Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Havent been here in a while. Just to let you know about this cool bargain.

Logitech G27 steering wheel for 134£

http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/logitech-g27-only-134-50-from-logitech-using-code-1851911?page=2#comments

I ordered one myself! :D Best bang for your Buck steering wheel lads if you plat some PS3/PS4 and PC racing stuff! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,669 ✭✭✭✭vectra

9 months...before anyone says anything I know...

9 months for me with my red vRS as well,
    Different scenario though LOL
    Tight lipped until I have it - with my luck it could fall through;)

It's nothing special mind but I've wanted one for a while.

Excellent choice dude.
    Can't wait to drive the hole out of it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

That wheel and stand look absolutely animal. I used to be really into driving games but as soon as I got my license I pretty much stopped playing. Just wasn't as good as the real thing :)

I might get back into it again though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

I have the official Xbox 360 wireless wheel I'm gonna be selling if anyone is interested. Have a driving Force GT with the Wheel Stand Pro as well. Makes Forza/GT so much better with them, the difference is night and day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

OSI wrote: »
    Take a look at Assetto Corsa on the PC if you get a chance. Seriously good racing simulator. Never thought I'd have as much fun racing FIAT 500s as I do in that game.

That is a proper job:D I better wait until I finish collage though or I'll definitely fail:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

....so the neighbour is changing his passat for something newer because of the tax

The mind boggles - I really dont understand peoples logic sometimes

Hard to understand alright.

What disappoints me more - is that I wish someone would have the balls to say - okay - im changing my Passat for a new car because

1) I want a new car - I can afford it

2) my OH would prefer to drive smaller car then a Passat

3) I like the new Golf - its a nice car - so that's why im buying it.

And so on.

Id have great time for someone whose honest enough to just say - ive bought the new car because "I want one".

I may not like the car they choose - but fair play - they were in a position to buy a new car - and WANTED to do so - that's good.

Coming along and saying im buying the new car because I can't afford the tax - well im sorry but how are you not able to afford 710 euros on a 2 litre - for tax - but at the same time are able to buy or keep up loan repayments on a 20 grand car.

I mean that's not possible surely :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Think the Astra looks pissed off in this one.

IMG_20140314_102021_zpsphcplwhi.jpg

Think the Astra looks pissed off in this one.

IMG_20140314_102021_zpsphcplwhi.jpg

So the Leons the new car then - nice work.

Best of luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,545 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Nice, what's the spec on the Leon?

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Nice, what's the spec on the Leon?

It's the FR, 184 diesel. Can't escape the black pump...

It's getting a valet and the compulsory mud flaps on today and I pick it up in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Old diesel wrote: »
    Hard to understand alright.

What disappoints me more - is that I wish someone would have the balls to say - okay - im changing my Passat for a new car because

1) I want a new car - I can afford it

2) my OH would prefer to drive smaller car then a Passat

3) I like the new Golf - its a nice car - so that's why im buying it.

And so on.

Id have great time for someone whose honest enough to just say - ive bought the new car because "I want one".

I may not like the car they choose - but fair play - they were in a position to buy a new car - and WANTED to do so - that's good.

Coming along and saying im buying the new car because I can't afford the tax - well im sorry but how are you not able to afford 710 euros on a 2 litre - for tax - but at the same time are able to buy or keep up loan repayments on a 20 grand car.

I mean that's not possible surely :D

That's the entire logic of the current Renault ad campaign, Afford to live again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Best of luck with it muppetcheck!
    How is it compared to the old leon? ( I know petrol over diesel and all!)

Think it looks great!

On the road tax neighbour front, i hate pointing out the fact my car is petrol on the old system to people, they look at you like your the crazy one because you say ah I bought something I want. I know how everything is much more expensive but I really wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Another car that got forgotten about at the paint booth. You just have no luck MC! :pac:

coolisin wrote: »
    Best of luck with it muppetcheck!
    How is it compared to the old leon? ( I know petrol over diesel and all!)

Think it looks great!

On the road tax neighbour front, i hate pointing out the fact my car is petrol on the old system to people, they look at you like your the crazy one because you say ah I bought something I want. I know how everything is much more expensive but I really wanted.

I drove the Corolla past a silver 2012 Auris the other week that a lady in our parish owns.

I felt smug because I genuinely felt I was driving the nicer car - crappy NA 2.0 diesel and all :D (I do hate Aurises though :()

Justifying the tax :D

No problem - depreciation is a grand total of zero - that will do :)

And I don't have to worry about 3 grand bills* - obviously if it got one of those it will be scrappy time - but aside from that - I could buy another car like it - albeit petrol for handy money again.

