Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,545 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Does your Golf have the floor mounted accelerator pedal? Noticed that they've changed it from the last Leon to being hinged like the others.

Yeah they've abandoned the floor mounted pedal in the new Golf platform!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Well whatever I end up getting, it's something that's going to have easy to change headlights. I'm sick of cars that take 20 minutes and a lot of swearing to change a H7 bulb.

Opel astras are dead handy to change, turn the housing and out she pops, same with saabs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Opel astras are dead handy to change, turn the housing and out she pops, same with saabs!

With the C5 you'll need 20 minutes, a first aid kit and a swear jar.

Mycroft H wrote: »
    With the C5 you'll need 20 minutes, a first aid kit and a swear jar.

Or do what my friend in dublin bus does with stubborn parts

Sledge it out :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

In other news, my heads rebuilt fully now :D I let the resident engine builder configure the head as I have feck all time to do anything anymore! :(

I may take a day off next week and try have my 406 back up and running, it's been too long :cool: tax it then back to me it goes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Anyone got a front bumper for a facelift mk1 focus? just had a fender bender all ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Chris and the chaser did I spot you on the east link last night around 9?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

On the way to the shops earlier and saw an accident happen right in front of me. A learner driver managed to stall the engine (we've all done it! :p), and the car behind drove right into the back of them. Not a fast crash but quite a shunt. Jaysus, I felt sorry for the learner. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Hal1 wrote: »
    Anyone got a front bumper for a facelift mk1 focus? just had a fender bender all ok.

Sorry to hear that. A pain in the ass from experience. Can't help with the bumper sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Dord wrote: »
    On the way to the shops earlier and saw an accident happen right in front of me. A learner driver managed to stall the engine (we've all done it! :p), and the car behind drove right into the back of them. Not a fast crash but quite a shunt. Jaysus, I felt sorry for the learner. :(

Hope it wasn't Hal1 above who is looking for a front bumper.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

No that wasn't me. Mine is repairable but the other's car has some chasis damage rear door. I'm dreading the calls next week.

So were thinking of new tyres for the Merc.

Well now :eek:

dgt wrote: »

:eek::eek:

Why so much??

Wait i see now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Getting a lot of stick from some quarters because I got the girlfriend to go along with getting a buggy for the forthcoming baby in a colour that matches the car :).

Need to get four new tyres on my own yok soon pain in the hole luckily I do feck all mileage and don't have to change tyres very often one set each for both of my last cars hopefully same again for this one.

One thing I hate about BMW is the poxy service countdown everytime I start the car I don't want to see how many miles I have left.

Getting a lot of stick from some quarters because I got the girlfriend to go along with getting a buggy for the forthcoming baby in a colour that matches the car :).

Ah sure why not! Get a recaro baby seat too. :D:pac:

dgt wrote: »

14s? Jaysus, mine is on 15s. The hell kinda Merc is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Ah sure why not! Get a recaro baby seat too. :D:pac:

:pac: I've already looked into that. Recaro pr BMW ones :). But won't be needing an upgraded child seat until there one so a bit off yet.

14s? Jaysus, mine is on 15s. The hell kinda Merc is that?

Twould be a W126, this one to be exact...

Were strongly thinking new wheels and tyres, freshen it up a bit as it's 30 years old next year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

God, how did I ever manage without a power washer! Washed the two cars and the jeep this last two days and the tractor is on the agenda for tomorrow! I've come to realise that a car is never clean unless the wheel arches are clean! ;)

I'm doing a full service on the saab tomorrow after i come back from ye olde meet, this should be fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Happy Paddys Day Dudes! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Happy Paddys Day Dudes! :)
    A minute too soon ;)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Anyone got an inner track rod for a s14a?

Please :(
    A message from a certain Mr midnight eg ;)

they're only €25 from any motorfactors Part number is ADN18796

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Show winning car of VW meet 2014.

Because it was the only one there at the made up meet :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Yeah, I don't see how that has won a show when in reality all he has done is grind off some paint and paint some other bits with a rattle can.

I still would though.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Yeah, I don't see how that has won a show when in reality all he has done is grind off some paint and paint some other bits with a rattle can.

I still would though.

Tellin ya, thats the pictures of the meet :pac:

I'd like to, but something a bit better than that, the rusting I'm on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

A message from a certain Mr midnight eg ;)

they're only €25 from any motorfactors Part number is ADN18796

Thanks Pickles but we needed them for today you see :)

We made our own from z33 ones after :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

That golf is epic
    In other news, your resident redneck has returned from his stay at her majesty's pleasure.

No new cars to report. :P (Although I did get the truck successfully taxed as commercial, and am working on the same for the other work van, the zed :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Why do people list cars as being lady owners? They don't look after them any better than most and there would be as many men who wouldn't have a clue about car maintenance.

My mother was driving round on a tyre with 11psi in it recently, she didn't have a notion of something wrong. Surprised it didn't roll off the rim.