Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

People who say "guards" when referring to the Gardai. A guard is someone who stands at the door of your local Centra following people wearing hoodies.

No, I'm not a member of AGS.

Those people who pay taxes to help pay your wages? As long as they are not calling you something offensive I reckon you have done ok for yourself you're a public servant not a monarch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Modern and Eastern pronounced ModREN and EastREN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Daffodils, I hate them and they're everywhere now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

how do you hate daffodils

i don't give the slightest **** about flowers but even I like daffodils

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

how do you hate daffodils

i don't give the slightest **** about flowers but even I like daffodils
    I love flowers but I hate daffodils, they are the most over-rated boring of flowers. There are lots of lovely plants/flowers that could be planted but fricking daffodils are awful. Years ago my mother took it upon herself to plant what must have been an industrial sized bag of daffodil bulbs in our garden while we were away. No matter how many I pull up and bin they come back every bloody year.

I donate to the daffodil day collection but I don't take the daffodil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Those people who pay taxes to help pay your wages? As long as they are not calling you something offensive I reckon you have done ok for yourself you're a public servant not a monarch!

If you actually read my post you will see I am not a member of AGS. So there is no one paying my wages and I'm not a public servant.

Seriously, do you understand the thread? It's trivial things that annoy you? This is a trivial thing that annoys me. Or perhaps should the thread be called "trivial things that annoy you, as approved by SpaceCowboy"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

People who drive with side parking lights on!
    Even if they have a new car with those daylight running lights, putting on the parking lights dims them, completely defeating the purpose of having them!

Ahh that's just for aesthetic reasons. It looks nice on some cars when combined with the fog lights. I used to do it on my Celica back in my boy racer days. Cool as fook I was. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

It's annoying me that I haven't thought of something to post on this thread in ages! Now that is trivial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

It has nothing to do with respect. A guard and a Garda are two different things. That's the point I'm trying to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

Very trivial yes, but it bugs the sh1t out if me:

People saying Euros.

It's not Euros, the plural of Euro is Euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Having to eat Sunday dinner at home with my parents with RTE1 on in the background showing The Voice of Ireland, and the folks won't change/won't let me change the channel on the freesat.

Plenty of choice on the yoke and they leave it on RTE1!

I hate reality tv with a passion...along with most shows on RTE.

Beginning to think I was adopted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

The washing machine getting clogged up and the drawer starts spraying water all over the kitchen floor. Had to use a mop to get out as much of the water as possible before filling it with boiling water and getting a wire coat hanger to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Col200sx wrote: »
    Very trivial yes, but it bugs the sh1t out if me:

People saying Euros.

It's not Euros, the plural of Euro is Euro.
    How do you feel about people who say Tescos instead of Tesco? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

People who are just being unilaterally nosey when they didn't take part or get involved.

People who think they have a right to pass-remark on something when they didn't even participate or get involved. Pure. Flimsy. :rolleyes: And then comes the Oh I'm sorry sh1te and then they stick their oar in for a dig. Twats. Stoopid Hypocrites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The washing machine getting clogged up and the drawer starts spraying water all over the kitchen floor.

Always check pockets, coins can destroy a drum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Books where the plot involves a woman disguising herself as a man, acting as a man and speaking like a man and somehow absolutely everyone is fooled. Never mind the massive basic appearance differences that would need to be overcome, I have never heard a woman do a good impression of a natural mans voice (or vice versa).

I could give it some slight creedence if the woman happened to be unfortunate enough to look very like a man, but they are generally previously described as beautiful fair maidens (The Merchant of Venice and Lord of the Rings are two that come to mind).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Irish film critics who big up every Irish film, no matter how shoite it is. Doesn't help in the long run, as you begin to discount all such reviews and all the films reviewed.

Air kissing. Either hug or kiss someone on the cheek. Or shake their hand. Anything except an insincere, affected mwaah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Books where the plot involves a woman disguising herself as a man, acting as a man and speaking like a man and somehow absolutely everyone is fooled. Never mind the massive basic appearance differences that would need to be overcome, I have never heard a woman do a good impression of a natural mans voice (or vice versa).

I could give it some slight creedence if the woman happened to be unfortunate enough to look very like a man, but they are generally previously described as beautiful fair maidens (The Merchant of Venice and Lord of the Rings are two that come to mind).
    In Lord of the Rings she was wearing armour and a helmet that covered her face so it's plausible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

My trivial thing is that my husband has gone to bed before me, and he snores so loudly! He sounds like a drill.

And refuses to do wear snoring strips.

I *may* have to kill him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    In Lord of the Rings she was wearing armour and a helmet that covered her face so it's plausible.

True, but even then she had to talk so the ball would probably have been dropped there.

I think they tried to include her disguised as a man in the film but it was too unconvincing and made other characters look blind and/or stupid so they abanoned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

30 something year olds throwing strops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Vinta81 wrote: »
    30 something year olds throwing strops

Hi vinta good to see you're still around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Hi vinta good to see you're still around

I'd say the same but...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

WikiHow wrote: »
    Always check pockets, coins can destroy a drum.

No issue with coins, 10 or 20 euro notes can be found in pockets afterwards though.
    Paddy Cow wrote: »

In lotr she didnt have to talk either so she could have gotten away with it. I do agree about the merchant of venice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Not being annoyed by a strike at Dublin airport .... My flight has been moved from 0640 hrs to 1315 next Friday which actually suits me much better as I won't have to get up at 4am but I still want to be annoyed with siptu for being ****heads but I just can't muster real annoyance , I might even be a lot annoyed if the strike is cancelled !:o

No issue with coins, 10 or 20 euro notes can be found in pockets afterwards though.

Only if they stay in pockets, my sister destroyed a washing once when a 50p coin smashed its way through the side of the drum.

Water everywhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Seriously, do you understand the thread? It's trivial things that annoy you? This is a trivial thing that annoys me. Or perhaps should the thread be called "trivial things that annoy you, as approved by SpaceCowboy"?

That would be a fantastic thread, must remember that when i'm starting my next one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

People who say "guards" when referring to the Gardai. A guard is someone who stands at the door of your local Centra following people wearing hoodies.

No, I'm not a member of AGS.

I never know what to call them. I generally despise the insertion of single, other language words, (like people pronouncing Paris the French way, for example) but I'd gag before I would call then "police". :(

ps can we have some of your guards for our centra? I've totally had it with the racist, half-reared twats in my area hanging around the shop cause they're too young to get in anywhere else, racially abusing the staff who work there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

headphone jack on my sansa clip+ broke completely this morning and I can't afford another :(