Garda Ombudsman offices bugged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

who_ru wrote: »
    The DPP has a lot of questions to answer too - seems to drop a lot of cases without explanation. But of course the DPP is independent in the way GSOC is - can you imagine that dirtbag shatter calling ihn the DPP to explain why cases against drug pushers are dropped in court without explanation or justification.

The DPP seems from where I'm standing to be completely and totally unaccountable to anyone for his or her actions. Any time a sh!tty decision is made, nobody can challenge it because "The DPP is totally independent".

Is it not a little dangerous to concentrate so much power in an office which apparently has absolutely no oversight whatsoever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

The DPP seems from where I'm standing to be completely and totally unaccountable to anyone for his or her actions. Any time a sh!tty decision is made, nobody can challenge it because "The DPP is totally independent".

Is it not a little dangerous to concentrate so much power in an office which apparently has absolutely no oversight whatsoever?
    My sentiments entirely especially as history will show that the Gardai for years put pressure on the office of the DPP as can be clearly seen in the much publicised case where Commissioner Ned Garvey wanted the DPP to prosecute the Gardai in the Garda Review.

He sent two senior officers to pressurise the DPP and he then put surveillance on him.
    The DPP is assuming the role of a pre trial Judge and that is not correct.

timmy4u2 wrote: »
    The DPP is assuming the role of a pre trial Judge and that is not correct.

Certainly seems to be in certain cases.
    How often do we hear of either the Gardai or GSOC doing serious investigations, identifying suspects and sending files upon files to the DPP, and then the case is literally never mentioned in the media again?

To be honest I still don't see why a Garda can charge me with petty theft but not with mass murder. What's the advantage in handing it over to, as you say, a pre-trial judge with no jury instead of just letting it go to court when the Gardai or GSOC feel they have enough evidence to at least make a case against their suspect in court?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Are they Guards in the DPP? or Civil servants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Hootanany wrote: »
    Buy what, I don't want it hijacked by people trying to further their career simples, just people that are sick of this corruption.

Well you minimise the chance of that happening if more people protest. If more people thought "the protest will be hijacked" then less people would turn up thereby increasing the likelihood of the protest being hijacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

strongback wrote: »
    Looks like this story has been well and truly buried. Did the public ever really grasp it anyway?

Like I said back on 13th Feb.

I predict that it will be soon forgotten.

And the predictions that it would lead to Shatter's dismissal/resignation and/or the collapse of the Government have so far proved wide of the mark. It did make the news again in recent days, Connolly's statement. No comment on this thread however. What I said back on 18th Feb.

Why are people not interested in how the transcript of a report by a whistleblower to his Confidential Recipient came into the possession of a journalist? But then one of the parties to the conversation was speaking as if he expected the material to be leaked.

Connolly thinks it was McCabe who taped the conversation. So everything McCabe said has to be seen in that light. If Connolly was taping him, without his knowledge I expect that both side would have come across differently. McCabe was speaking to history. I know McCabe won't be arrested for this but I think any other Garda who taped a citizen without their knowledge and without authority from his superiors would be. McCabe may have done it on his own but to me it bears the hallmark of a News International operation.

It was a great coup for Mick Wallace and Clare Daly to get the tape and Connolly's head on a plate was a bonus. But I hope McCabe is smart enough to know that when he has outlived his usefullness to Wallace and Daly they will drop him like a stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

No they won't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

Like I said back on 13th Feb.

I predict that it will be soon forgotten.

And the predictions that it would lead to Shatter's dismissal/resignation and/or the collapse of the Government have so far proved wide of the mark. It did make the news again in recent days, Connolly's statement. No comment on this thread however. What I said back on 18th Feb.

Why are people not interested in how the transcript of a report by a whistleblower to his Confidential Recipient came into the possession of a journalist? But then one of the parties to the conversation was speaking as if he expected the material to be leaked.

Connolly thinks it was McCabe who taped the conversation. So everything McCabe said has to be seen in that light. If Connolly was taping him, without his knowledge I expect that both side would have come across differently. McCabe was speaking to history. I know McCabe won't be arrested for this but I think any other Garda who taped a citizen without their knowledge and without authority from his superiors would be. McCabe may have done it on his own but to me it bears the hallmark of a News International operation.

It was a great coup for Mick Wallace and Clare Daly to get the tape and Connolly's head on a plate was a bonus. But I hope McCabe is smart enough to know that when he has outlived his usefullness to Wallace and Daly they will drop him like a stone.

