Most irritating music artist at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Technophobia

Tzardine wrote: »
    I heard something funny on radio last week. Host was saying Bono thinks he is a politician and Enda thinks he is a rock star. :)

My nomination BTW is Coldplay. Shocking band live and he named his kid Apple. Man I hate that band.

Ah that's disappointing, I always wanted to see Coldplay!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Imelda May.

I think she's fcuking horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Walt Jabsco

My nomination BTW is Coldplay. Shocking band live and he named his kid Apple. Man I hate that band.
    You'll like this so. :)
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_9x27VRwWM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

For me its not actually anyone currently playing today.

I get a pain in my face listening to people talking about Rory Gallagher and Phil Lynott and the like. People completely over-mystify them, almost deify them as artists. They were slightly above average, but because they died young, people make out like they were the greatest people to ever pick up a guitar. Its daft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

lufties wrote: »
    The gas thing is miley cyrus would probably sell out the O2 :(

Nope. Her current O2 concert is not sold out. Nor is Gaga's, who also didn't sell out her last Irish show.

Novelty acts are proving to be novelty acts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

For me its not actually anyone currently playing today.

I get a pain in my face listening to people talking about Rory Gallagher and Phil Lynott and the like. People completely over-mystify them, almost deify them as artists. They were slightly above average, but because they died young, people make out like they were the greatest people to ever pick up a guitar. Its daft.

well personally i dont have a musical note in my body, I'm more into progressive electronic music. Anyway, my uncle is a very talented guitarist and rory gallagher is one of his heroes so I really couldn't argue against him. I listened to some of rory's live in cork album and was bored by the end of the first song. This means one of two things, Either he was overrated or I don't appreciate good music.

SamAK wrote: »
    Imelda May.

I think she's fcuking horrendous.
    Jeebus, hardly horrendous..she's pretty good actually IMO.

Florence and the machine are horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Florence and the machine are horrendous.

You just crossed the line buddy :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

well personally i dont have a musical note in my body, I'm more into progressive electronic music. Anyway, my uncle is a very talented guitarist and rory gallagher is one of his heroes so I really couldn't argue against him. I listened to some of rory's live in cork album and was bored by the end of the first song. This means one of two things, Either he was overrated or I don't appreciate good music.

Have a listen to his Live in Europe album. If that doesn't do it for you (even a little bit) you're a lost cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Definitely your wan who keeps licking things and sticking her tongue out while twerking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭mitosis

Paolo Nutini - just plain annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭sfbonner

Azelia Banks
    Nicki Minaj
    Beyonce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

sfbonner wrote: »
    Azelia Banks
    Nicki Minaj
    Beyonce

I hear you are a racist now Father :p

Custardpi wrote: »
    Have a listen to his Live in Europe album. If that doesn't do it for you (even a little bit) you're a lost cause.

Yea? well in fairness thats the typical Irish self righteous attitude that I know so well, its just not my type of music. I bid you to check out some albums from sasha and john digweed from the 90s. If that doesn't do it for you i'd say fair enough. Different strokes for diff folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Mick55

Ke$ha:

I'm talking about everybody getting crunk, crunk
    Boys tryin' to touch my junk, junk
    Gonna smack him if he getting too drunk, drunk

Now, now, we go until they kick us out, out
    Or the police shut us down, down
    Police shut us down, down
    Po-po shut us

or

Oh what a shame that you came here with someone
    So while you're here in my arms
    Let's make the most of the night like we're gonna die young

We're gonna die young

What are kids these days listening to? I know throughout the ages there has always been empty vacuous pop stars spewing ****e but this stuff is garbage, and sends a terrible message to young folk.

Oh yea and Nikki Minaji..

Bump in my hoopty-hoopty-hoop
    I own that
    And I ain't paying my rent this month
    I owe that

Nuff said ;)

Yea? well in fairness thats the typical Irish self righteous attitude that I know so well, its just not my type of music. I bid you to check out some albums from sasha and john digweed from the 90s. If that doesn't do it for you i'd say fair enough. Different strokes for diff folks.

