Worst thing you've ever said to someone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I can't even write it down, but it was a horrible thing to my little brother and I've regretted it ever since, 17 years on. He lives on the other side of the world and there's been times I've wanted to ring him up to apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

discus wrote: »
    I can't even write it down, but it was a horrible thing to my little brother and I've regretted it ever since, 17 years on. He lives on the other side of the world and there's been times I've wanted to ring him up to apologise.

Why not do it now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

When I was about 19, I was waiting for some love interest to call me. Waited and waited and waited. Eventually the phone rang and it turned out to be my mother. She said, "are you alright? You sound a bit down?" and I said (lashes self repeatedly), "yeah...I just thought you were someone else" - if I get sent to hell I'll be ok with that. Worst thing I ever said and if there was anything I could take back, that would be it. It haunts me now. I can't imagine what it will do to me when she is gone.

This is followed closely by sayiing, "I wish you'd never been adopted into this family" to my brother when I was about 7.

Chr1st I'm a b1tch :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    When I was about 19, I was waiting for some love interest to call me. Waited and waited and waited. Eventually the phone rang and it turned out to be my mother. She said, "are you alright? You sound a bit down?" and I said (lashes self repeatedly), "yeah...I just thought you were someone else" - if I get sent to hell I'll be ok with that. Worst thing I ever said and if there was anything I could take back, that would be it. It haunts me now. I can't imagine what it will do to me when she is gone

This sounds like a typical cheeky teenager thing to say to me. Perhaps I'm missing something but it doesn't sound that bad.

I guess its just that she's my mum and some day I would give anything to receive a phone call from her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Ah lads, we were all gobsh*tes when we were teenagers, don't beat yourselves up about it.

I was a fecking toerag of a teenager. I cringe looking back and thinking about some of the things I said. I feel regretful for other things especially as I said some nasty things to a loved one who raised me that is now dead. :( The only consolation is that I got to tell her how much I loved her when she was dying and still had her wits about her. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I guess its just that she's my mum and some day I would give anything to receive a phone call from her.

I hear ye but don't beat yourself up over it. Remember the good times.

Yeah. Good thing is I did talk to her about it a while back and she didnt even remember it! Still, it felt good to just say it out loud and tell her I was sorry. My mum will sometimes be in two minds about calling my Granny (who's not exactly a people person :)) and my Dad says "call her, if I could call my mother I would" - it makes me so sad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I said "I've nothing" to a homeless man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I said "I've nothing" to a homeless man.

I say that every day. What's wrong with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

My mother brought myself and my 2 sisters up on her own and I remember saying one night when I was in early teens " so what **** have we got for dinner tonight" thought I was being smart.

My mother just put her dinner down and went upstairs, my 2 sisters just looked at me in disgrace and said nothing .

God that moment will go to the grave with me.

I have kids now and think about that comment a lot .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Jagdtiger

Why, you stuck up, half-witted, scruffy-looking Nerf herder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Yes your arse looks big in that, it will look big in whatever you try on, stop eating Macdonalds and crap and go on a diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 jfmeto

Don't think I have said it yet.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,003 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

When I was about 8 I told my sister (6 at the time) that she was adopted, but that my parents only took her because the baby they really wanted had already been taken! She believed me for about two days. When she eventually went and asked my parents was it true I got quite the spanking - and not the good kind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

There was a girl in my class who had lost both her parents and was being brought up by her sister. She was a sound girl who got on with everyone.

Then there was this stuck up cnut of a girl who only had a few friendsowho out of nastiness one day said to the girl 'at least I've got a Mother'.

I hope she still thinks of that even today and realises that we all thought she was a hateful bitch.

I was in a nightclub a couple of years back, I was going to the bar and had to squeeze by a girl to get to the bar, I sort of put my hand on her waist and said sorry as I went by, when I was standing waiting to be served and I noticed her making faces at me across the bar, I gave her a confused look and looked away. She walked up behind me, stood at my shoulder, and said "you could really do with losing some weight". My reply was "I can lose my weight, you can't lose your ugly". Was fairly nasty.