McCabe will not and can not be arrested for taping that conversation. It is not illegal for such a private conversation to be recorded.
    ..and since 1993 it is not illegal to tape a telefone conversation once you are a party to the conversation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The liar and supporter of criminality that reigned over child abuse cover ups, garda corruption and serious perversions of justice by garda over the last few decades has resigned. You will not be missed. Link here.
    Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan has resigned with immediate effect.
    A Garda spokesman confirmed the resignation this morning.
    His decision follows a political controversy over comments he made about Garda whistleblowers.
    More to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

About bloody time too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I'd have to say that I am far more impressed when someone accepts that the buck stops with them and resigns rather than just doing the usually Irish political / public office holder thing of hanging on in there and blustering your way out of it.

Are we seeing a new era of accountability ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I'd have to say that I am far more impressed when someone accepts that the buck stops with them and resigns rather than just doing the usually Irish political / public office holder thing of hanging on in there and blustering your way out of it.

What? He did try to bluster his way out of it. He spoofed about how the disgusting remarks were taken out of context.
    The muppet should have resigned weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

steddyeddy wrote: »
    The liar and supporter of criminality that reigned over child abuse cover ups, garda corruption and serious perversions of justice by garda over the last few decades has resigned. You will not be missed. Link here.

Good. It but remains for Shatter to follow him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭sillyoulfool

No.
    He resigned rather than admit that he was wrong to describe two men shown to have integrity and a belief in truth and honesty, as "disgusting".

Don't have a proposal. I wanted Shatter to walk but at least this is going to lead to a revamp of Garda whistle-blowing procedures. I certainly hope Shatter gets shafted come the reshuffle though

Alright, so basically you don't have a proposal but you're going to mock and pour scorn on the people who come up with one? That's not in any way helpful.
    lol at "bend over and let them do what they want", the usual hysterical rhetoric spouted by the loonie left.

I'm not all that left wing to tell you the truth, so I don't see how that label applies to me. You're advocating that we allow the government to do whatever we want and that we don't do anything at all to try and stop them until the next election, correct?
    In the real world where we've 3% growth in the economy and unemployment falling massively .

How is that in any way relevant to what's being discussed in this thread? We're talking about misbehavior by people in high places going unpunished. It's completely unrelated, in this case, to the economy.
    There's going to be no "revolution" chief

In your opinion. We'll keep trying.
    btw, if you genuinely do have aspirations on getting people to protest with you maybe drop the arrogant attitude? Not everyone that isn't willing to do it is "bending over" or "asleep"

I'm not taking a shot at anyone who's not willing to do it, I'm taking a shot at people who vitriolically oppose it without having any alternative proposals - is it not fair to say that this translates to "allow the government to do what they want and do absolutely nothing to try and stop them"? If not, how would you describe it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

In your opinion. We'll keep trying.

tbh, the fact that you think we need some sort of revolution just shows how wildly out of touch you are with reality. We're lucky to live in Ireland, the political landscape here isn't perfect but we can change that using our vote, a luxury where countries who actually need some drastic change don't have

You're the one advocating some sort of revolt so I don't know why you think I should have to come up with some sort of alternative when I'm not advocating one. For the most part I'm happy with the current government

What exactly happens after your revolution?

It's just the usual extreme left "if you're not with us you're happy to take it up the hole" rhetoric. I mean it's no surprise why no one takes your ilk seriously considering the patronising attitude displayed towards anyone who doesn't buy into your revolutionary views

btw, good to see Callinan go, hoepfully Shatter follows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

No.
    He resigned rather than admit that he was wrong to describe two men shown to have integrity and a belief in truth and honesty, as "disgusting".

Still, whatever his motives, either he, or the system has decided the buck stops here.
    That's a major step forward in the Irish system as it's really not been the case to date in a lot of situations where a resignation would have been warranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Still, whatever his motives, either he, or the system has decided the buck stops here.
    That's a major step forward in the Irish system as it's really not been the case to date in a lot of situations where a resignation would have been warranted.

I wouldn`t be that sure it`s a major step forward in the Irish system.
    Still a lot of questions hanging in the air over his "resignation".
    Amongst those, was he the designated fall guy to save Shatter.
    I suspect the Irish system may be still alive, robust and healthy unfortunately.

tbh, the fact that you think we need some sort of revolution just shows how wildly out of touch you are with reality. We're lucky to live in Ireland, the political landscape here isn't perfect but we can change that using our vote, a luxury where countries who actually need some drastic change don't have

Great, so we should just be thankful that there are worse countries in the world and shut up about the problems with our own establishment then? :rolleyes:
    You're the one advocating some sort of revolt so I don't know why you think I should have to come up with some sort of alternative when I'm not advocating one. For the most part I'm happy with the current government

What exactly happens after your revolution?