Or get into a nice Lancer, Mk 6 Fiesta - or a Panda - for handy money too - knowing this makes me feel a tad smug.

Like ive found a way to get ahead of the joneses - my way :D

*why have 3 grand bills when you can buy a decent car for that

PaulieC wrote: »
    That's the entire logic of the current Renault ad campaign, Afford to live again.

Yeah - I think somewhere back in this tread last year - some of us discussed the silliness of the carculator

From what I recall (among other things) a Saab 9 5 was costing its owner a lot less to run over a year then Renault were claiming :D.

Certainly those Renault ads are really silly - but from Renaults viewpoint - we are talking about them - so they've worked :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Those Renault ads may have been the biggest load of crap going but they did their job due to the way Paddy and Mary were forced to think when it comes to cars in Ireland these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Another car that got forgotten about at the paint booth. You just have no luck MC! :pac:

It's not silver, well done that man!

New brake calliper fitted to scratchy today, it's amazing how fast you can drive when you know your brakes work;)

For anyone thinking of buying a car with Brembo brakes, beware......they are fcuking expensive:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Anyone know what happened the 'characteristics of good v bad driviers' thread? I posted in it a about 3pm and seems to have been deleted since.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

It was a mad drive home.

First, some car at the side of the road with no lights on just moved off with no indication and I had to slam the brakes as the car was very close.

Then, I overtook one car and as I got close to the next one the driver dropped the speed (I don't know why, doesn't make sense to me)

And then on a 2+1 road, one car was overtaking another on the wrong side...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

GvidoR wrote: »
    It was a mad drive home.

First, some car at the side of the road with no lights on just moved off with no indication and I had to slam the brakes as the car was very close.

Then, I overtook one car and as I got close to the next one the driver dropped the speed (I don't know why, doesn't make sense to me)

And then on a 2+1 road, one car was overtaking another on the wrong side...

There's your problem boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Why did you bother changing the alloys on the astra if you were changing car soon MC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Why did you bother changing the alloys on the astra if you were changing car soon MC?

Because OCD :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

There's your problem boss

If the car in front of you is travelling at a slower speed than yourself, then obviously you're going to catch up with it. I wasn't TOO close to it either.

GvidoR wrote: »
    If the car in front of you is travelling at a slower speed than yourself, then obviously you're going to catch up with it. I wasn't TOO close to it either.

Ah well then, I had a fella driving so close to me the other night he could have opened the boot and got in, so I slowed down and leveled up with a bus, as foggy as it was I could still see him going mad at me :pac:

Why didn't you just get out of his way?

pred racer wrote: »
    Why didn't you just get out of his way?

Because it was some young lad with his mates who was acting the dick back down the road, he turned off at the m9 junction anyways, like this lasted for about 2 minutes and then he turned off, Normally I would have took off and left him, but I had the family in the car and I wasn't going to put them in danger from some twat acting the maggot, for a better word, in front of me

Impulse purchase...ah I have someone buying the old ones so only cost me tyres which were needed anyway.

Because it was some young lad with his mates who was acting the dick back down the road, he turned off at the m9 junction anyways, like this lasted for about 2 minutes and then he turned off, Normally I would have took off and left him, but I had the family in the car and I wasn't going to put them in danger from some twat acting the maggot, for a better word, in front of me

Hard to see how pulling over 1 lane would have put your family in danger:rolleyes:

Not having a go pickles, but if I'm driving very close behind anybody it's because I already gave them ample chance to gtfo of my way and they haven't!
    And then they do **** like you described and it boils my blood!
    Sorry, rant over:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Ahh no TP you were "That guy" on the motorway overtaking someone in the overtaking lane while going the same or near enough speed taking 5 minutes to pass :(

For shame :(

pred racer wrote: »
    Hard to see how pulling over 1 lane would have put your family in danger:rolleyes:

Not having a go pickles, but if I'm driving very close behind anybody it's because I already gave them ample chance to gtfo of my way and they haven't!
    And then they do **** like you described and it boils my blood!
    Sorry, rant over:o
    Ahh no TP you were "That guy" on the motorway overtaking someone in the overtaking lane while going the same or near enough speed taking 5 minutes to pass :(

For shame :(

I have brought shame upon my peers, I'll be closing my account and handing in my keys

Ah no I do see where your all coming from, so lesson learned and I'll keep the foot down from now onwards