Failed NCT/Emissions. Good exhaust place in Galway?

• 11-03-2014 02:51PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭

Hey lads,

My 04 Focus petrol failed the NCT on just emissions (got it serviced 6 months ago).

CO was 0.39 vol% - the NCT guy said it only barely failed but he tried it a few times and couldn't get it down.

It passed all other emissions tests. My local mechanic suggested it might be the catalytic converter but he doesn't do exhausts himself.

A bit of googling suggested that it might be some faulty sensors. Would an exhaust place test this or just try to sell me a new catalytic converter?

Can anyone recommend a good exhaust place in Galway? Any other suggestions? (cleaners etc?)

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

You could try ballybrit tyres and exhaust. Alternatively if the emissions are just border line you could try adding some treatment like redex to a tank of petrol and drive at high revs for a few minutes at motorway speed. Also check the air filter and replace if it's old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

Fair play zarquon. I'm not sure what order I should try that in - probably to the latter few bits and chance my arm at the NCT again.

Thanks also for the "ballybrit tyres and exhaust" tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

beside calbro motors on tuam road is another great place,subway is there and tripart,down the ramp to exhaust place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭matt360

How ya,
    Calbro do an emissions test for €20. They will tell you exactly whats wrong.
    Had the same problem myself 2 months ago. I got a second hand catalytic converter in the liousban industrial estate scrap yard for €50. Calbro fitted it and tested it again for €50. The whole lot cost €120.
    There is no guarantee that the catalytic converter wont be worse than the one you have already but it worked out for me. Good luck.