. Was considering heading into town but Galway is generally way over on crowded on the day and not a fun place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I have readjusted my plans and go scrambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭DiarmuidBoy89

Should everyone get ****ed?
    Or relax

#yolo swag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,395 ✭✭✭✭cena

Have many of ye ever been to main parade in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭deadybai

is there any chance that the rugby team will be in the Dublin parade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Meanwhile, the Yanks are gearing up for the big green day:

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Live stream from Temple Bar - http://www.earthcam.com/world/ireland/dublin/?cam=templebar

Can ya imagine the queues there is to get a pint? :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

It's all kicking off in Temple Bar !

http://www.earthcam.com/world/ireland/dublin/?cam=templebar

EDIT: Posted straight on without seeing the previous post. Heard live running of the fight on FM104 !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Pretty selfish to stop looking for a missing plane just to celebrate gays and go on the pish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Popescu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Happy St. Patrick's Day People!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

Will spend sitting on my hoop. :cool:

Ah no. I did my drinking today so tomorrow will go for a cycle, get in a grocery shop, the usual Sunday stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭chrissb8

MadsL wrote: »
    Cooking stew for 27...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Working all weekend.

Be your own boss, they said.
    Work your own hours, they said.
    Have the freedom to take a notion and just head off to China or somewhere at the drop of a hat, they said.

Balls, I say.

fairplay to you is what I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

Affter years of juszt getting faced$hitted, I decsided that this year, I would have a "classzy" Paddy's Day. So, right now, I am on my third wine of bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Happy National Day Boardies!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

efb wrote: »

I heartily endorse this event or product.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

efb wrote: »

Happy St. Patrick's day surely?

'National Day', pfft, don't bother saying it if you can't bring yourself to recognise it's religious significance, takes all the good will out of it and we might as well just call it 'Day' so as to keep everyone happy and be sure nobody could take offence. I see the mayor in some American town has started calling it 'Green Day'. She'll be sorry the day little green men land from Mars and she has to make the day mean nothing to them too.