Then I ran back to my friends and got upset :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was in a nightclub a couple of years back, I was going to the bar and had to squeeze by a girl to get to the bar, I sort of put my hand on her waste and said sorry as I went by, when I was standing waiting to be served and I noticed her making faces at me across the bar, I gave her a confused look and looked away. She walked up behind me, stood at my shoulder, and said "you could really do with losing some weight". My reply was "I can lose my weight, you can't lose your ugly". Was fairly nasty.

Then I ran back to my friends and got upset :rolleyes:

Wrong thread. Should be in the 'best thing you ever said to someone'.

I sort of put my hand on her waste

I can see why she got narky.

I knew someone would call me out on that :)

I've always done that. Very gently to let someone know I'm about to squeeze by them in a crowded place rather than just push by. It's accompanied by a "sorry" and a smile, it's never ever been a problem with anyone before or since and I normally get a smile in return and the person moving a little to let me by. But like I said, I knew someone would call me out on it just to use it to justify someone being a cow - I even considered leaving that part out so I didn't have to argue with pedantic pats. Ah well, least ye are all fairly predictable

Edit: Although perhaps you were referencing my incorrect spelling in which case yes, I would have gotten narky too and now I feel a bit silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I knew someone would call me out on that :)

I've always done that. Very gently to let someone know I'm about to squeeze by them in a crowded place rather than just push by. It's accompanied by a "sorry" and a smile, it's never ever been a problem with anyone before or since and I normally get a smile in return and the person moving a little to let me buy. But like I said, I knew someone would call me out on it just to use it to justify someone being a cow - I even considered leaving that part out so I didn't have to argue with pedantic pats. Ah well, least ye are all fairly predictable

I do the waist thing too, and it's never been an issue. She was just a bitch.

Worst thing I ever said to someone..

I had a friend, who hated that I'd lost weight while she wasn't losing any. She'd call me fat on a night out in front of people (I was still chubby, but not as big as she was). After several weeks of it, I lost the plot and shouted 'You're half a foot shorter than me, weigh three stone more than me and are calling ME fat? Here's an idea, actually do what your fcuking doctor says and p the fcuking fork away and use that gym membership you've paid for. It'll burn more calories than being a jealous cnut will.'

That friendship is over now :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

I do the waist thing too, and it's never been an issue. She was just a bitch.

Worst thing I ever said to someone..

I had a friend, who hated that I'd lost weight while she wasn't losing any. She'd call me fat on a night out in front of people (I was still chubby, but not as big as she was). After several weeks of it, I lost the plot and shouted 'You're half a foot shorter than me, weigh three stone more than me and are calling ME fat? Here's an idea, actually do what your fcuking doctor says and p the fcuking fork away and use that gym membership you've paid for. It'll burn more calories than being a jealous cnut will.'

That friendship is over now :o

feq4n4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Heard a story about a woman who asked her doctor to prescribe something to help her lose weight.
    Doctor replied, "yeah, a big zip for your mouth"

Although perhaps you were referencing my incorrect spelling in which case yes, I would have gotten narky too and now I feel a bit silly.

Yes I was, and that's very humble of you to admit your faux pas.

I never admit anything. Deny, Deny, Deny.

Yes I was, and that's very humble of you to admit your faux pas.

I never admit anything. Deny, Deny, Deny.

Banned for being a spelling nazi :o

I sowwy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Off the top of my head:
    "If c*nts were made of bread, youd fatten Ethiopia"

I also told someone I would genuinely leave him to die if the situation ever arose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

irish_goat wrote: »
    "The value will only go up".

mine was Massive Capital Appreciation anticipated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

christ, such a catalogue to choose from, hmmm! maybe tellin someone that if they died i would feel nothing but immense relief? (i have been known to associate myself with scumbags in the past :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Worst thing I ever heard said was..

"Rode yer ma last night"

"My mam is dead, thanks for that, cnut"

"I know. I dug her up and I rode her"

:eek: scumbag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

Very drunk first date in college, we ended up back in mine. Things were getting hot and heavy and I asked her is she had any condoms, she said, "No, do you?" what I meant to say was "No, I did not buy any as I did not anticipate things moving this quickly" what came out was "no, I did not expect you to put out this soon".

That was awkward.