I don't think it's self-righteous to acknowledge the talents of Rory Gallagher, regardless of what type of music one is into. I can listen to lots of different music & even if it's not my type of thing I can appreciate talent & understand where people are coming from in praising it. For instance I'd find it very difficult to sit through most operas but can understand why others are enthralled by it. Similarly most electronic music (with a few exceptions) leaves me cold but I throughly enjoyed a Felix Da House Cat set a few years ago. Everyone has stuff that gives them goosebumps & grabs them emotionally but that's no reason to close their minds to stuff outside that, even if their attachment to it will never be as great as the real fans. I'll check out those artists you recommend, thanks for the tip :).

Mick55 wrote: »
    Ke$ha:

I'm talking about everybody getting crunk, crunk
    Boys tryin' to touch my junk, junk
    Gonna smack him if he getting too drunk, drunk

Now, now, we go until they kick us out, out
    Or the police shut us down, down
    Police shut us down, down
    Po-po shut us

or

Oh what a shame that you came here with someone
    So while you're here in my arms
    Let's make the most of the night like we're gonna die young

We're gonna die young

What are kids these days listening to? I know throughout the ages there has always been empty vacuous pop stars spewing ****e but this stuff is garbage, and sends a terrible message to young folk.

Oh yea and Nikki Minaji..

I own that
    And I ain't paying my rent this month
    I owe that

Nuff said ;)

Fair play, the bottom has been reached. Having a brain these days is overrated anyway.

[/QUOTE]

She gives me a pain in my hoopty hoop..by god, what is this???!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

That Avicci fella (Cotton Eye Joe throwback), should be banned from attempting to make music.

Am I the only Boardsie that really enjoys his stuff?

I don't think it's self-righteous to acknowledge the talents of Rory Gallagher, regardless of what type of music one is into. I can listen to lots of different music & even if it's not my type of thing I can appreciate talent & understand where people are coming from in praising it. For instance I'd find it very difficult to sit through most operas but can understand why others are enthralled by it. Similarly most electronic music (with a few exceptions) leaves me cold but I throughly enjoyed a Felix Da House Cat set a few years ago. Everyone has stuff that gives them goosebumps & grabs them emotionally but that's no reason to close their minds to stuff outside that, even if their attachment to it will never be as great as the real fans. I'll check out those artists you recommend, thanks for the tip :).

self righteous by saying I'm a lost cause by not being into Rory gallaghers music, sounds a bit self righteous to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭kingtiger

Either he was overrated or I don't appreciate good music.

none of the above, its probably just not your cup of tea

cause if you played me some of your sort of music, I would be bored in about 30 seconds of mindless repetitive drum beats

self righteous by saying I'm a lost cause by not being into Rory gallaghers music, sounds a bit self righteous to me.

Never said you were a lost cause for not "being into" his music. Stop being so sensitive. One can appreciate something without being properly "into" it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Jaysus, can this not be a childish "The thing I like is better than the thing you like and also you're an idiot" argument?

For me, it's anyone who gets put into the "Weird music" category because they dress stupid. So many people lauded Gaga as the second coming of Madonna just because wears a coke can on her head and sings into a bagel. The music is the same old drivel as anyone else. You can't sell me music based on appearance, asshole, it's an aural medium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭galson

Kings of Leon. That is the most annoying voice I've ever heard, hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,222 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

You know that bloated feeling you get after a night of drinking, where your stomach feels like a bottomless hole?

That's Glen Hansard for you.

Never said you were a lost cause for not "being into" his music. Stop being so sensitive. One can appreciate something without being properly "into" it.

I'm not being sensitive dude honestly, you said if i'm not into a R.G album i'm a lost cause. I don't even listen to led zepplin or rolling stones. I can appreciate them but it doesn't grip me emotionally. Although I do really like the song stairway to heaven.

You know that bloated feeling you get after a night of drinking, where your stomach feels like a bottomless hole?

That should be his new album..

Glen Hansard-A bottomless hole..

Falling slowly? :D

I'm not being sensitive dude honestly, you said if i'm not into a R.G album i'm a lost cause.

But I didn't actually say that, my comment was more nuanced than that. Go back & read it again.