We've been discussing this over on Politics. To name just a few: No more ministers surviving multiple scandals in a row. Standards in public office need to be tightened immensely - in any decent system, Reilly and Shatter would have been turfed out long ago on foot of the various controversies they've both been involved in - standards in Ireland are shockingly low. Do you think in any decent democracy a justice minister would have survived three separate scandals in two months - and that's on top of his disgraceful use of privileged information to smear a political opponent? It's an absolute outrage that there is so little impunity in Ireland when someone in a high place does anything wrong.
    It's just the usual extreme left "if you're not with us you're happy to take it up the hole" rhetoric.

That's not me, sir. I'm more interested in debating with people and trying to bring people around to my way of thinking as opposed to scoffing at them - something I'm afraid those who oppose revolution aren't even remotely skilled at. :p
    I mean it's no surprise why no one takes your ilk seriously considering the patronising attitude displayed towards anyone who doesn't buy into your revolutionary views

Sorry but what do you mean by "my ilk"? I'm not all that left wing, in case you haven't noticed. I'm just anti corruption, anti scandal, anti impunity and pro accountability.

Is it really so shockingly unreasonable for me to expect a high standard of ethics from those who are charged with running my country, and to expect consequences when these standards are lowered?
    btw, good to see Callinan go, hoepfully Shatter follows

We agree 100% on at least one thing then :D Now this is the point - you're saying "hopefully" Shatter goes, while I'm saying we need to pile on the pressure and make him go. Democracy is not a spectator sport - here's an issue you and me are clearly unhappy about. I'm advocating us, the people, taking control of this situation and forcing the government's hand, while you're advocating we sit back and hope that the cabinet chooses to do the right thing.

I don't think the difference between our opinions is as fundamental as you think. My revolution would simply involve giving greater control over such issues to the general public and making it harder for the government to hide behind party whips and phony apologies.

Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Didn't read half of it. I presume you'll be off to Leinster house in the morning to make Shatter resign though?

Right on man :rolleyes:

helpfull:rolleyes:
    did you read this bit????

That's not me, sir. I'm more interested in debating with people and trying to bring people around to my way of thinking as opposed to scoffing at them - something I'm afraid those who oppose revolution aren't even remotely skilled at. :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

It's a case of the buck stops somewhere else but I'll take one for the team

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

charlie14 wrote: »
    I wouldn`t be that sure it`s a major step forward in the Irish system.
    Still a lot of questions hanging in the air over his "resignation".
    Amongst those, was he the designated fall guy to save Shatter.
    I suspect the Irish system may be still alive, robust and healthy unfortunately.
    Santa Cruz wrote: »
    It's a case of the buck stops somewhere else but I'll take one for the team

the corrupt are exposed as being, well corrupt, beyond a shadow of doubt, the people did nothing, before during or after the exposure, the denials, the lies, the spin and obfuscation and somehow sheeple think those who set this corrupt system up and benefit from it are somehow sorting it all out, even though they managed to keep one of their 2 poisonous corrupt bastards in his job still to this day.

the irish people expecting corrupt individuals to hold their hands up without any public pressure would be akin to expecting a thief who's just crept through your house while you're asleep and although they're about to leave with your posessions, they decide to ring the garda to report themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Isn't it very quite here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Is the report out?

I'm ashamed to admit that I'm watching Masterchef rather than the 9 o'clock news......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Yeah report is out, it said nothing to see hear, move along now:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

I work near it and frequent the insomnia in the spar next to gsoc, the guys there told me that it was supposedly their broadband wifi signal interfering with gsoc that caused it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

As I must have said way back. Why would anyone go to the bother of bugging GSOC and/or the Gardai when journalists can get all the information just by asking. Or if they are of the News International persuasion maybe by paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    According to today's Sunday Times, the Garda Siochana Ombudsman Commission (GSOC) was subject to a sophisticated surveillance operation which used “government-level technology” to hack into its emails, wi-fi and phone systems.

Link: http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/article1373695.ece?CMP=OTH-gnws-standard-2014_02_08

It seems the surveillance was detected last year after the GSOC engaged security consultants in the UK to investigate whether its HQ was bugged.

The consultants allegedly discovered that a phone in the GSOC offices was bugged. The bugged room was "regularly used to hold case conferences on sensitive investigations".

"A test of the line confirmed the phone was being used to eavesdrop on meetings", according to the Sunday Times sources.

Very odd. Who might be motivated to put the GSOC under surveillance? And who would have the technology and expertise?

Nobody it now appears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Many of the journalists on t.v. now seem to be pretty annoyed that all their storylines have hit a brick wall. Poor old Mick Clifford very red-faced.

Journalists are some shower of feckers regardless of which side they are on. They would do anything for a story.